We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Studio
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Resort Lombok(Mangsit)(Great Value!)
$156
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kebun Villas & Resort(Senggigi)(Great Value!)
$67
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svarga Resort Lombok(Senggigi)(Great Value!)
$50
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jeeva Klui Resort(Mangsit)(Great Value!)
$99
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa(Mangsit)(Great Value!)
$117
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Qunci Villas Hotel(Mangsit)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi(Mangsit)
$125
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
30
3
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
3
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 36 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you travel to Lombok you must try this traditional 'joglo' which the hosts brought over from Java and reconstructed piece by piece as Studio 1. Designed to capture sea breezes, this delightful accommodation provides everything you need for a holiday, including a fully equipped kitchen, use of the infinity pool, ensuite bathroom, and friendly staff. Mark and Sopan are consummate hosts and their environmentally friendly approach to the design of the main house and 2 studios and gardens is remarkable.
The views are stunning, the atmosphere is relaxing, and you can hide yourself away from the rest of the world if you want to. But if you don't, you are still close to lots of other activities provided in Sengiggi.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStudioLombok, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thanks so much for the feedback. We have been very serious about developing the Studio as an ecofriendly accommodation. everything, from the use of local materials, recycled timber and furniture, through to solar pool pump, passive cooling and low energy appliances reflects this vision. We have also created a natural garden with bird refuge and now we even have an environmental trail for the kids! Hope you will come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday in this very special location on Lombok. The Studio is a beautiful retreat set up on a hill with outstanding views. We stayed in Villa One which felt like living in our own beautiful villa. it is suitable for couples, families or freinds travelling together. The service is outstanding. Delicious breakfasts are served daily and the friendly staff will help you out with any service you may require. We hired a motor bike with the help of Sopan and toured the coastline of this scenic island. Sopan and her staff did everything possible to make our stay happy and memorable. It was a magical expereince staying here and we recommend this accommodation for the traveller who likes tranquility, style and a personal touch in an environmentally aware facility. We loved what these owners are doing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PosieTassiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStudioLombok, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We enjoyed sharing our little bit of paradise with you. Lombok, like Tasmania, is a beautiful place and we have tried to highlight that - especially the natural environment - in our development, as you have said. With the support of our guests we will continue to work hard to provide great experiences and share our passion for Lombok and its environment in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We watched the sunset over Bali, enjoyed the cool sea breezes and revelled in the charm of the place. For me Lombok far outshines its more famous neighbour - it's not as crowded or chaotic or dirty, has waterfalls, jungle or mountain walks, cultural sites and events to rival anywhere, good food, good music, great atmosphere. We enjoy Lombok immensely and especially recommend The Studio as the place to stay.

Room Tip: There's only a choice of two bungalows. Choos the Javanese style 'joglo' further up the hill.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStudioLombok, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Studio. And we are always pleased to have constructive criticism so that we can continue to improve our service. Spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

‘The Studio’ is a sensitively finished self contained unit with the option of home cooked meals, room servicing and as much or as little privacy as you like.

The welcoming, comfortable and secluded atmosphere at ‘The Studio’ provided us with the perfect space to enjoy our precious time away from work and the hectic lives we live in Australia. We loved the option of complete privacy and seclusion in The Studio, or the welcoming, relaxed family environment at the main house. We found much of our holiday was spent just relaxing and pottering around the grounds, between the Studio, the main house and the gorgeous infinity swimming pool. But with easy access to local transport and motor bike hire, Bukit Batu Layar is also a great spot to base yourself while exploring Lombok, away from the busy parts of Lombok’s tourist area, Senggigi.

Loved the sensitivity to Lombok’s natural environment and discovering all of the tropical creatures and plants around the garden.

We would highly recommend ‘The Studio’ to anyone looking to find a quiet and comfortable place to escape to. A great discovery!

Room Tip: Only one room so you probably need to book well in advance
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStudioLombok, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Good to have your comments. We really enjoyed having you to stay. We are now developing a trekking program on the hill. Guests can walk right out the door of the Studio and head off into the hills, where you get great views, you can visit local villagers and see a little more of Lombok - off the beaten track. You need to be quite fit for this, but for people interested in getting a little exercise, perhaps as a warm-up to the Rinjani trek, this could be just what you are looking for. Hope you'll come back soon - and spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I and my two teenage children had a lovely all-too-short few days at the Studio, seeing in New Year 2011 and enjoying the peace and beauty of Lombok. Our hosts, Mark and Sopan, were delightful and charming and the Studio itself is a wonderfully, airy place to stay, with a full array of mod cons and all you could need for an independent holiday. From the vantage point high on the Hill, you enjoy a panoramic view up the coast towards the Gili Islands, where we had a great day's snorkeling. You can either walk into town, which takes about half an hour, or hail a taxi at the bottom of the road. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStudioLombok, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Glad that you felt like part of the family when you stayed in the Studio. We hope that all our guests feel welcomed. We really like to share our passion for Lombok, its people and environment. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews