We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, terrible food”
Review of Taman Restaurant

Taman Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 75 Restaurants in Senggigi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting, terrible food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

In my opinion Taman is one of the best looking restaurants in Senggigi and is in a prime location, they have friendly staff, but the food is terrible!!! We asked for a 15 min break between courses. Within a minute of finishing our starter the staff were desperate to serve our main course, after being asked a third time if they could bring the main course we gave in, the result being a " nasty colored fish and chips with an old oily taste" later that night I was sick. I won't be eating at Taman again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Owner at Taman Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It is my usual practice to say sorry if reporters on Trip advisor claim to have had a bad experience at The Taman.I do not intend to do so in this case.I note first that 2fox has never reported on trip advisor before,and has he or she has reported anonymously.The review is full of contradictions e.g,"one of the best looking restaurants in Senggigi" but then only 4 stars for atmosphere.I believe The Taman is under unfair attack from one of our competitors who has inspired this report.let me conclude with an invitation to potential customers .I say our fish and chips are easily the best in Lombok and I confidently invite people tobe their own judge and not rely on a suspect review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    252
    167
    86
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hagondange, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

A quiet place in Senggigi,nice food, nice crew, shuttle transport up to you hotel. Nice composition on your plates. I will be Back there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Israel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Among Lombok's best”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Unlike almost every restaurant we tried in Lombok, this place was clean, professional, and modern. The food was consistently delicious -- and we went often. Moreover, the amiable staff seemed trained in Western culture (unlike other establishments) and we were nearly always understood. Finally, everything at Taman Restaurant is reasonably priced, if that's important to you.

We enjoyed the live music, the great view from the loft, and above all, the splendid cooking ... on every occasion. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagondange, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

A quiet place in Senggigi. Nice crew, nice food, and a nice boss. A menu very vary an nice presentation in the plates. The best seat are at the second flore, you can see and hear the prayer from the mosque, very exotic for a belgian!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Israel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice breads, though..”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Didn’t had dinner there, but bought many times nice breads there, unfortunately also discovered sometimes spoiled bread with molt on it when arrived back home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Owner at Taman Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi NN Traveler.I am sorry that you had this problem,however I am completely at loss to know how this could happen.Our bread is baked and sold THE SAME DAY .Bread not sold is used in the kitchen of The Taman Restaurant for breadcrumbs,rotisserie chicken stuffing etc.This rule is enforced each night when the bakery closes at 11 pm.At that time the unsold bread is transferred to the kitchen.We do not use any preservative chemicals in our breads and accordingly the bread potentially will grow mould if kept without refrigeration for more than a day.We are the only western commercial bakery in Lombok and supply bread to many of the hotels operating on Lombok and most of the Expats living in Lombok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taman Restaurant also viewed

 
Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara
 
Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara
 

Been to Taman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing