We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, good value for money”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 46 Senggigi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome location, good value for money”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Senggigi is a laid back coastal town, a great place to unwind. We stayed in one of the backpacker rooms for our stay of 4 nights. Cold showers but we could handle that as it was warm. The room was very cozy, but all you were there for was a bed. They provide towels and shampoo which was great. There is also a safe in the room. Breakfast is included and was awesome and we loved the banana pancakes and learnt to acquire the taste of Lombok coffee (just don't sip all the way to the bottom). For only $20 a night, I don't think you could ever complain about a bed, breakfast and the view. Literally 20 steps and you are on the beach. Drinks and food are also cheap at The Beach Club and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

If you are also after a Driver ask for Kudus Reza - he is great, speaks good English and will take you to where you want to go for reasonable price. We are coming back to Bali but trying the Gili Islands this time and we hope we find a place as great as The Beach Club.

If you want a driver to have a look around for the day - ask for Kudos

Room Tip: If you are after budget the backpacker rooms are the way to go. Expect basic, but what a view when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fifihanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi There,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and maybe we will see you at The Beach Club Gili Air sometime.

Enjoy your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ended up spending some time in Senggigi when we wanted to renew our visa (in Mataram, an easy taxi ride away). The beach club turned out to be the perfect spot to kill a couple of days. We stayed in a bungalow close to the beach, and loved our private veranda with hammock. The pool area was always quiet and a perfect place to relax in the afternoon. Service was very friendly and punctual, with a tasty breakfast served each morning. We also enjoyed the (beach) bar which has a very laid-back atmosphere (with local expats watching sports and having a drink or two), cocktails are tasty and if you are in the mood for a greasy spoon, this is the place. The beach club is situated on a beach a bit out of town, beautiful and quiet, a bit further to the right there is Alberto's for perfect Italian food, also recommended! There are 3 dogs that guard the place in the evening, and they take their job seriously! The hotel lies right next to a busy road, but this didnt bother us at all. We would come back!

Room Tip: The bungalows close to the beach are the best and without road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi There,

So happy you enjoyed it so much, and all the locals were nice to you including the expats and the dogs.

Hope to see you again one day back at the Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was the best place Breakfast on the beach!! anything we wanted a bar all day and night food was 5 star service 5 star rooms excellent pool felt like our own we spent 10 nights their and ate out twice all our meals without a doubt were excellent as the service would recomed it for any one nothing was any trouble organising pick up and return to airport EXCELLENT highley recomended they can organise tours diving swimming any thing highley recomended by us

Room Tip: any are perfict
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Lesley,

We are very happy you enjoyed yourself and we do try to please always.. Hope to see you again one day in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We travelled in Indonesia for our honey moon in August and September 2011. After exploring Java and seeing turistic rush in Bali the Island of Lombok was surprise place in both ways. The visible less cleaness in my opinion due to Islam compared to fabulous decorations and cleaness of Budhism in Bali. On the other hand restaurants in the centre provided very good cusine for resonable price compared to Java.

The resort is superb on its own - great cottages with "outdoor bathroom" set in fabulous lush green with pool as centre piece. Eating breakfast, watching the empty beach and then reading in hammock was very relaxing. Food provided in resort was good.

The neighbour of the resort was renting water jets and provided a ride on a banana and had a cheaper beer than in resort :-)

We had the feeling that the best thing to do is not to leave the resort.

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows is great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. When we arrived they only had a more expensive room which was 350 Ruphia. The room was lovely.
The following day we down grades due to being on a budget. This room was cheap and basic but did the trick.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a massage on the beach which was organised by the staff and well worth it!
I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Rachel,

Its great that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will return one day to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not knowing what to expect by travelling out of Bali to the island of Lombok,I must say I was pleasantly surprised. None of the hustle and bustle of kuta, a handful of sellers to satisfy any shopping urges and a quaint little "Beach Club" right on the beach.
With the pool outside our bungalow and the hammock on our porch, it was a very relaxing stay,we ate in at the restaurant and shared a few drinks with the hosts some nights. We also visited a few of the local watering holes and restaurants in Senggigi, after a couple of days we felt like locals and didn't want to leave this seaside village.
Thanks Glenn,Dee and staff hope to return real soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennDawson, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Steve,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and know you will be back real soon to enjoy all the each Club has to offer and also the Gili Air Beach Club as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lombok is a place that is quickly gaining momentum in commercialism, with its old charm and warm honesty of its people fast disappearing. My family and I stayed at The Beach Club recently for 3 days 2 nights, a stay which, despite the beautiful beach and adorable "resident" dogs, did not impress.
Service was minimal and highly inconsistent. I'm not sure if this is due to the fact that the staff mostly know very little English or it's a cultural thing that females are generally ignored...or the simple fact that we're Asians.
From check-in, it was already clear that we were treated differently from the Caucasians staying at the resort. For example, we were often met with indifference and requests were more often than not left unmet (e.g. a massage appointment for us was left uncommunicated that'd resulted in much frustration). As opposed to reviews about its food, breakfast was unspectacular, minimal, and with very few options to choose from.
The redeeming factor is its rooms, which are lovingly thought out in their designs. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are generally clean. However, the floor boards do sound as if they may do well with some maintenance as they're creaky. As with most Indonesian establishments, there're no kettles or tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms. Additionally, only 1 small bottle of drinking water is provided each day...something is that is a curiosity to me, given that all the bungalows are catered to 2-pax occupancy. On the plus side, the hammocks on the verandah, as well as sleeping and waking up to the sound of waves is the major asset of this resort. Its position within easy walking distance to Sengigi town is also an advantage, allowing for peace within close proximity to meeting out food and exploration needs.
In conclusion, The Beach Club is acceptable as a short-term stay, but nothing more. Its redeeming factors do not match up to its flaws, particularly in the area of service. For this price, more would have been expected.

Room Tip: all the bungalows are 2-pax occupancy and because it's a small establishment, any one of them wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matilda_jinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theowner13, Owner at The Beach Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are Very Sorry you Did Not enjoy your stay here and have noted everything you mentioned, The bottle of water is for rinsing your mouth and 2 glasses are supplied for 2 persons and the bottles replaced everyday. The Menu we agree is not up to scratch and is at this moment being renewed and the breakfast is also being upgraded. Sorry about the Massages , however we cannot guarantee that a beach seller will show up and we usually just ask our guests to go to a proper day spa. Coffee and Tea in the rooms has never been considered due to the fact you can walk to the restaurant and get them quite easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Inn
Central Inn
#9 of 46 in Senggigi
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sendok Hotel
Sendok Hotel
#14 of 46 in Senggigi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: Jl Raya Senggigi, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Club, Beach Bungalows, Bar and Cafe, owned and operated by two Australians and eighteen of the best local staff, right on the beachfront in Senggigi Lombok, four beachfront bungalows luxuriously appointed with king size beds, air-conditioning, TV, DVD, mini bar, trendy outdoor bathrooms and beautiful tropical gardens. We also have two backpacker rooms available for the budget conscious traveler. Our bar and cafe have fine local and international food and snacks, the coldest beer in Senggigi and is on the best sunset beach in Senggigi. Relax in style at The Beach Club and let time unwind your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Senggigi
The Beach Club Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing