We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good ambience and a nice view”
Review of de Quake - CLOSED

de Quake
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in Senggigi’s Art Market, de Quake’s open-air restaurant and lounge looks out onto the bay of Senggigi and offers stunning, unmatched sunset views.De Quake features a unique menu of Indonesian and Asian food with fresh fish, seafood, meats and chicken together with fresh produce and local herbs and spices, all at a reasonable price.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved our dinner at the Quake restaurant. The staff was really friendly. The food was great and it had an all over good vibe to it. We sat on the balcony which has a nice view of the beach.
Two little points for improvement are to practise your English a little more and give your guests a new knive, spoon and fork after they used them with their starter.

Thank Erik Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Erik Jan B,

Thank you for the review, and yes, you should have gotten a clean fork and knife after your appetizer.

Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 422 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate at this restaurant last night and had a very delicious meal. The service was great and the staff lovely. We sat upstairs because the beach sellers drive you crazy if you sit on the beach. After reading tripadvisor reviews we ordered the banana cheesecake for dessert and it did not disappoint. You must try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenbarb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear jennyb_9,

hehehhe...2 reviews in a row on our Banana Cheesecake,

Glad you enjoyed it!

Happy Eating....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a really lovely evening at this restaurant right on the beach.

Even though at one point they were having some technical difficulties with their kitchen appliances, we were happy to have a drink and wait as the staff were so friendly and they were having a laugh with my partner about it.

The food was nice. Some aspects were lacking in flavour but still good. The meals were beautifully presented. Asian flavours presented delicately like French food would be. Very east meets west as would be expected with a French head chef.

We also had the banana no bake cheese cake as so many others on TA recommend. It did not disappoint! Beautiful. But get one to share though!

We really enjoyed our evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oj_sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear oj_sb,

Another Senior Reviewer on TA with a great experience at Quake Restaurant. Thank you, and we're glad that you enjoyed your evening with us!

Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant based on a review from a lonely planet travel book. We regretted not coming sooner. The food is great. the feeling of the place is a nice lounge feel and it is nicely located along the beach. Highly recommended.

Thank tpas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear tpas48,

Thank you for taking the time to write your complimentary review and we hope to see you back at Quake again soon!

Happy Eating...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Choosing a restaurant in Indonesia can be a bit hit-and-miss (which is what makes it fun!).

Sometimes the location is great but the food so-so, sometimes the other way around, other times the lack of both is made up for by great service.

De Quake has all three: wonderful location right on the beach, with the sound of waves lapping at the shore. Genuinely creative and good food (not just by local standards). And finally, friendly service, with all dishes arriving at the same time.

The restaurant and the kitchen are spotlessly clean, and the ambience strikes the right balance between cool and cosy

Booked to come back, straight away

No-bake banana cheesecake is my top-tip

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your great review: *wonderful location right on the beach, creative and good food and friendly service *.

As you state, what a great combination!

See you on your next visit!

Happy Eating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Quake also viewed

 
Mangsit, Senggigi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing