We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pointless review” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windy Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Beach Cottages
Ranked #30 of 41 Senggigi B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A pointless review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

There really isn't any point in making a review but for those who might consider booking here in the next couple of weeks, don't bother and find somewhere else with some soul. The property has recently been sold for redevelopment. It must have been a lovely place, the gardens still have some charm. The staff are disinterested since they know their days are numbered, we haven't had a smile from anyone, they sit around doing nothing. If you want some service you need to find someone to help. The pool has turned green, we have rarely seen the pool attendant. The bar hasn't been stocked, we could buy beer but that's about it. The couple in the next hut are booked until the end of the month but are thinking of moving on. It's already like a ghost hotel. We saw the owner on 1st & 2nd day and not since.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is my preferred place to stay in Lombok. The well maintained garden area overlooking the ocean makes it about as beautiful as you could ask for. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The owner is a very engaging gentleman, (mention Hash House Harriers and he will take you along!) and he has first class staff. The meals are very good, and inexpensive. So far I have only managed to stay there once, as it has been booked out on other occasions when I have tried to stay. On one such occasion I took a friend out there for lunch. We sat in the garden, overlooking the sea. Neither of us wanted to leave. You won't either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located along the quite beach of Mangsit (couple of miles north of Senggigi). Mangsit has a very quite beach with really stunning sunsets over the Gunung Agung (Bali): really impressive, which makes it a very cool place to enjoy the afternoon cocktail. The cottages are well equipped, clean and quite. Breakfast is basic but ok! Swimming pool. If you wish you can organize trips to Gili's, but you can also enjoy and relax a bit for a couple of days in a quite environment (away from more hectic Senggigi).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Staying in Lombok for the 1st time we arrived late in the evening due to the public ferry crossing. Pickup was well organized & drivers bombarded us with tour requests i.e. rinjani, komodo, gilis. Upon arriving at windy beach we were welcomed by reception with a refreshment & shown our upgraded huts. Kitchen was closed but dinner was organized for us which was much appreciated. The main grounds is kept quite nicely with daybeds, an open bar & restaurant, an outdoor pool & walking distance to main beach. This is a great little pocket accommodation ideal for 1st time visitors & couples.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franzchristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The cottages are beautiful, built in the style of rice stores!
Staff are attentive and friendly and the food is great.
Taxi only $1.50 into Sengiggi town
Beach is not crowded and the water clean with some reasonable snorkeling off the beach.
My wife said she had the best massage she has ever had here and it only cost $6.00 for an hour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The cottages were charming and I found them very comfortable. It isn't brand new but the location makes up for any deficit there. Very quiet and a bit out of town. The gardens are beautiful and it is right on the beach. It would take such a little effort to keep the beach a bit cleaner. The pool is beautiful and there is a women who gives massages in that wonderful setting listening to the surf. I found the breakfast very good even if the service is a bit unorganized. It never seems important to get everyone their food at the same time in this part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvhclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Windy beach is set in lovely gardens and has great sunsets. The cottages are quite pleasant and enjoy beautiful views. Some of the staff are great and helpful. However in regard to a previous review I am in total agreement about Hassan, he offers transport at a very high price. However I am not sure he has some private deals going on or he is advised to charge this. Anyway it does leave a bitter taste in the mouth.... But after spending some time in Lombok...it seems that most people here do tend to treat tourists like a commodity. So it's all quite desperate.... Oh yes and breakfast is a bit minimum effort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senggigi
0.7 mi away
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
0.0 mi away
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cafe Alberto B & B
Cafe Alberto B & B
#2 of 41 in Senggigi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Beach Cottages

Property: Windy Beach Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Beach Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Mangsit, 4 km north of central Senggigi, the main tourist centre of Lombok, Windy Beach Resort occupies a choice site at the north end of this beautiful beach. The 14 traditional-style thatched-roof cottages, stunning pool and open air dining pavilion lie in two hectares of tropical gardens skirting a secluded, virtually private, white-sand beach, with good snorkeling offshore. Offering great seclusion, this is the perfect place for complete relaxation and revitalization. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Beach Cottages Hotel Senggigi
Windy Beach Hotel
Windy Beach Cottages Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing