We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but could use a few updates”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Senggigi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Beach Cottages
Ranked #30 of 44 Senggigi B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but could use a few updates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Windy Beach for 4 nights after traveling around Bali. It is siutated on a nice stretch of beach apart from the other hotels. There are 14 rooms and even when full, it never felt crowded. We stayed in the Special Cottage, which was a hut with a sitting room and (indoor) bathroom downstairs, and a bedroom and balcony upstairs. The hut was large, but definitely older and in need of updating. We had hot water, although I was only able to activate the water heater about 50% of the time. There was also an AC unit on both floors and a mosquito net on the bed. There were a fair amount of ants in the bathroom, but I realize it's near impossible to keep bugs out.

The staff was very friendly and arranged a tour to North Lombok as well as a boat ride to Gili Trawangan for us (it picked us up right on the shore of the hotel). They called us taxis into Senggigi, which was very cheap (and most restaurants provided transport back). We mostly ate lunch at Windy Beach, which was standard, and went to dinner in Senggigi. They also have wifi, although it is inconsistent.

It was a nice place to relax and get away, just don't expect anything fancy or new. We did enjoy the open huts along the beach- they are elevated and covered, so they provide great shade for lounging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSM2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for three days after doing a three-day mount Rinjani trek. The location is so peaceful and beautiful -- the rooms look out onto the sea, with a secluded beach and palm trees everywhere. Amazing. The rooms themselves are small (but a decent size) huts on stilts, and although basic, very much in-keeping with the splendid surroundings. Very quirky. Pool area also very nice. The perfect lazy retreat then?

Well, not quite. The guy on reception was what you might call "efficient". Yes he booked us in, and showed us to our room as you'd expect, but there was no personal touch that you might have expected from small, family-run (?) B&B resort. At times, we found him rather rude -- that was until the point we were leaving -- when suddenly he perked up and became really, really friendly. Coincidence? We had asked about massages on arrival, but was told that due to the Ramadan holidays, no such service would be offered during our stay. The following day, the massage lady was giving massages by the beach front. We spoke to the masseur and thankfully managed to book a slot. The shower issues also effected us -- cold on some days, warm on others -- but that didn't really bother me.

The most disappointing part of our stay was the breakfasts. We live in Indonesia, so know what to expect. What we didn't expect was no warm option (rice/noodles already eaten by other guests) and an appeal for more was greeted by one guest with "sorry, it's all finished". This was only one hour into the two/three hour breakfast slot. One morning we also had to ask for a table to be cleared to accommodate us. Another day, we had to ask for a glasses for juice, bowls for cereal (one of the three cereal potions ran out on the first day, and of course wasn't to return) and had to do without tea spoons. Coffee was terrible, and given that Indonesia is one of the top coffee producers in the world, this was incredible! We also had to ask for beach towels, which was a little strange for a beach-side resort with pool area. Ok, so it was the Lebaran holiday season, but as someone who has worked Christmas day in the service sector in Europe, that doesn't excuse sloppy service. We were recommended the restaurant within the resort, but after breakfast, didn't dare risk it.

All in all, a little disappointing but no real disaster. Great location, rubbish service. Just average really.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MungoJerrysBeard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Because of the great reviews here on TA and the fact that we needed to compensate for the brilliant but expensive stay at Pan Pacific inTanah Lot, Bali, we booked here for 5 nights. Upon arrival we checked in. The check in form killed the 57 little bugs on the counter. We were brought to our special cottage, which is supposedly the best they have. It was tiny, very damp, totally no great atmosphere and had fungus on the wall of the top bedroom.
That night we both woke up by the sound of something falling on the floor. I said to my husband that it sounded like his watch fell on the floor. But it didn't. We then heard the same sound like someone or thing was running with a watch and heard trippling feet. My husband went through the cottage to see whether he saw someone or thing that could cause it (because I thought someone was in the cottage). But nothing.
Next morning I woke up, took a shower, which has a LOT of instructions to try to keep it warm and wanted to put my watch back on, but it was gone from the bedstand (2 inches from the bed). Looked all over the place, no watch.
To make a long story short, I never found the watch until we checked out early the next day and wanted one more look around. I checked under the closet and there it was. Strap totally eaten by something. Must have been the rat we heard walking on the (we thought) roof. But it was walking right from my bedstand underneath our bed to the closet. SO GROWSE!!
Breakfast was awfull too. Fruit unsheltered so covered with flies. Coffee undrinkable. Bread was sprayed with something. Very obvious bread from the previous day. The spraying or whatever made it smell like a pair of old socks.
Really really bad experience. We checked out as soon as possible the day after. We had to pay for another night (fine), but when I told the story of the rat, they said: yes that occurs sometimes. Was it a leather strap, they like that......" Aaargghh!. And with that one would expect that that additional night for checking out early would not have been charged, but they charged that anyway. I'll be sending them the bill of my new strap to offset....

So totally do not go here. We went to Gili Air instead, straight after this, to 'Juliantos by the Sea', we were glad that they had rooms available early. Must be because it recently opened. This was the ideallic and excellent place we could have stayed for weeks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Rarely do you visit somewhere and are more impressed than the pictures and reviews lead you to believe. Windy Beach was great value for money and is great for simply chilling out and relaxing, or as a base for exploring more of beautiful Lombok.

The accommodation is basic but clean and the funky shaped huts really make you feel like you're somewhere unique. The grounds are immaculately kept with lots of space and magnificent views to the beach. My favourite view was sunset looking from the pool across to the ocean to see the Balinese volcano silhouetted against the skyline.

The staff are really helpful and will gladly recommend excursions and restaurants, even advising on the most cost effective options and organising free transfers to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73beetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

The most wonderful place you can visit. If you want pure relaxation and a first class service this is the place. To sit by the pool and look out to sea and all you can hear is the waves and the trees, there is no music thankfully. The staff are exceptional. This is a real gem and you will not look back. The only little niggle we found was the water kept going from hot to cold but, you are in a country that is not as advanced as the UK or european cities. When the shower goes cold I just kept thinking about the most wonderful place I was in. Relax, forget about everything oh, and also have one of Hal's mohito's..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

My husband & i stayed at Windy Beach Cottages & loved every minute of it.
Nestled on the beachfront quite a way from Sengiggi it was always quiet & peaceful.
Would stay again in a heartbeat. We had the Special Cottage which was great, although as stated previously the linen & pillows left a little to be desired. Fantastic time at this tranquil hideaway. Staff were attentive & helpful. Yes indeed, the Spring Rolls were a tasty treat !!
We booked a driver (Dewai) through Hassan at reception & he was brilliant.
He took us to see the 2nd Waterfall & to visit the Monkeys, stopping along the way whenever we wanted. Thank you Dewai for a memorable day. We loved Lombok !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

These rustic cottages are set in a superb location, surrounded by palm trees and shrubbery just along the beach. The staff are very friendly and the food was delicious (try the seafood spring rolls and the potato dumplings!). It feels quiet and secluded and the beach was pretty much empty making it a perfect romantic getaway. Emphasis however is on the rustic, whilst clean, the sheets and towels have definately seen better days. the fan didn't work, although we had air con so it didnt matter, and we could only get a cold water shower.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senggigi
0.8 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
0.7 mi away
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Verve Villas Resort & Spa
Verve Villas Resort & Spa
#23 of 44 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borneo Homestay
Borneo Homestay
#13 of 44 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oggies Bar & Home Stay
Oggies Bar & Home Stay
#24 of 44 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Beach Cottages

Property: Windy Beach Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Beach Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Mangsit, 4 km north of central Senggigi, the main tourist centre of Lombok, Windy Beach Resort occupies a choice site at the north end of this beautiful beach. The 14 traditional-style thatched-roof cottages, stunning pool and open air dining pavilion lie in two hectares of tropical gardens skirting a secluded, virtually private, white-sand beach, with good snorkeling offshore. Offering great seclusion, this is the perfect place for complete relaxation and revitalization. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Beach Cottages Hotel Senggigi
Windy Beach Hotel
Windy Beach Cottages Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing