We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
So nice, we keep coming back!

We returned this year for the third time to this wonderful winery. We were not disappointed! The... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2019
mrbryan
,
Portland, Oregon
via mobile
Worth a visit

Bodega Sarmentero is a small, family-owned winery. The family history and obvious passion they have... read more

Reviewed November 3, 2018
ygygyg16
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Quintanilla de Arriba
from $197.12
More Info
from $197.12
More Info
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 30 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I stumbled on Bodegas Sarmentero while I was in Madrid researching wineries to visit in Ribera del Duero. I cannot even express how happy I am that my family and I chose to email Maria and ask for a tour just 2 nights before. She promptly replied and met us for a private tour on a Monday in the dead of January (most wineries are closed to the public during these slow times). I am a huge fan of the wines coming from Ribera del Duero, and was relieved I could get my fix- even though it was a last minute trip.

Getting to Bodegas Sarmentero from Madrid was a quick 2 hour trip (we hired a driver to make traveling easy on us- highly recommend if you are in a group tired from long travel days). It is right on the side of the main road through Ribera Del Duero on the way to Peñafiel- a beautiful drive through one of Spain’s most loved wine regions.

As soon as we pulled up we were warmly welcomed by Maria, one of the winemakers (her mother started as the original winemaker before Maria joined the team) who is part of the small family that runs this fantastic winery. Maria speaks great English, and soon we learned that she was raised just down the road from the winery, but spent 3 years working at wineries in Napa. It was very beneficial to have an English-speaking tour guide with such extensive knowledge of wine regions around the world. Also I loved picking her brain on her favorite Californian wines- she has good taste!

We began our tour by walking down the road to one of their vineyard sites about 100 yards away from the winery. Our shoes may have gotten a little muddy- but it was awesome to be able to see the vines up close and personal. Besides- I didn't mind coming home with some mud on my shoes- that stuff is what helps make the wine so tasty! Maria explained that these are tempranillo vines, and explained all the reasons they chose this area, vineyard practices, and typical harvest times.

After the vineyard visit, we returned to the small winery, and learned that it has won awards for their water conservation efforts. I have toured many wineries, and I was impressed seeing such a small operation working so efficiently. Maria took us around the winery, showed us the vats in which they make tempranillo and verdejo wines- along with a rose- which we tasted right out of the tank! We took two bottles home of the previous vintage rose (it was tempting to force Maria to bottle the 2016 rose for us on the spot!). She showed us the cellar in which they age the wine in barrels, along with examples of the cork they source for their bottles. I found this all fascinating- and so did my family- who aren't as geeky about wine as I am.

Maria then brought us in to the next part of the winery (all beautifully decorated with old barrels, corks and other various wine-related objects). Here we saw the bottling machine, as well as the foil press. She even demonstrated how the foil is put on the bottle- very satisfying to watch.

Now time for our favorite part- the tasting! Maria sat down with us as we tasted through their selection of small-production wines. Wonderful wines paired with some Spanish cheese and nuts- it felt like we were enjoying wine with a close family friend in the comfort of their home. Some of my favorites included their Verdejo from Rueda- a bright, mineral driven white with delicate floral and lime notes. The Ribera del Duero Tempranillos were fantastic- all the vintages so unique. Spice, dried fruit and well balanced oak use was a common theme in the Sarmentero wines. We took about 7 bottles home… the plan was to save some for next Christmas so my family could enjoy the bottles all together again. But alas, we are down to 2. They are just too darn good and I prefer to relieve my wonderful experience a little more often than predicted ☺.

I highly recommend this winery if you are in the region. It is wonderful to have such an intimate tour, learn so much, and make such great memories all while enjoying phenomenal wines grown a stones through away from where you sit. Thank you Maria for such a fantastic experience. I cannot thank you enough! Cheers!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank rachcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María L, Gerente at Bodega Sarmentero, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Thank you so much Rachel.
It was our pleasure to show you how we work and share our passion with you and your family.
Maybe next time you can see another season of the tempranillo vines, already "awaken" and full of life.
Anyhow, this is your home so come back whenever you want!
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

This is a charming winery with a beautiful tour and tasting room, wonderful wines, and lots of good information about the winery and the surrounding area. Contact to set up a visit beforehand in case everyone is busy making wine!!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank MadridEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Sarmentero, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you for your review! Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful family-owned winery in the Ribera Del Duero region. Their wines are delicious, their welcome is warm and friendly and you can schedule a tour and tasting in English with the Napa Valley-trained owners. Worth a detour!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Redtree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bodega Sarmentero, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you! come back soon! we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodegasarmentero, Propietario at Bodega Sarmentero, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodegasarmentero, Propietario at Bodega Sarmentero, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews