We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real paradise”
Review of Hotel Katxi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Katxi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever been to. The tranquility, the proximity to Bilbao, gernika and the beautiful coastline, the view, the decor in the room and outside the it, the information and advice given, the small details that make such a big difference, and wonderful Miryam: it was all so good! Our only regret is we took just two nights. We should have been there for more great time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 70 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Every year as a small treat to ourselves we leave the children and daily life and go to Bilbao. We found Katxi quite by accident and from our first stay (this will be our third year) found it to be exactly what we were looking for.
The hotel has individually designed, spacious rooms that are great for relaxing when you return from the hustle, bustle and liveliness of Bilbao.
Miriam and Ramon provide a personal welcome that is friendly without being intrusive. They make recommendations on where to go and what to do based on your own preferences- we joined a local degustación at the renowned Katxi restaurant (next door) and despite the fact that we were clearly "foreigners" we made to feel welcome and had a great time.
Although the setting is rural, I would definitely recommend staying here even if you want to visit Bilbao for a weekend (unless you want to sample Bilbao nightlife, of course). You can get a taxi to and from Bilbao during the day. Its about 20 mins. Alternatively, you can rent a car which gives you the option of driving to nearby coastal towns and seeing much more of the Basque Country. This gives you the chance to really relax in the evenings and wake up to the view of the Bilbao countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms are all individually decorated and spacious. If not fully booked, they will let you have a loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited Basque-country in mid November, which was a rather rainy time of the year. We were very pleased with Katxi. The surrounding country-side must be really beautiful and good for hiking when the weather is better. The hotel was quite small. Our room was very nice and clean and the service was something that you get very seldom in other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pekka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in August as a base to explore this area of northern Spain. The hotel has real class for a relatively small country hotel. The room was spacious (even for a Spanish hotel), had all the comforts and had a great shower room! However, what made the hotel different from many others was the delightful Miriam who never seemed to be away from reception and was always there to help with places to visit. If we ever return to this part of the world then we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If this hotel were in a large city, then it would be described as a Boutique Hotel and awarded 4 stars. In fact it is a half hour drive from Bilbao, in remarkably beautiful countryside, but only has a 2 star classification. It delivers a lot more than this suggests and is incredibly good value for money.

Well worth the visit with many sightseeing opportunities within easy driving distance. All the bedrooms are spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Within the hotel there is a lovely Lounge and adjacent to it is a restaurant of a very high standard for this small village location. Miriam is one of the most helpful and attentive hosts of any hotel in which I have stayed hand it is her attitude which makes this Hotel so very special.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank 3NJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with Hotel Katxi, and also with Miriam! The quiet location in the countryside, big deck overlooking the woods, insanely comfortable beds, beautiful clean rooms, and wonderful attention to detail by Miriam make this place pretty hard to beat. Although it feels like its in the middle of nowhere, you are only a 15-20 minute gorgeous drive from places like Guernica, Bilbao, Mundaka, Bermeo, the painted forest, and all the other towns you should explore while you're there. And no need to do any advanced planning, as miriam will spend time with you mapping out the best routes to take advantage of you're time here. It was so nice to come back from a long exhausting day of sightseeing and be in our calm, beautiful room in the countryside with a surprise fruit drink and strawberries in our fridge from Miriam. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Basque country. Deserves at least 4 if not 5*. Very helpful owner. Try restaurant Katxi nearby. Does not look good for the first impression but they serve excellent food. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morga
Hotel Urune
#1 of 2 in Muxika
121 reviews
Apartamentos Mundaka
#1 of 3 in Mundaka
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castillo de Arteaga
#1 of 1 in Gautegiz Arteaga
175 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katxi

Address: Andra Mari, 48115 Morga, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Morga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morga
Price Range: $99 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Katxi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Katxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing