We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden
Ranked #1 of 1 Straumsjoen B&B and Inns
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A big surprise in the middle of nowhere. We really liked the reindeer goulash although it was Not on the menu but a very good advice given by the excellent waiter.
The Cod was a good choice with a surprise of bacon underneath.
As a dessert we had the home made apple pie with ice cream (who doesn't like ice cream)
The coffee was good and could be refilled as much as we liked, and we liked it much.
Thanks for a very nice meal and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

March 2013, we've just had a more than wonderful trip to Ringstad Sjohus in Vesteralen. It is a beautiful remote location to stay, cosy and clean accommodation, good food, but it was the friendly and warm atmosphere and Ian and Karina's devotion to make their guests happy which made our stay really memorable.
Because of the lack of snow as well as the rapidly changing weather conditions Ian did an outstanding job making an alternative program in which we've done and seen even more! Ian shared his extensive photographic knowledge before, during and after the photography course and took us by car and boat to stunning locations. We saw eagles, fishing villages, art, northern lights etc. and hat a lot of fun together.
We would love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mareille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetzlar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great place to stay as to both the location at the fiord and the snug, cosy, very friendly and warm atmosphere, Ian and Karina (hosts) are always devoted to guests' wishes and needs; clean and spacious accommodation, tasty cuisine; I had the opportunity to enjoy a very interesting course in photography based on Ian's expertise in taking great shots. I do recommend that place to people who like tranquility, fascinating landscapes and light (not just aurora borealis, especially in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent marvelous days at Ringstad, despite the partly foggy weather. Located within a group of small islands the place is splendid. Beside of our bike tour on Bo Island we attended spontaneously a photography course with Ian, who runs the place together with his wive. He is an outstanding photographer who teached us how to leave the automatic modus of our cameras behind us. What a difference, when we look at our fotos before and after the stay in Ringstad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The only positive thing was the surrounding and housing which were good and clean and that there was enough fisch.
The internet connection was very bad and the opening of pages was extremly slowly. But despite of this it cost 10€/week which is too much considering its quality( even the skype did not work properly - there was only the sound but no picture). The owner of the property was an arrogant Englishman who accused us that we have scratched his boat although we did not and he took 250€ from us because of it. So if you are going there, check the boat properly so that it can´t happen to you. And make also a photo of it so that you have some proof.(I think we were not the first who he robbed)
The weather was changeable and the waether forecast was not acctual)

Room Tip: all rooms were same - small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

February 2012, Just returned from an absolutely wonderful trip to Ringstad. Ian shared his extensive photographic knowledge and took us by car and boat to stunning locations. The rapidly changing weather gave us super photographic opportunities. We saw moose across the bay from the breakfast table (food supeb too, wonderful seafood, beautifully presented) eagles in the next bay and an otter from the window. Not forgetting the northern lights .Made really welcome and Ian and Karina did everthing they could to make our stay such a memorable and enjoyable experience. Ringstad is in a fantastic location right at the waters edge and the Vesteralen Islands are stunningly beautiful and remote. Come before any one else finds it! .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We was as a group of 5 Norway Greenhorns in Ringstad Sjohus - from August 23 to September 2th. We had booked the owner Ian as guide for the first day.
It was unbelievable - first catch after few minutes - a cod 117 cm and 15 kg. Wow!! The complete result from the first day 9 cods with over 110 cm.

The team with Ian, Ann-Karina, Mickey was allways tried to help us with infos, with shopping for us and many more. With Ian you can also book kajak tours, bird, nature and photo tours.

And when you trip to ringstad - dont forget to book the breakfast - we loved it each day !!

The rooms are clean, and have all what you need for a relaxed holiday time. The boats are in perfect condition and complete with gps, plotter and fishfinders.

I will allways recommend this location to other norway fans. Specially, when you search silence and directly contact to the nature - you will a perfect place here.
And I want come back to Ringstad in 2012. Then is the halibut on the catching list.

Ringstad was T H E highlight this year. Thank you to the Ringstad Sjohus team.

René / Germany

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straumsjoen
9.2 mi away
Vesteralen Kysthotell
Vesteralen Kysthotell
#2 of 3 in Stokmarknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sortland Hotell
Sortland Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sortland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
11.4 mi away
Melbu Hotel
Melbu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Melbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Skagakaia
Skagakaia
#2 of 3 in Bo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fjordcamp
Fjordcamp
#1 of 1 in Krakberget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
9.3 mi away
Littleisland Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden

Property: Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden
Address: Ringstad, Straumsjoen, Bo 8475, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bo > Straumsjoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Straumsjoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the protected surroundings of the characteristic landscape on the outside of the Vesteralen islands between steep mountains and nestled in amongst the islands you will find the old trading station of Ringstad Sjohus. A beautiful quite spot on the south side of the islands with a view to the Lofoten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringstad Sjohus - Huset Pa Yttersiden Norway/Straumsjoen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing