We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This property is a must when visiting the Jervis Bay area. By the Beach B & B Apartments will cater for all your needs... The self contained apartments are very modern & stylish, the finishes are that of a 5 star property. Their rooms also interconnect for larger families. Its extremely peaceful & don't be surprised if you are greeted by the local Kangaroos early morning or at dusk & there are also opportunities to feed the friendly possums at night at the property. We felt completely relaxed at this property, cooked BBQ's for breakfast and dinner & the children had an absolute ball. The location is within a short driving distance to Hyams Beach, Murrays Beach & Huskisson. The hosts Greg & Jan are amazing! Their very kind hospitality was 1st class. Thank you for making our weekend one we will never forget, we are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: They have 3 apartments & they are all equally as excellent as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynch-n-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is in a great location in Jervis Bay, it is a huge single room (bedroom flows into the living area and kitchen), very nice, modern bathroom. We grilled dinner on the BBQ outside, kitchen very well equipped. Nice area for a walk, saw birds, and even kangaroos loping through a nearby backyard. Nearby small grocery store adequate for purchases for dinner. Wifi signal weak, but could access from outside. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Greg and Jan are the consummate hosts and made our stay so comfortable. The room is very well thought out with a great shower, comfortable bed and fully functioning kitchen. Each unit has its own weber q barbeque which is a good touch. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is voluminous and will definitely keep you going for a few hours.

There can be some noise bleed between the units from the adjoining door which can be extremey frustrating late at night, however they are installing double doors to make it soundproof which will make the next stay a five star one!

If you are considering staying here, do it, you will be delighted. Make sure that you book well in advance as they are rather popular and garner a lot of return business which is a testament to the great operation that they run.

If you are coming for more than two days, i would recommend shopping at home and bringing all your meat, veg and vino with you. There are local stores, however they have limited choice.

Room Tip: They are all the same, however two is sandwiched between three and one, so i would go for either of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arakoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

By the Beach B & B was the ideal location to celebrate my 60th birthday with all my family. Our wonderful hosts, Greg & Jan, were able to accommodate our children and grandchildren in their 3 apartments, with 2 adults in the main house. The modern apartments were superbly outfitted for cooking and we were able to have our evening meals on the large deck at the main house overlooking the waters of the "Basin". Kangaroos, possums and numerous birds all made an appearance during our stay and Jan and Greg were helpful with local knowledge and did everything they could to make our stay a happy and memorable one. I highly recommend By the Beach B & B.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank arakoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This a most tranquil location on the beautiful South Coast. The apartment was very stylish with all the right inclusions, a delightful breakfast and Jan and Greg were friendly and very helpful hosts. Very spacious apartment with private balcony and barbecue. A lovely natural bush setting overlooking the waters of St Georges Basin, lots of shady trees & we saw kangaroos & other Australian wildlife including many colourful birds that came up to be hand fed. And to top things off, there's a sandy beach in front where we could swim and sail a catamaran. Plenty of parking & a shop close. Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: This small group of all ground level apartments were architect designed such that each has identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I would have wished to give this place 5 stars - there are so many things right about it!

- The breakfast is PLENTY and yummy
- Jan and Greg (the owners) are about as lovely as owners could ever be
- kangaroos in the back yard during the evenings
- St Georges Basin (lake) literally right next to it
- Flats in a perfect condition, with great bathrooms and comfy beds
- Great veranda, with good BBQ facilities
- very spacious

Unfortunately, there were a couple of things that influenced it negatively:
- lack of noise cancellation: our apartment was right next to the owner's house's living room, and the only thing shielding us from them was a normal (locked) door. Although they weren't particularly noisy (they had relatives over), we could hear every word. And the noise cancellation was similar to the other side, the next apartment. If you're unlucky and you check-in next to someone who is loud, you won't have a good stay.
- lack of pots, pans and other things: there are some, but not enough to cook properly. I am sure Jan and Greg would have lent us their stuff had we gone over and asked, but it would have been better to have it right there.

It's up to you to decide how important these points are to you, I just wanted to be honest about it. Having said the negative things, I have to stress what a difference it makes to have two lovely people run these apartments. Greg must have held his introductory speech a million times, but we still had the feeling that he thoroughly enjoyed having guests, and Jan was very very attentive and extremely helpful.

If the noise cancellation issue got fixed, I would recommend this place to everybody without any reservations!

Room Tip: Take the one closest to the drive-way, it will only have one connecting door and therefore less chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sardionerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is our first stay at a bed and breakfast accommodation and upon arrival we were greeted by Greg and was very welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights with breakfast which was simple but as we were not that fussed with breakfast. The view from Greg and Jan dinning table is awesome which over look the sanctuary. The room was clean and comfortable. We recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who are into this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelleroz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanctuary Point
3.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanddancers
Sanddancers
#1 of 4 in Vincentia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.8 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments

Property: By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Address: 260 Greville Ave, Sanctuary Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Sanctuary Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanctuary Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing