We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Galore”
Review of Hotel Keramos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Keramos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality Galore”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Hotel Keramos and loved it! The rooms in this hotel were furnished with antiques local to the area. You could tell that "Mama Katerina" took pride in the place as everything was tastefully arranged and very clean. The bed was comfortable and we were pleased that we could access WiFi from our room – a bonus!

The breakfast we were served was an incredible array of more than ten different dishes, all local and all delicious. We couldn't finish what was given to us, but we delighted in trying everything. Yumm! As impressed as we were by the variety of dishes served our first morning at Keramos, we were even more impressed as each new day brought a different variety of dishes for breakfast. Someone is VERY busy!

The staff were welcoming and couldn't be more accommodating. This is a gem in a lovely village in the mountains. We were also fortunate in being in Zaros for a street festival our first evening and there was lots of food, live music and dance. We really felt we were part of a genuine Cretan experience, not something put on for tourists.

We have many fond memories from our short stay in Zaros and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yingele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    58
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
164
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were welcomed with a drink and fruit. The room was just great with a nice view over the village. The next morning we had the world famous Keramos breakfast. Well, it was overwhelming. For us it was our food for the entire day! We got it served by a German lady who moved to the Island 5 years ago. She was really kind and explained everything she served. We absolutel recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We had a room at the 2nd floor with a nice balcony overlooking the village and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

When we first booked this hotel in Zaros we were somewhat concerned that it was in the middle of nowhere. However, while it is off the beaten track (thankfully) it is wonderfully located for day trips to the beach, archeological sites, and monasteries. The hotel itself is a true gem. With its welcoming warm hospitality, the fabulous breakfast, and genuinely friendly help and service this hotel is an excellent choice for anyone who wants to experience the real Crete. In our three weeks spent touring Greece this hotel and Zaros stand out as special memories. Only had one minor complaint, one morning I was late getting up and as there was a tour group in the hotel I didn't get any hot water for my shower. Not a big issue though and definitely wouldn't stop me from returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kano34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in september, we arrived late and was greated by Katarina, the owner who dosen't seem to speak any other language but Greek, but that was never a problem, we got a nice room on the second floor overlooking parts of the village and hills beyond, the room was simple, but clean and with beautiful decorations and furniture, very confortable beds. Only thing not so good was the shower, the water supply was not a steady one, on the plus side it was a shover booth, first I recall encountering in Greece, so you did not end up with a single drop outside the shower. Breakfast is amazing the first times, and very taste all the mornings, the dishes you don't finish (i wonder if anyone ever managed to finish the breakfast here ...) you can have later for picnic, just take it with you in the bag provided to you. Tea is so good, unfortunately same cannot be said about the coffee. Other drawback might be if you are easily disturbed in your sleep that it is noisy around, we were sometimes awakened by not only roosters, goats and dogs but also by the occasional rifle- and automatic assault rifle (!) firing. But other than that, and it is of course not the fault of the hotel and i for one think that , maybe except for the gun fire, it adds ambience, I would recommend this hotel and the village to anyone like us tired of the charter resorts. a/c it should be noted costs extra

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms and rooms to the back; better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our two nights at Keramos, in the beautifully positioned village of Zaros, were memorable. This wasn't down to the quality of the soap, the depth of the carpet or the complementary slippers (there weren't any thankfully). It was entirely down to the warmth of the welcome, the continued hospitality and the memories we've left with. Everything you'll have read about the amazing breakfast is true - it is wonderful. You'll have heard about Katerina's warmth and friendliness - well, it goes for all the staff. And no doubt you'll have noted there's no swimming pool - so take a cool shower.

The area is stunning and well worth a few days of anyone's time. And this is a lovely place to stay while you're doing it. We felt like family within 15 minutes and that feeling persists weeks later. We will of course return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batesy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting this part of Crete. An authentic little hotel, decorated with local antiques and in a traditional manner. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and great big smile of the owner and really affordable pricesis why we keep returning to Keramos. Oh yeah that and her handmade, pies and yummy breakfast - which she makes herself every morning before the roosters start to crow. The surrounding area is a mountain village frozen in time, rich in natural beauty. The nearby lake a great spot to spend an afternoon eating fresh trout. The beaches of Matala and Komos a short drive away. All in all a great point from which to explore the area. Did I mention the delicious pies???

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeygirl01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Unfortunately, although its a nice small and clean hotel, the owners misled their guests that they can use the swimming pool of a nearby hotel.
This is not true!!. It is another business and their pool is for their residents.
So to sum up if you need to book a hotel in this lovely Cretean village with a pool don't choose this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
0.8 mi away
Eleonas
Eleonas
#1 of 3 in Zaros
498 reviews
33.1 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Idi Hotel
Idi Hotel
#3 of 3 in Zaros
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.5 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
33.3 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
19.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keramos

Property: Hotel Keramos
Address: Zaros, Crete 70002, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Keramos 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Keramos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keramos Hotel Crete
Hotel Keramos Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing