We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little authentic hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keramos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Keramos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect little authentic hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting this part of Crete. An authentic little hotel, decorated with local antiques and in a traditional manner. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and great big smile of the owner and really affordable pricesis why we keep returning to Keramos. Oh yeah that and her handmade, pies and yummy breakfast - which she makes herself every morning before the roosters start to crow. The surrounding area is a mountain village frozen in time, rich in natural beauty. The nearby lake a great spot to spend an afternoon eating fresh trout. The beaches of Matala and Komos a short drive away. All in all a great point from which to explore the area. Did I mention the delicious pies???

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeygirl01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    53
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
154
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Unfortunately, although its a nice small and clean hotel, the owners misled their guests that they can use the swimming pool of a nearby hotel.
This is not true!!. It is another business and their pool is for their residents.
So to sum up if you need to book a hotel in this lovely Cretean village with a pool don't choose this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat ada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at Keramos was one of the highlights of our trip to Crete. Katarina is an amazing host, very warm and caring. The room we stayed in was lovely and clean with a view of the mountains. The breakfast was very special, lots of different kinds of home made pies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wow, we loved this place! The minute we arrived, Angela (the owner's assistant) showered us with warm hospitality, offering us fresh orange juice and cookies before checking into our rooms. We felt like we were visiting a family friend in the country! The rooms are clean, comfortably and beautifully decorated with antiques and hand-made linens. The breakfast is truly amazing: a huge assortment of freshly baked cakes and pies, including warm cheese pies, all made by Caterina, the owner. It's impossible to finish all that is served; fortunately, they provide a paper bag to take the rest with you. Zaros is a beautiful, peaceful village in the mountains, and a great alternative to the busy towns in the north of Crete. We only stayed one night but hope to return soon and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lam1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a jewel in an unexpected place. New, impeccably clean building. Whitewashed walls, high beamed ceilings, tiled floor, balconies with view of rustic valley, goats and sheep bleating quietly in distance. Warm-hearted, family atmosphere. Languages spoken by other guests while we were here (three days): French, Spanish, English (including Canadian and Australian), German, Greek, Dutch. Katarina, the delightful owner (and chief cook!) speaks only Greek, but Angela, her assistant, speaks German natively and serviceable English as well.

The hotel will bend over backwards to accommodate you. When, as is our custom, we went out to buy the makings for salad for the evening (there is a small refrigerator in each room), we were invited to use their kitchen to prepare it. We also bought eggs to have for breakfast. “But we have farm fresh eggs,” they protested, when we handed them the eggs the next morning. Instead, they suggested we keep our eggs for the trip (they hard boiled them for us) and eat theirs instead.

If you have arranged for the special breakfast (5 Euro additional), in addition to coffee, tea, and fresh squeezed orange juice (plus watermelon), you will find 10-15 different items, some of which change depending on the day. (The sweet variations include small yeast-based pastries made with chocolate, raisins, nuts, or apples; the savory might include peppers, sausage, or greens; several involve Greek cheeses.) Once you have tasted them all, they will be delighted to provide you with those you prefer. (Among my favorites are the rice pudding—not too sweet, with a dusting of cinnamon--and the saucer-sized thin “pancakes” filled with dark chocolate or Greek cheese). At the end of breakfast (which you cannot possibly finish) they also bring you a “take out” bag—so you can have whatever is left over while you are out for the day.

During our stay, there was a huge pile of watermelons, fresh from their farm, in the corner under the stairwell. When we told them of our love for fruit, we were invited to take one whenever we wished (they were relatively small melons that we could easily cut with the Swiss army knife we always carry).

Using the hotel as our base we drove to Phaestos, Knossos, and Kosmos Beach. (There are also several monasteries in the area.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is affectionately managed into all details by the owner Caterina and her stuff. Hearty, helpful, uncomplicated, clean, calm, nicely done up, with incredible cretan breakfast, that's baken freshly every morning by Caterina, at the time you want. No matter for one night or one week, Zaros is an authentic village to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the Centre of Crete surrounded by mountains, hiking possibilities are huge. By car you reache the south or north coast in about 40 minutes, herklion airport is about an hour to drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florentine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent three night in april 2013 at Keramos - a traditional house which success is without any doubt caused by the heartful and lovely spirit how Katarine (and her co-workers) are taking care of their guests. She is not really speaking any foreign language but everything works well and if necessary to communicate more there is always some helpful person around. The enormous home made and extraordinary breakfast is also responsible for the good reputation of Keramos. I haven't seen anybody being able to finish the heaps of tasteful sweet and salty dishes and cakes - but Katarina supplies paperbags and you have not to care about picknicking during the day. Keramos Hotel and Zaros is a good location for hiking in the mountains and to visit the archaeological sites of Festos and Agia Triada. You should not miss the local taverna of Vegera nearby run by Katarinas friends - its not expensive and very tasty traditional Cretan cooking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
0.7 mi away
Eleonas
Eleonas
#1 of 3 in Zaros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Idi Hotel
Idi Hotel
#3 of 3 in Zaros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
29.4 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
33.3 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keramos

Property: Hotel Keramos
Address: Zaros, Crete 70002, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Keramos 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keramos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keramos Hotel Crete
Hotel Keramos Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing