We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic luxury Greek country retreat”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
Vicksburg, MS
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rustic luxury Greek country retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My friends and I spent 4 days at Eleonas. A bit of a drive on small mountain roads to find it but well worth the trip!!! I would not try to drive there after dark but would plan your trip to arrive during the day. The cabins are built in authentic rustic Greek style with fireplaces. The food is fabulous!! using the owners family recipes. Lotsof opportunites for hiking the Zaros Gorge, sightseeing at nearby ruins, or just relaxing. I would definietly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saildeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
288
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I visited Crete for a few days at the end of december, beginning of January. We booked at Eleonas based on the great reviews and our desire for a quiet, cozy place to relax. We were so taken with the place that we rearranged our trip to stay a few more days. Still, we were sorry to have to leave. The cottages are beautifully built and charming with great views and a cozy fireplace (they bring you wood every morning!). The restaurant served some of the best food (fresh, authentic local and delicious! we had great salads made with seasonal greens from their own garden, the locally produced yogurt is to die for) we had on our trip and everyone was so warm, friendly and helpful. The village is nice and there is a lake and gorge for walks. You do need a car. We did all our Crete sightseeing from there, It took a bit of driving which was actually nice as we got to see small towns and beautiful vistas we would have otherwise missed. We wish everyone at Eleonas well and hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-and-s-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We went to Eleonas for 2 nights in January. The area is really beautiful and you can visit nearby lake and canyon. The hotel complex is new, with very pretty rooms. It was very clean, the stuff was very friendly and helping and the food was very good. I believe it's very good value for money and we will definitely visit it again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manosandr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

For people who love nature and hiking, traditional non-touristic hospitality, strong cultural experiences and most importantly fresh home made and healthy food Eleonas is a must. Greta place for families and young children-lots of fun activities for them. Also the location is amazing, one of the canyons and the lake are only a few minutes walk away. The staff (from the housekeeping staff to the owners) were all really friendly and personable-we really felt at home there! I am from India and my wife is Greek and it was our first time visiting Crete and I think Eleonas was the best part of the visit. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were just looking for a mountain B&B to stopover in on our way from Chania to Elounda, and were mainly looking forward to the 5 star resort we'd booked in Elounda, but after one night at Eleanos I didn't want to leave!! My boyfriend is from Greece and I am from Canada, but we'd never been to Crete before and were really quite blown away. It was slightly off-season, so we got a good deal on the room.

The loft-style cottage was peaceful, with beautiful views from the upper floor balcony. It was very clean and roomy, great little kitchenette and amenities but plenty of windows and FRESH air to feel connected to the nature surroundings. There was rosemary, sage, and honeysuckle growing everywhere - the walk to the main lodge was to die for! The pool area looked great and there was tons to do just staying in the area, but we opted to drive 20 min to one of the nearby beaches.

The breakfast included is amazing, well-rounded and very high-quality local food. We ate dinner there both nights we stayed; all the dishes were made with fresh local food, herbs, the house wine was great - and you must try the raki with honey!! And the grilled pleurotis (oyster mushrooms) rocked my world!
I would recommend to everyone to go if you are looking for somewhere to relax, eat good food, breathe fresh air and enjoy fabulous service. Loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Eleonas. If you want to experience the traditional Crete, relax (by the pool), go on (mountain) walks, eat in a brilliant restaurant, get away from busy and stressful city life etc. then Eleonas is THE place to go. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The cottages are spacious, cosy and very clean. We couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gresham2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have been visiting Crete every year for 23 years and without doubt this is the best accommodation that we have stayed in. We still love our other favourites and nothing will stop us also going there, but, although more expensive than most Cretan accommodation, Eleonas has something special.

Here are some of the attributes:

LOCATION; there are 20 lodges set at the foothills of the mountains they are set amid an olive grove close to the lower end of the Rouvas Gorge. Because the lodges are set on a steep hillside (difficult for the infirm) each has a beautiful view from its balcony or terrace.
There are lovely walks from the doorstep and Manolis gives guests detailed maps of the area to enable them to get the best out of the location. It is an easy walk to the Zaros lake and from there to the lower end of the gorge and there is also a very pleasant walk to the unspoilt village of Zaros.

Attention to DETAIL: the lodges are very spacious and all have a good degree of privacy. They are designed with a traditional theme and decorated in warm colours. There are log burning fires in each with a plentifull supply of dry wood so even in cooler weather they would be cosy. We stayed in a lodge with an attic bedroom; this had glazed doors which opened out to a balcony. The bathroom and toilet in this type of accommodation is on the ground floor so those that need this facility at night might like to choose a 'stone cottage' instead. Each cottage is well equiped but not suitable for self catering as the small kitchenette has limited cooking facilities. A bowl of fruit is provided and topped up daily; there is even and orange juice squeezer to make use of the delicious oranges. The fridge is stocked with a range of wine and soft drinks (to purchase) and there is a small jug of Raki which is topped up daily.

FACILITIES: most of these have already been mentioned in previous reviews but whilst we were there an extra one was being prepared for the next season; this was a playground for children. We loved the pool and its surrounding area where we could choose to sit in either sunshine or shade; it was a perfect refuge to come back to after a hot morning walking.

RESTAURANT: we pre-booked half-board and enjoyed every meal, however we were overfaced with food. Half board covers breakfast and dinner and offers a half-carafe of wine and a small bottle of Raki with honey. Breakfast was buffet style with an excellent choice of food and fresh orange juice and coffee. Dinner on half board was very good value and offered (for 2 people) a choice of 4 starters from a list of about 12, and for the main course a choice of two dishes of the day. This was followed by delicious home made cake and then fruit. We do not have large appetites and had had almost enough by the time we had finished our 4 tasty starters. So, next time we would choose to book only bed and breakfast.

HOSPITALITY: both Manolis and his staff were were very welcoming and friendly and Manolis is always available for advice and information.

Our only criticism is the comfort of the beds, (this might purely be personal preference) we found them, and the pillows, to be too hard. However, we really appreciated the 6ft configeration of two 3ft beds put together as it often so hot in Crete that sharing a smaller bed can be uncomfortably hot.

To conclude, we would definately return to Eleonas as part of our annual 3-4 weeks autumn holiday and would probably stay for 4-5 days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
46.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
29.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
603 reviews
25.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
540 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
21.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Property: Eleonas
Address: Main Street, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleonas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 20 rural lodges are situated on a peaceful and refreshing mountain slope, surrounded by olive trees and sweet-scented herbs, and are facing a magnificent view. This is the perfect getaway land. The beauty of the landscape makes it ideal for nature-lovers. Be it summer or winter, wild nature and its enchanting beauty will cast a spell on you. Experience moments of relaxation and tranquility, and admire nature in all its grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleonas Hotel Zaros
Eleonas Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing