We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Idi Hotel(Zaros)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
545
23
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesrouvas gorgeolive grovesoutdoor gymthe half board optionprivate terraceminute driveperfect place to relaxeach eveningnearest beachwonderful weekfamily vacationheraklion airportpeace and quietrental caran amazing holidayrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 568 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We have traveled to more that twenty countries and stayed in countless hotels during our travels. With that being said Eleonas, is at the top of our list of favorites. The location (in the mountains surrounded by olive trees), the relaxed atmosphere, personal touches, the food, welcoming staff and finally our wonderful cottage were especially memorable. My wife and I look back at our stay at Eleonas with fond memories and wonder how lucky we were to find Eleonas. We highly recommend half board option it is a great bargain. Eleonas is centrally located to visit many of the historical sites and attractions of Crete including Phaestus and Knossos. We took the rather challenging hike accompanied by many goats through the gorge and visited several nearby monasteries. But you don't have to go anywhere - everything you need is right here - at Eleonas!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We stayed at Eleonas for 5 nights in July this year. We had spent the previous 5 nights at a busy all inclusive resort so were really pleased to arrive at the tranquil Eleonas for some peace and quiet. We had booked a car through Eleonas which was delivered to our original hotel bang on the minute it was promised.

We were met by Melonis on arrival and given cold drinks before he took us to our cottage.

I'm always wary of any accommodation that is described as rustic as this is often code for a bit run down. Eleonas, however, could be described as high-quality rustic. The cottages have a rustic feel but are comfortable and high-quality inside and out.

The restaurant is in a stunning location and the food was great and very plentiful (I went up a notch on my belt before I left). We were on the half-board deal which worked really well.

The staff, especially Mando in the restaurant, were so friendly and seemed to genuinely want to make your stay as good as they could. Although the menu had 3 main different main courses each night, they would always make something else for my 9 year old daughter if she didn't like any of them.

I have very little negative to say about this place. They have got it just right and have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and peaceful. Even the Cicadas stopped making noise the moment the sun went down.

I cannot recommend this place enough to families who are looking for a relaxed, comfortable and peaceful holiday away from the busy resorts.

Room Tip: Older travellers should ask for a cottage lower down the hill as it is pretty steep.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branwell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

We have been to Crete 8 times at many hotels, however, once we discovered Eleonas, this is the only place we will stay at in Crete. This April was the second time we stayed at Eleonas. We were 3 families with young kids. Manolis, the owner, welcomes us like family, and the stay there is absolutly perfect. The grounds are beautiful, the cottages are stunning, many places to walk in nature around there, and a short drive (20 min) to beachs if you prefer. For children, this is such a child friendly place, with a playground and kiddy pool and gymbory.
It is simply the loveliest place to stay to relax, recharge, and vacation in Crete.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

We stayed four nights on half board in cottage 12 which was about half way up the hill of twenty cottages. Manolis greeted us with drinks and gave us a detailed map of the area with walks and sights. Our accommodation was of a high standard and clean. The views from our private terrace were stunning. We walked a little of the Rouvas Gorge and doubled back to Lake Votomas a couple of times and had a cool drink in such a peaceful setting. If you do this walk We recommend just re-tracing your steps as the road isn't as pleasant as contouring the side of the mountain. The food was excellent and you can choose from the a la carte menu and pay the difference but we never found this necessary. We loved the slow cooked lamb and the potatoes had absorbed all the juices..just delicious. Diamando was the restaurant manager...such a pleasant lady who, although busy, always found the time to explain the menu and chat with us. We will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank runjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

For my husband and I our holiday in Eleonas was our best holiday ever. The host especially does his utmost do make you feel comfortable, welcome and like million dollars. The service, food, atmosphere is truly special. Since we went to Eleonas a few years ago we have been trying to book again, but our dates are always all booked up! If we could, we would go back there every year. Thank you for our amazing memories. Kat & Andy

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takkatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews