We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“a lovely place”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent three nights at Eleonas Cottages in May, after visiting Rethymno, Chania, and Heraklion. Zaros was a sweet change of pace, and the Eleonas Cottages were a lovely place to spend our last days in Crete.

Manolis was very warm and friendly, and understandably proud of the hotel. He was a helpful guide, suggesting spots we might want to see when we mentioned our day's plans. We enjoyed talking with him. The other staff members we encountered were equally warm and friendly.

The grounds really were outstanding, covered with herb bushes, fruit trees, roses, and flowering bushes and plants. We enjoyed walking from our cottage to breakfast every morning, and lingered on the way back. The breakfast was a nice buffet, with tomatoes and cucumbers, olives, feta, yogurt and honey, breads, pastries, boiled eggs, fresh juice, a range of choices for coffee. Plenty of options, and a nice start to the day.

Our room was just fine; the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning was nice and cold, and there was plenty of space with the sitting area and the couch. The bathroom was fine too, though the tub was kind of unevenly repaired with sheet metal screws. But it was FINE, comfortable, well-equipped, attractive, and it had what we needed. Everything about the room was just fine, but it stopped short of being special enough for us to give it that fifth star rating. We hold back the fifth star rating for places that are just so very amazing that we can't imagine anything better. We just wouldn't quite go that far with Eleonas.

Other reviewers refer to the place as paradise, and we can't go there but we can easily recommend the place, and have such fond memories of Zaros, and Manolis, and the beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
279
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
329 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a special place. Not just your average B&B, it is actually a resort at the foot of a mountain pass. Family owned & run it is a wonderful oasis in the the near wilderness of Southern Crete. Manolis is the owner (along with his brother). His father tends the wide variety of trees, herbs & plants that are literally everywhere around the cottages & lining the paths etc. And his mother does preserves that they serve in the restaurant. They even have a small farm to grow some produce & chickens for eggs etc. A very nice pool, an exercise area, a tennis court, a kid's play area, numerous hiking options nearby & on & on & on. Breakfasts are bountiful & the optional lunches & dinners are varied & great. Every night they have a meat & a veggie main with a wide selection of appetizers. And they even have potable water flowing from the taps thanks to the Zaros waterworks down the road. There are some basic tavernas in Zaros if you want to break out for some variety.

So if you want a break from the crush of touristic Northern Crete, you now know where to go. Manolis told me that over 40% of the 21 cottages were rented by repeat customers!

Room Tip: We rented #1 which was the easiest walk & very close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had such a good time at the Eleonas Villas. The walks in the surrounding hills are beautiful and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool when we got back! Dinner each night was an amazing experience with a new main meal each night; the buffet breakfasts were so lovely - all on a gorgeous terrace overlooking the mountainside on one side and the valley on the other.

Really good value for money, we found the rates really reasonable and you get a lot for what you pay for. The cottages were lovely with well kept and strategically-placed gardens to ensure privacy - lots of flowers and herbs everywhere. The host, Manolis, is very obliging and assisted us with all our queries ....really, though everyone there was very friendly and obliging.

Just a totally amazing place to have been to and I hope I return some day!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Take an olive grove on a sun-soaked mountainside amidst stunning scenery. Add around 20 beautifully and sympathetically designed cottages and studios in traditional Cretan design. Intersperse with a network of paths and steps lined with fragrant herbs, flowers and shrubs. Include a fabulous pool area with outdoor gym. Don’t forget a taverna with a delightful outdoor terrace and a range of delicious local dishes. Accompany with a gentle chorus of birdsong, humming bees and tinkling goat bells. Complete with the wonderful hospitality of Manolis and his staff. That’s Eleonas. Perfect…

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems or are concerned about handling steep paths and steps, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daleswalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

From the beginning to the end of our stay at Eleonas we felt ourselves very welcome. Nice resort, friendly staff and delicious food. The houses are well situated and gives a lot of privacy.

Illis & Cor

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful place. Once again, amazing service and food. Great attention to detail, with guests comfort and enjoyment paramount. Walks in the mountains and to the village of Zaros, helped by Manolis's
advice. Lovely swimming pool and restaurant terrace looking out over the beautiful countryside, and the mountain from our balcony. I shall return again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothinlikeadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Eleonas during Easter 2014. Our high expectations were met! Nice location, excellent food and service in the restaurant. And Manolis and his staff were all such nice people. There are lots of nice walks in the area and if you have a car it will take you 30-40 minutes to reach lovely beaches. But don't expect to sit on your terrace enjoying the sunset. The sun is behind the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sverred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
46.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
29.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
21.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
56.3 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
29.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Property: Eleonas
Address: Main Street, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleonas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 20 rural lodges are situated on a peaceful and refreshing mountain slope, surrounded by olive trees and sweet-scented herbs, and are facing a magnificent view. This is the perfect getaway land. The beauty of the landscape makes it ideal for nature-lovers. Be it summer or winter, wild nature and its enchanting beauty will cast a spell on you. Experience moments of relaxation and tranquility, and admire nature in all its grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleonas Hotel Zaros
Eleonas Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing