We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, don't miss it!!”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Tucked in the mountains amongst an olive grove, herbs and fruit trees, Eleonas is a wonderful b&b. It's a magical place! Manolis and his staff - especially the lady at the taverna - are all amazing, warm, lovely people. They always go the extra mile and put so much attention to detail. You feel as if you're part of the Eleonas family.
Our cottage was spacious, comfortable, beautifully laid out and very well kept. Everything is amazing - the olive/honey shower gel, the big bath tub, delicious wine, the sitting area, the lovely terrace with stunning views. The smell of herbs is always around you.
The taverna was built around an olive tree and they serve really nice, fairly priced food. The pool is very nice too.
The region has lots to offer - walks, beaches, monasteries, wineries etc.
I really can't recommend Eleonas enough.
We had an amazing 5 nights and left reluctantly. We'll definitely come back!!
Only but is - if you've got mobility problems, make sure you ask for a cottage at the bottom of the hill as the walk to the top ones is very steep.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missvalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good evening from Zaros!
Thanks for your nice review!
Hope that your stay in Eleonas made your holidays remarkable..
We love to know that you felt like parts of the Eleonas family!
hope to see you again in the future!
All the bast!

regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Eleonas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Eleonas is siuated just outside of the village of Zaros, between acres of olive trees that spread a wonderful smell, enhancing the feeling of peace and quiet.
If you're looking for hectic vacation time, discos, lots of youth and loud music: stay away (try Maliah or Chersonissos).

The host Manolis is a laid back guy, always helpful, in for a joke or a late night beer, even when he's busy running the place and seeing to every detail to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

The rooms are clean and cozy, don't expect regular (european) B&B setting, this is, in our opinion, way beyond that level! The aircos are modern and come with a remote control, no extremely noisy rattling contraptions that keep you awake.Cleanliness is superb!

The food is authentic and tasteful, and the daily variety makes going elsewhere unnecessary if you don't feel like it.

The central location makes exploring by car fun, and coming back to this home away from home at the end of a day is a blessing.

Manolis, Mando, and everyone in the background of this little haven, thanks for a wonderful time!!

Dennis&Vivian

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenIos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Dennis and Vivian!!
Thanks for describing Eleonas on such a nice way!
I hope that you really really enjoyed staying, eating and spending your holidays in Eleonas!
You are always welcome here, so hope to see you again sometime..

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

You cannot find better in this region. You are close to some beautiful beaches in the south of Heraklion and to ancient attracations like Faistos or Gortyna. If you like hiking, this is the place to be. The appartments guarantee a perfect stay. Clean, beautifully decorated, excellent service. Don't miss a dinner in the perfect taverna! Manolis and Manto will make you feel like home! Thank you for everything! Evangelia + Philippe

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eviathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Evangelia and Philippe!!
Hope you are fine!
thanks for your nice review. The fact that you had a nice time here, makes all of us happy!
Hope to see you again in the future!!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent a fantastic two weeks at Eleonas in August. We hired a car which is a must if you want to see more of the Island & alternated beach and pool days. On our pool days we ate in the taverna and the food was always excellent with service to match. The cottages are delightful and the setting is picture postcard. We had the most relaxing holiday imaginable with the most stressful part of our day being deciding what to have for dinner! Manolis and his staff are fantastically welcoming and friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Eleonas to anyone.

However, a word of warning...going back to work after holidaying at Eleonas is not for the feint hearted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaromanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good evening from Zaros!
thank you for sharing your memories of Eleonas!
I hope you felt like at home!You are always welcome!!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We drove to Hotel Eleonas directly after landing for our first visit to Crete. Our hosts immediately made us feel at home. They offered excellent suggestions for activities in the area -- we were particularly interested in visiting Minoan archaeological sites -- and gently introduced us to Cretan cuisine and even taught us a few essential phrases. Our comfortable cottage was beautifully decorated and offered stunning views of the hills around Zaros. After four days of the delicious breakfasts and dinners we are huge fans of Cretan cooking. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs make sure to choose a lower cottage.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi from zaros..
we are glad that you enjoyed both your stay and your meals in Eleonas!!
Hope you still remember the Cretan phrases!Seeing you again will make us happy!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 3 fantastic days in Eleonas at the end of a 2-week trip in Crete. It was a perfect place to relax... or almost, as the mountain hikes and other activities around are just too inviting!! Manolis and his team are just amazing, they make you feel like home, a true demonstration of Cretan hospitality!
The tavern was a discovery, and, in spite of the very positive reviews we read and pictures we had seen, we were really impressed by the cottage and the entire Eleonas area. Your little excursion from the cottage to the tavern for breakfast will be filled with the colours of trees, flowers and fruits, and the smell of the herbs in the gardens.
The cottages are built in such a way that each has its own views and total privacy, and they are decorated with a lot of taste.
ευχαριστίες Manolis and the entire team for creating and taking care of this charming place!! We hope to come back again : )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcrsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi!
It is so nice to let us know that you really enjoyed your stay in eleonas..
We keep trying to do our best to make you feel like at home!!
we also hope to see you again sometime!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and I just completed another great week-long stay at Eleonas! Even though we are repeat guests, we never cease to be amazed by the warmth, hospitality, and tranquility of this fine hotel. From Manolis to Monteu to Phillip, they are the most hospitable folks on earth. Needless to say, we'll be back, and highly recommend Eleonas to you and your family.

Room Tip: Send Manolis an email, before you book a room on the website. He'll let you know which cottage...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjo28114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

I feel happy to know that you had a nice time in our hotel again.. I have nothing to say but thank you and looking forward to welcome you again and again!!

Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
29.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
270 reviews
46.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
29.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
56.3 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
21.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Address: Main Street, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleonas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 20 rural lodges are situated on a peaceful and refreshing mountain slope, surrounded by olive trees and sweet-scented herbs, and are facing a magnificent view. This is the perfect getaway land. The beauty of the landscape makes it ideal for nature-lovers. Be it summer or winter, wild nature and its enchanting beauty will cast a spell on you. Experience moments of relaxation and tranquility, and admire nature in all its grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleonas Hotel Zaros
Eleonas Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing