We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hariklia Rent Rooms(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keramos(Zaros)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Idi Hotel(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$50
$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
543
23
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesrouvas gorgeolive grovesoutdoor gymthe half board optionprivate terraceminute driveperfect place to relaxeach eveningnearest beachwonderful weekfamily vacationheraklion airportpeace and quietrental caran amazing holidayrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 566 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We found Eleonas through this site, we were looking for a holiday with a difference, wanting to find the real Crete, far away from the tourist trail. Eleonas surpassed all our expectations, set high up in the mountains on a steep hillside, the setting is amazing, beautiful individual cottages stepped on the hillside, tastefully decorated with lots of wonderful "extras" including a spa bath, four poster bed, every facility possible including a lovely secluded patio area with table and deck chairs with a view that took your breath away.The lovely luxury touches included fresh fruit and flowers, wine and a well stocked mini bar in the fridge.
The staff are wonderful, full of advise on what to do and where to go, the restaurant is lovely and the food delicious. The pool area was lovely, operating an "honesty bar" policy and the tranquility is broken only by the sound of crickets, eagles screeching and soaring overhead and the gentle tinkling of the bells on the goats in the distance. The hill-side is steep and the facilities spread out over a vast area accessible only by lots (and lots) of steps but this only adds to the charm of the place. The bar is lovely and the reception area stocks a variety of local souvenirs to bring home, olive oil, locally made soaps, honey and best of all "Eleonas Raki", a Raki flavoured with honey which is truly delicious!!
We wanted to explore quiet secluded parts of Crete and Eleonas was a wonderful base from which to do this. We (sadly) had only booked one week and this was not enough and only offered us a brief insight into the true, traditional Crete but we did manage to pack quite a lot into our few days travelling through the mountains to amazing beaches such as Vathi and Kali Limones and visiting ancient Monasterys (they sell locally made wine, Raki and biscuits which are all delicious). The driving is fine, albeit we were glad we had hired a jeep with 4 wheel drive as although the locals described the roads as "no problem" and "very, very good" they were in the most part only one step up from a gravel track in most places!.
We are already planning a return trip to Eleonas, having been home only three days!! A wonderful place with wonderful people always on hand to help and make sure your holiday lives up to all your expectations.
See you next year Eleonas!!
Janet & Trevor, Manchester, UK

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Janet and Trevor..
I loved reading your description about Eleonas.. Thank you so much! I feel so happy hearing how much you liked it! You are always welcome!!! So, be back!
All the best!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

magnificent view,very friendly staff,nice restaurant -great flavours,traditional -style rooms-clean and convenient!!recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

thank you for recommending Eleonas to other people! hope you really enjoyed your stay!
You are always welcome here!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great food, location, lots to do- but the staff and owners make it even better. Nothing bad to say. Highly recommended. AW. Columbus, USA

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inthemix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi there!
Thank you.. We will keep trying to make your holidays special.. Wish you all the best!

Regards,
Manolis S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during our holiday in Crete and we wished we had stayed for at least another night.

On arrival in the beautiful resort we were greeted by the owner who drove us to our cottage which was the last one - number 21 (we had aching legs by the end of our stay but didnt mind).

Once inside i couldnt get over how nice it was, there was a double bed, TV, radio, fridge with mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, the bathroom was fab with a spa bath and great shower plus shower gel, soap etc. There was also complimentary fruit and raki which was a lovely touch.

We went for a walk around the resort which is made to feel like a mountain village and the views are stunning. The pool is excellent with a self service bar which works on trust, you take a drink and write down what youve had, you dont get that very often.

We had lunch at the restaurant, we wanted a sandwich and the owner said if you can wait 15 mins the bread will be ready, we ordered 2 greek salads and they brought out freshly baked bread with olives and yoghurt and then our salads came which were so tasty. After our salad we were brought fruit and honey raki which was still like fire water but had a lovely sweet after taste. The resturant is so pretty with lovely views of the mountains and the food is gorgeous and very reasonably priced.

We visited the lake while we were there which was very pretty, i would advise taking your car though as it is quite a walk up and down big hills.

I absolutely loved staying at Eleonas, it was such a fab experience and the best place i have stayed, so different. The staff were all lovely and made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a spa bath, it was fab!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Dub1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi!
Thank you for sharing your memories of Eleonas..
Hope you really enjoyed it and I wish that we will have the chance to meet each other again.
Take care!

Regards,
Manolis S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A fantastic find in the mountains! We stayed in one of the new cottages at the top (number 19) which completely exceeded our expectations and the the pics on the web. Manolis was a fantastic host and nothing was too much trouble. We spent five brilliant days starting off with a great and varied breakfast, walking through well signposted walks, finished off with some quiet pool time and good greek food coked by mama! A truly memorable time and superb value.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the huts, high up so only for the fit(!) but lovely cottage and great views
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for keeping Eleonas in your mind and sharing it!
Hope you really enjoyed it..
You will allways be welcome in Eleonas and "mama" is always willing to cook for you!
Thank you so much!

Take care!!

Regards,
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews