We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Cretan holiday”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We wanted a base to do some walking and wild flower spotting. Eleonas was perfect. We found the best walk for flowers in the district was right by the location itself. As a bonus the cottages are very comfortable, the staff are superb, the excellent food was local but diverse and the swimming pool refreshing. The pool is not heated which can be a bit bracing in April but there you go.

Room Tip: The choice is cottages rather than rooms. I can't think of a problem with any of them. If you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi there!
I hope that your stay was pleasant and your walkings remarkable!!
thanks for sharing your experience!

all the best..
Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

It is rare to find a place to stay that is both beautiful and fun for kids. There are spectacular views, fun activities for children, comfortable cottages, excellent food and friendly staff. It's tucked away in a mountain village and still close enough to the important sights of Crete. This will be a hotel that we will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

thank you for spending time to write about your holidays in our place! Hope you enjoyed it and hope to see you again sometime..
Wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Eleonas is a great place to stay. The romantic little houses have a great view, are perfectly cleaned and equipped with everything you need. Staff is extremely friendly and manager Manos is a super guy! He gives you perfect advice on trips to do in Crete. I can recommend Eleonas to everyone! Price - quality one of the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks for your review!!
Hope you had more than a nice time! Wish you all the best..
You are allways welcome in Eleonas!!

Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

There is nothing like Cretan hospitality. We got lost looking for a 15th-century monastery and a man, who invited us for coffee, recommended this hotel in the next town, Zaros. We went there without looking it up in our guide, and when we saw the site - and the rooms - we knew we had something special.

This is a hidden jewel, that requires you to drive through the mountains, but it is a little piece of paradise. I much prefered staying there than directly on the beach...let's face it, there's a lot more to Crete than spending your entire days tanning lazily on the beach.

This place allows you to feel lazy, to feel comfortable (the rooms are very luxurious, yet simple), to feel enriched (the monasteries around hide some very old frescoes).

The price for this place was totally affordable, and in fact cheaper than a crapy hotel in Chania. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the swimming pool allows you to relax before you get back on hiking and site visiting. The food is incredibly tasty and the service amazingly friendly. This is really our whole experience in Crete.

We walked in the surrounding mountains and visited the monasteries. The villages around also hide some special churches, and the archeaological sites are near-by. And yes, the beach not too far either. But who would want to go to the beach when they can stay here?

Perfect for families and couples and anyone who wants to avoid anoying crowds of tourists.

Room Tip: they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Reading such nice reviews makes us allways happy.
we are so glad that you liked our place and our village so much.
everything stays the same in here to welcome you again!!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This property was an amazing find, and we couldn't agree more with the praise in previous reviews.

My fiance and I were legally married prior to our arrival, and we thought that Eleonas would be an ideal place for a simple, quaint, vows ceremony. Manolis arranged for one staff member to "officiate" our ceremony and one to take pictures. We had the ceremony on the porch of our suite during sunset, and it was very special. Never did it seem like any trouble for Manolis to arrange.

During our stay, Manolis was always around the property, and he would always make sure that we were getting the most out of our time there. He recommended several scenic hikes and an open-air market in a neighboring town, both of which were thoroughly enjoyed.

The woman who seems to run the food service (oops I forgot her name) was also one of the reasons we enjoyed our time there so much. She always knew what was best on the menu each day, and she was a truly pleasant staff member. Also, because of the low season, the property was closed during the week. Before checking out on Monday, we had arranged to have breakfast. It turned out that we were the only guests on the property, and she prepared breakfast for only the two of us rather than shut down the kitchen. Quite exceptional service.

Eleonas is the perfect choice for those who are interested in nature, traditional Cretan cuisine, and having a truly unique experience. Manolis and his staff are dedicated to providing excellent service, and you can tell that they enjoy what they do. It shows in every aspect of the cottages.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind memories.
It was a bit cold but hope you really enjoyed it! we are so glad for making your holidays nice..
hope to see you again but not as a couple any more, but as a family!
(The name of the waitress is Mando!)

kind regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have spended a weekend oi february.It was our second time there, the first one was 2 years ago.I think that the best thing with everything is progress and elaionas has made enough within 2 years...The rooms are good, the quality of sleep really nice and they are being cleaned every day thing really difficult to find in this category of hotels. The staff and Manos are more than friendly and ready to give solutions in every problem.The sports activities are fantastic the soccer yard great and the best of the best the indoor and outdoor playgrounds that you can leave your child always with a girl that is there to watch them..The food can get better but is really fine...SO DONT MISS

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

we were collected by Manolis's brother as taxis were on strike and given cheese toasties with drinks around midnight as a welcome!! wonderful setting took family and stayed for 10 nights hired car which Manolis took me to collect (nothing seemed too much trouble for this guy!!)the room was quite basic loft style but very clean and very comfortable beds, the pool was kept clean, drinks and food were all very reasonably priced, the temperatures were very pleasant in Zaros but extremely hot at beach (was August!), had a great cookery lesson with Manolis's mother, would definitely recommend and will return,(even our 22 yr old son enjoyed the break!!!)
apologies for taking so long to write review Manolis but thankyou to you and your family for all your wonderful hospitality
Tim Linda and Family

Room Tip: the hill is a bit on the steep side to the cottages so ask to be nearer pool/bar, I definitely will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim_linda_molli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonaszaros, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Tim and Linda!!
you didn't have to apologize for taking so long to write a review, cause as you can see it also took me long to thank you..
So, Thank you for your compliments!
We are so glad that you and your family had such a nice time in Eleonas!!
You are always welcome!!!

Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
56.5 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
46.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
29.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
658 reviews
21.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
25.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Address: Main Street, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Zaros
Price Range: $138 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleonas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 20 rural lodges are situated on a peaceful and refreshing mountain slope, surrounded by olive trees and sweet-scented herbs, and are facing a magnificent view. This is the perfect getaway land. The beauty of the landscape makes it ideal for nature-lovers. Be it summer or winter, wild nature and its enchanting beauty will cast a spell on you. Experience moments of relaxation and tranquility, and admire nature in all its grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleonas Hotel Zaros
Eleonas Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing