We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious appartments run by very helpful family”
Review of Nana Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nana Apartments
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived late at night and quite hungry so they offered us their own dinner:) Perfect breakfast, place kids friendly with cats and hens to feed, great area for hiking. Peaceful location not on the main street, but 5 min. walk to the center with taverna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikołaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Nana Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed only one night, and chose Nana apartments as other hotels close by were full - but thankfully so.
We were greeted warmly by Dimitris and his mother who were friendly but not overbearingly so.
The houses are well appointed and designed with a vista over the town.
A short walk there are a few local tavernas and a wonderful fish restaurant up the hill which was another absolute local find.
Internet worked well - tv supplied, no English channels but we didn't come to the countryside to watch tv.
Echoing other sentiments here, the breakfast is the best in Crete.
We couldn't fault anything - it was all we could ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed @ Nana's Apartments for one night this August and really enjoyed it. The familiar atmosphere, nice, big and clean rooms with perfect view across the Zaros village and the subsequent valley, as well as the phenomenal breakfast made this un unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We discovered Nana Apartments when looking on the internet for accommodation in Zaros. Nothing could have prepared us for such a lovely surprise. We cannot praise too highly the wonderful hospitality of our hosts at Nana Apartments. We were given the warmest possible welcome by the marvellous Stefanakis family. We were very grateful for the care and friendship that they gave us. Our time was limited − we had only booked for four days − and would have loved to stay longer with them.

Our apartment itself was spacious (with room at least for two couples or a family of four), well built, well furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We could have prepared our own food in the apartment, but we were so glad that we chose instead to have the breakfasts and evening meals provided by the family. The quality of the food was just amazing and among the finest traditional food we have experienced in a decade of visiting Crete (and often more than we could eat !).

Our hosts were able to guide us in our travels in the area. They, themselves, are part of the community and are able to help guests enjoy the richness of local life and culture in and around Zaros. We give our hosts, the Stefanakis family, and Nana apartments the highest recommendation. We hope that other people can share our wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you ever stay at Nana's Apartments in Zaros, you are bound to come back. If you are visiting in summer, you will enjoy the view and the breeze, from a location overlooking Zaros. If you are visiting in winter, you will enjoy a cozy space and warmth a typical hotel cannot provide. You can set the room temperature of the apartment yourself.

The warmth in the room fades away compared to the warmth you will experience once you meet Nana and Dimitris. They offer you the kind of hospitality that is very much lacking in most touristic places across Greece. Hospitality is the norm in Zaros, not the exception, and Nana's Apartments is full of it. You will also enjoy the attention to detail in the rooms and in the entire setting, as well as the delicious breakfast. No need to worry about lunch or dinner either. The apartments have a kitchenette. Better yet, Vegera Restaurant is nearby, where excellent food is served by Vivi - an excellent cook and a master of hospitality.

If you would like to com

Room Tip: All apartments are very comfortable: No need to worry about choosing rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Degirmencioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really wished we could extend our stay at the Nana Apartments! We came to visit the local gorge, lake Votomos, and the fish farm and only spent one night. Everyone in our family of 5 unanimously votes this as the best place we gave ever stayed at in Crete. Dimitris Stefanakis came down to meet us at the central square of Zaros village when we could not find our way to the apartments. We immediately felt we were in good hands. The owners were so warm and helpful; a couple of extra kitchen items we asked for were provided immediately, as well as the advice on how to get to the places we wanted to visit.
The apartment complex is deliciously new, clean, and fresh, very tastefully designed and furnished to preserve the charm of a traditional house while providing the pleasant comfort of a modern home. We loved the wooden staircase and the wooden beams of the ceiling! And I can't praise enough the space it offers. Those of you who have been unfortunate to spend your vacation crammed into tiny little rooms will feel the difference here at Nana Apartments. There was more than enough space, both inside and on the terraces, for two adults and three very active children. Plenty of windows with great views onto the mountains and the village. The beds are large and comfortable, and the bedding is of excellent quality. The apartment was very clean and tidy, and warm (we did not feel cold in mid-November and did not use any heating). Five stars! We would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goosenizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We came to walk the local gorge and needed some where to stay for a couple of nights. We just followed the signs from the main street which lead us up the hill to the apartments. They are lovely. We booked in for 2 nights but are still here for a third night. There are only two of us but the apartment we are in, number 2, sleeps four people. There is a queen size bed downstairs and another queen size bed upstairs. The linen on the beds is top quality, as are the furnishings, and the towels are lovely and fluffy. There is plenty of space in the living room to spread out. There are 2 airconditioners, one upstairs and one in the living room. There are heaters, but we didn't need to use them in September. There is a small kitchen with a fridge if you want to eat in. The price included breakfast which was served on the terrace - we couldn't eat it all - it was delicious. We needed some information about walks in the area and were handed a great topographic map 1:25,000 which we could keep. The owner also rang a friend of his to get some advice for us about the roads in the area. We didn't eat lunch or dinner here but it is available. Others we spoke to had dinner at Nana's and said the food was delicious. We would recommend the apartments to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keramos
Hotel Keramos
#2 of 3 in Zaros
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Idi Hotel
Idi Hotel
#3 of 3 in Zaros
88 reviews
33.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eleonas
Eleonas
#1 of 3 in Zaros
519 reviews
31.3 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
29.9 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Apartments

Address: 7 E. Karpuzaki, Zaros, Crete 700 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Zaros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zaros
Price Range: $54 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nana Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nana Apartments are ideally located in a green valley amidst the beautiful mountain surroundings around Zaros village in Crete, which is at an altitude of 340 metres. The Zaros Nana Apartments are the perfect base to explore this lovely area. The charming apartments offer privacy and independence. Each includes a spacious seating area and a fully equipped kitchen. You can enjoy Cretan breakfast which consists of fresh organic produce including eggs, milk, pure olive oil, local herb tea, honey and freshly baked bread. Many stunning hiking and walking routes are offered. Visit the tranquil lake in Votomos just 1 km outside Zaros, and go further, to the canyon and monastery. Enjoy access to the E4 European Walking Path. Take the time to relax with the views from the balcony of the room. Write home about it using the free Wi-Fi internet access. Move to the Nana restaurant for delicious food that will satisfy any appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Nana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Apartments Zaros, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing