We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pitza”

The Coppice at Lanner
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lanner
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coppice at Lanner was bought by the Keltek Cornish Brewery in January 2013 and 12 months later it has been transformed. Fitting of new roofs, a complete programme of redecoration, a brand new cellar and numerous changes to the interior of the building including installation of wood burning fires and the addition of a 4 barrel real ale stillage at the main bar (with three extra hand pulls for even more real ales) mean that the pub can now offer up to 11 real ales and ciders at any one time. A new menu released in November 2013 has evolved the already high standard of cuisine with unique and interesting signature dishes including specialist grills, fish and ethnic dishes inspired from around the world. In recognition of "the good old days" of the 1960s the pub menu now also features generously portioned, traditional basket meals (but with a 21st century menu selection) which are a very cost effective way of feeding larger families on a budget. The brewery is about 5 minutes' drive away from the pub so no beer miles! The Coppice at Lanner has a very large family bar and a lounge bar (called George's Bar) as well as a separate sports bar with two pool tables and darts as well as BT Sport on a large screen. The pub is very family friendly with large gardens, open air kiddies' adventure playground, outside dining when weather permits and baby changing facilities with all the necessary accessories. Special events such as weddings, business meetings and birthday parties can be booked to make use of the ample facilities at The Coppice.
Redruth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Pitza”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I live in Lanner and decided to give the first Pitza night a try, and what a good choice it was the Pitza was really good and plenty for two, it came would a good sized bowl of chips. With a couple of beers and wine it was a good way to wind down on a Friday. Nice staff as well.
We were quite impressed with the large garden at the front, with a play area for the kids which can be seen from the terrace,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    26
    11
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday roast”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my family on Sunday 21st April, unfortunately the carvery was not up and running due to refurbishment. However that did not effect my meal, the plated roast was hot, tasty, there was a variety of veg and a good portion! The staff were friendly and apologised for the absence of the carvery. I will definitely be returning and can't wait for the carvery to be running! Well done new management and new chef! Previous comment below me I do not understand!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cc995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartH475, Manager at The Coppice at Lanner, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and your understanding. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit and are happy to tell us and the tripadvisor community. Over the past decade or so The Coppice Inn has gone from being a shining star in the community to a tragically run down establishment. Some folks won’t be able to grasp the magnitude of the task we have undertaken since buying the pub around 12 weeks ago - working to refurbish the building whilst, at the same time, trying to turn the pub around. We, like you, are troubled by the previous post especially in the light of the fact that other customers that day seemed to be pleased with the efforts of the team. Clearly we failed to meet the gentleman’s expectations and the post seems to be designed to exact revenge for a disappointing experience in which case it was successful – the team was very upset to know someone was so displeased. It’s nice for them to know that, having worked so hard on the day, they also had happy customers too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Roast dinner was the worst food I had ever had.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Sunday carving was atrocious . £9.95 for the worst thing on a plate. Was hoping that the new chef would pull this place up. Massive Fail. Would waste you time or money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartH475, Manager at The Coppice at Lanner, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We apologise that the closure for refurbishment of the carvery and main restaurant area meant you had to be served by our staff in the saloon bar rather than selecting from the main carvery station and that you didn't enjoy it. It's the first time the building has seen any form of redecoration in over a decade and it's been quite a challenge - the new restaurant roof was just the start!. No other excuses, 'though. As we say in the introduction to the pub the new menu will go live in about a week's time as the refurbishment of the restaurant should by then, thankfully, be completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“SUNDAY DINNER”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife got home from visiting up country last Sunday, 14th April, as we couldn't be bothered to cook we decided to go down the pub for dinner.
We took the dog with us, that was his walk taken care of as well, and found our selves a seat in the bar and ordered our drinks.
Next step, carvery, and very nice it was too.
Two meats this week, pork and beef, the beef was just how I like it.
Great choice of veg as well including cooked red cabbage, yummy yummy, I love cooked red cabbage and where else do you get it.
Well done all concerned, good service, good meal, good afternoon, happy days

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

8 of us enjoyed a lovely well cooked meal on the 28th March.
Presentation was excellent as was the food.
I requested a table in the lounge bar and this was catered for.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble,
Now looking forward to trying the Carvery whch I have been told is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pastyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coppice at Lanner also viewed

 
Scorrier, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Coppice at Lanner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing