We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic porridge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broomfield House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Earlston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occiasions for work and have always found the owners to be friendly and accomodating. I would arrive sometimes quite late after a long day at work and looked forwards to a comfortable bed and a warm welcome. The breakfast was lovely and I would recommend the porridge, which is better than other local B&Bs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girl_friday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I had been recommended Broomfield House B & B by friends of ours who travelled to The Scottish Borders on a few occasions. I must say that we were delighted with the recommendation and we have not hesitated to recommend this B & B to others.
We requested a ground floor room and, on arrival, we were shown into Room 5 which is a double room, en suite with shower, WC and hand-basin. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and, despite the fact that there was a hospitality tray with tea and coffee-making facilities in the room, we were offered tea and coffee by the owners as well. We found the room to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It was very warm and cosy with the additional oil heater for extra warmth and so we found that the extra blankets available were not necessary. Reading an earlier comment, improvements must have been made to this room as we found it well-lit with three pictures of the area in the room as well.
In the morning, we were again greeted very warmly. We both enjoyed a very tasty full cooked breakfast.
All in all, our three hosts went far beyond the call of duty to make us feel very welcome and gave us a most enjoyable stay. I would agree with the following comment made in their guest book as I feel that it is very apt for this B&B.
“How can you improve on perfection?”

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_B671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If a B&B was to be only judged on the welcome and helpfulness of its owners this would be a five star review. We were met and greeted like long lost friends and they could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. We were given tea and coffee on arrival and fresh milk with the tea and coffee in the room.
However, for us, the room we stayed in [Room 5 on the ground floor] was not up to expectations. It is an odd shaped room with only a very small window looking to the car park at the back and the first impression is that it is quite dingy. It was nevertheless quiet and spotlessly clean and it is the room's shape which gives the gloomy impression. Maybe some more pictures on the walls would have helped to make it more inviting. The bed, with quite a firm mattress, was next to the door so one side had only a small shelf and there was no space for a bedside table on the other. The shower [efficient with plenty of hot water] was quite small and had a large grab rail installed which made it even more cramped. The room was not that warm but there was an additional heater available which helped to make it more comfortable.
Breakfast was good but not outstanding and we would prefer to choose from the menu in the morning rather than the night before.
This is only our view of the room we occupied and as other reviews have been far more favourable [and we have not seen any of the other rooms] this should perhaps be taken more as an 'ask for a different room tip' as the service and helpfulness of the owners was exemplary.

Room Tip: Not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stuart, Sylvia and Tracy were lovely hosts for our too-brief stay. Comfortable rooms, a nice variety for breakfast, and a great location. We had no trouble with the wifi signal. The packed lunch was lovely, too.

We hope to go back soon and use the Broomfield House as a base to further explore the Borders.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The first thing that hit me at Broomfield House was the welcome: everyone came out and shook my hand. Smiling, warm and cheery. I immediately felt welcome and at ease. The house and rooms are immaculate, and you are looked-after beyond compare. Despite there being tea & coffee facilities in the rooms, I was asked if I wanted a coffee on arriving.

Breakfast was very good, excellent coffee too. And again - everyone was solicitous, cheerful and warm.

It says a lot for a place when it's recommended - and I stayed at Broomfield House on the recommendation of a friend; I shall most certainly be recommending it to others.

In the interest of balance, if I had to make a negative, it's that the wifi signal was so weak as to keep disappearing, but if that's the biggest problem, then no worries!

A huge thanks to the family-run Broomfield House for a fantastic stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyAggeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Immaculate, tasteful B&B, excellent breakfasts,wonderfully warm hospitable hosts.Nice river walk just out front, lovely area with attractions in all directions,would return tomorrow!
Thankyou Stuart,Sylvia, and Tracy.
Paul Carrol, Timaru, NZ

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our introduction to B & B's certainly set the bar high for any that follow. Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms (ours had an ensuite). Food excellent and the service was superb. Advice on local area greatly enhanced our sightseeing. The hosts were absolutely lovely...warm, friendly, caring and supportive. Only con was that the wifi signal seemed weak in our rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broomfield House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomfield House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Thorn Street, Earlston TD4 6DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Earlston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Earlston
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broomfield House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing