We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service in a great B&B”
Review of Huntlywood Granary

Huntlywood Granary
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huntlywood Granary
Ranked #3 of 4 Earlston B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service in a great B&B”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our time there. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. The whole B&B is very clean and has a warm feel to it. Tasty hot breakfasts were a bonus and perfect for the colder Scottish weather. Great value for money!

Thanks,
Darren and Jara

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I came to the Scottish borders not knowing anything about the area. Lesley was so typical of borders people, warm welcoming, friendly, and so helpful. My wife, I am delighted to say was working, and I had the time to go walking, it is the most beautiful area, do not miss out folks! The only thing the breakfast is so big, plan an extra 5K on your walk. If you finish breakfast , well done! We were nearly stupid enough to listen to some of the reviews, not sure what is going on there! but it is the most wonderful location and B&B we have ever stayed in, and my job is living away from home to us this was home, well done and thankyou so much Lesley. Laura and I can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Do not go. Its not good. Take your rubber gloves and clean the bath ( you will be told to do so). Owner does not like FAT PEOPLE. Furniture all over the place. Lots of false reviews I think!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, take a Padlock with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The granary is a lovely home but not suitable for children, there are ornaments everywhere, I counted 25 on one table, I was on edge the whole evening. It is very much a home with rooms, so much so that during breakfast we had to sit and listen to the owners telephone conversations. The owner had an appointment in the morning so we knew we had to leave. Also some sites state that there are TVs in the rooms; there are not. Not for us but I note that a lot of reviews are good. we also found that the owner spoke about other guests. Not a relaxing night away at all!!

Room Tip: We went to Melrose for dinner which was lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssimpson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have looked at the other reviews which are good and am confused as to actually who they meet at the door as we did not feel welcome enough to sit in the living area or garden as it all seemed so precious. We found Lesley to be charming at first but then the comments about the other guests were unwelcome, the swearing about the garage she was using was uncalled for and her comments about a certain religious group were as well, especially when she did not know us.
The room was immaculate (if a little cluttered), but black lampshades meant you could not read, there was no lock on the bedroom door. No TV in the room meant that you would have to go to the living room but we felt uncomfortable after the breakfast tirade so we did not venture down.
Thankfully there is Hadrian's Wall, Corrbridge etc not too far away so we made our own amusements and we made sure that we returned late to the room. We did not even stay for our breakfast as we did not want to have the challenge again..
The one thing that was absolutely unbelievable were the telephone calls in the middle of the night that were dealt with in the hall at the top of her voice. 11 pm and 1.10am unacceptable. Why not take the phone into your living area/bedroom at night?.
Having to share the bathroom was okay, but it took a while to get organised as there was no shower and a bath takes an age to fill. I hesitated to write this review but I feel that if I had read the other reviews before I had gone, then I would not have booked in the first place. I will return to the area, but not this B and B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mouserstrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

my partner and I spent our anniversary weekend at Huntlywood Granary and I have to say it was the best anniversary we'd ever had!! We stay in the city so it was a lovely country break for us. We went out for dinner on the friday night in Melrose, which was lovely, but we spent our saturday night in the gorgeous downstairs living room and got a take away which lesley was more than happy for us to do! The house is absolutely beautiful! very charming and extremely clean! the breakfasts were both 5 star and more than enough! Thanks Lesley! We'll be coming back next year for our anniversary!

Room Tip: The luxury room is well worth the money! Beautiful big room with gorgeous en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I would no return. There were lots of things everywhere and no room to leave your own things. We feel like a prisioners in a tiny room, cosy but unconfortable and we have to share the bathroom with other two couples. The man is quite friendly but the woman is a little bit rude and you not dare to use the beautiful garden or the living room, even that they say that you can. Very tasty breakfast, very clean, confortable double bed and a beautiful house, but...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earlston
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 4 in Earlston
109 reviews
18.1 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
4.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#2 of 4 in Earlston
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntlywood Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntlywood Granary

Property: Huntlywood Granary
Address: 3 Nether Huntlywood, Earlston TD4 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Earlston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Earlston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Huntlywood Granary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntlywood Granary Hotel Earlston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing