We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of classicalView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dana Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
classicalView
Ranked #2 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this wonderful place by chance - and TripAdvisor. Liking the look of Dana Bay, we looked up TA and saw it was well rated. No wonder,because we thought it was the best of all the lovely South African B&Bs we stayed at. Delightful hosts, superb rooms and a wonderful view. Plus an excellent arrangement whereby guests can look through several menus for Mossel Bay restaurants, make a choice, and be collected and deliverered home as part of the deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks,

Gottfried, Barolo, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 426 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just two nights as it had been recommended to us by other travellers. What a wonderful place... Our room was on the second floor and we spent the evening on the balcony listening to the waves. There is a splendid view from this property and everything is immaculate. The proprietors Andrea and Gottfried just couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful - giving us a recommendation for a one-day safari which was another great experience. Breakfast was prepared by them personally and was so fresh and tasty. All in all a most enjoyable stay. We would be very happy to recommend a few nights here for anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEdgar555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013
Google Translation

Thanks,

Gottfried

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for high quality accommodation with a beautiful view over de Indian Ocean, this is the place to stay. The Classical View guest house in Dana Bay is a beautiful guesthouse, well maintained and decorated. The owners provide more than good service and the wonderful breakfast was served with a nice sense of humour. We especially enjoyed the quiet environment and the possibilty to have an early morning beach walk. Looking for more urban activity: Mossel Bay is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013
Google Translation

Danke, Gottfried

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful views, well equipped and decorated rooms, comfortable, good wifi, great breakfasts - highly recommended. Easy to find due to good communication and instructions from the owners. Very close to Mossel Bay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lympip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013
Google Translation

Thanks, Gottfried

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The owners Gottfried and Andrea are the perfect hosts at their beautiful seaside house, with a warm welcome from their friendly dog Barolo! The rooms were beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Our room had a balcony with a gorgeous view of Dana Bay, a huge bathroom, and plenty of room to spread out. Gottfried went out of his way to give us restaurant recommendations and also tell us about the many things to do in Mossel Bay. The breakfast was delicious, with home-made granola in a martini glass, a meat and cheese platter, and freshly prepared scrambled eggs. The common areas of the house were beautiful, and the outside deck and pool area was stunning. Our only regret was not being able to stay at least 2-3 nights longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The classicalView Guest House is not the easiest place to find (follow the detailed instructions carefully!), but once found it proved to be a real gem. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed the very comfortable accommodation, the beautiful views over the Indian Ocean and the warm hospitality shown by the owners, Andrea and Gottfried. Gottfried’s cordon bleu breakfasts were a delight, and in the evenings we were able to sample the food and wine offered by some excellent restaurants in nearby Mossel Bay with a clear conscience (at least as far as driving was concerned!) thanks to the free taxi service provided by those establishments. We are already looking forward to returning to South Africa and to the classicalView sometime in the not-too-distant future to experience the whale-watching season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We decided to see a bit more of the lesser known areas around Mossel Bay and were lucky enough to stay at Classical View Guest House in Dana Bay. It ticked all the boxes - wonderful position with sea views stretching for miles, comfortable luxurious accommodation and a great breakfast. We sat for long spells on the balcony being entertained by the amazing bird life in the garden. Bonus was several schools of dolphin surfing past.
Our hosts Andrea and Gottfried were very welcoming and helpful, even organising a shuttle service to take us to a restaurant in Mossel Bay. In every respect, a very happy experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanandAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
377 reviews
23.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
5.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#2 of 55 in Mossel Bay
307 reviews
5.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 55 in Mossel Bay
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to classicalView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about classicalView

Address: 32 P. Mellifera Street | Mossel Bay, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — classicalView 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classicalView is the ideal location for your stay on the Garden Route, regardless whether you prefer peace and relaxation or want to see the sights the region has to offer. Enjoy our pool and sunbathing area and the magnificent view over the ocean. Start your day with an unhurried, wholesome and delicious breakfast on the patio or dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
ClassicalView Dana Bay, Mossel Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing