We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of classicalView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dana Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
classicalView
Ranked #1 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just two nights as it had been recommended to us by other travellers. What a wonderful place... Our room was on the second floor and we spent the evening on the balcony listening to the waves. There is a splendid view from this property and everything is immaculate. The proprietors Andrea and Gottfried just couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful - giving us a recommendation for a one-day safari which was another great experience. Breakfast was prepared by them personally and was so fresh and tasty. All in all a most enjoyable stay. We would be very happy to recommend a few nights here for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEdgar555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks,

Gottfried
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
286
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for high quality accommodation with a beautiful view over de Indian Ocean, this is the place to stay. The Classical View guest house in Dana Bay is a beautiful guesthouse, well maintained and decorated. The owners provide more than good service and the wonderful breakfast was served with a nice sense of humour. We especially enjoyed the quiet environment and the possibilty to have an early morning beach walk. Looking for more urban activity: Mossel Bay is just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Google Translation
Danke, Gottfried
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful views, well equipped and decorated rooms, comfortable, good wifi, great breakfasts - highly recommended. Easy to find due to good communication and instructions from the owners. Very close to Mossel Bay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lympip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks, Gottfried
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The owners Gottfried and Andrea are the perfect hosts at their beautiful seaside house, with a warm welcome from their friendly dog Barolo! The rooms were beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Our room had a balcony with a gorgeous view of Dana Bay, a huge bathroom, and plenty of room to spread out. Gottfried went out of his way to give us restaurant recommendations and also tell us about the many things to do in Mossel Bay. The breakfast was delicious, with home-made granola in a martini glass, a meat and cheese platter, and freshly prepared scrambled eggs. The common areas of the house were beautiful, and the outside deck and pool area was stunning. Our only regret was not being able to stay at least 2-3 nights longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The classicalView Guest House is not the easiest place to find (follow the detailed instructions carefully!), but once found it proved to be a real gem. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed the very comfortable accommodation, the beautiful views over the Indian Ocean and the warm hospitality shown by the owners, Andrea and Gottfried. Gottfried’s cordon bleu breakfasts were a delight, and in the evenings we were able to sample the food and wine offered by some excellent restaurants in nearby Mossel Bay with a clear conscience (at least as far as driving was concerned!) thanks to the free taxi service provided by those establishments. We are already looking forward to returning to South Africa and to the classicalView sometime in the not-too-distant future to experience the whale-watching season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We decided to see a bit more of the lesser known areas around Mossel Bay and were lucky enough to stay at Classical View Guest House in Dana Bay. It ticked all the boxes - wonderful position with sea views stretching for miles, comfortable luxurious accommodation and a great breakfast. We sat for long spells on the balcony being entertained by the amazing bird life in the garden. Bonus was several schools of dolphin surfing past.
Our hosts Andrea and Gottfried were very welcoming and helpful, even organising a shuttle service to take us to a restaurant in Mossel Bay. In every respect, a very happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stopped here only to cage dive in Mossel Bay (which was excellent) but wouldn't recommend staying in Dana Bay (or Mossel Bay): bit of a warren with little else to make it worth visiting, given that beaches are omnipresent along the coastline. The guesthouse was average overall. Double rooms shouldn't be advertised as such when it's actually 2 single beds: that's a twin room with no gap between the beds. Big difference. Would that make a double with a single added to it a king??
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dana Bay is a small, charming village situated a few kilometers from the center of Mossel Bay in a nature reserve and is not as suggested “a bit of a warren with little else to make it worth visiting”. Dana Bay does in fact have a couple of pub/restaurants that are worth a visit as well as having two of the most magnificent beaches where one can walk safely for miles. If one is looking for bright lights and night life maybe Ibiza would be a better choice, but for people looking for a safe, idyllic, peaceful place to stay there is no hesitation in recommending Dana Bay.

I would also like to dispute the comment “wouldn't recommend staying in Dana Bay (or Mossel Bay):” This review makes Mossel Bay sound like some remote back-water in the middle of nowhere where there is absolutely nothing to do, but go cage diving ( which is a great experience ! ). There are in fact many things one can do as a tourist. For the sporty there’s Scuba diving, rock climbing, abseiling, dune riding, sand boarding and horsebackriding to mention just a few.
If you are into culture there are two most interesting museums and three game parks with organized game drives.
A big cat zoo can be seen nearby, the Jukani, and you can take a walk with lions up close and personal or take a three day hike on the Oystercatcher trail, you can even view the countryside from the air on one of the many helicopter flights organized from Mossel Bay. Take a trip around Seal Island. Hire a yacht or high speed wave rider or take a leisurely sunset cruise. Deep sea fishing for those who want, as well as whale watching from June to October. You can go mountain biking, surfing, play badminton, tennis or bowls, again, just to mention a few. For the golf enthusiast there are two famous eighteen hole golf courses and all but a short drive from Dana Bay. Most certainly worth recommending. And if that still is not enough to experience, there is a casino close by and the Barnyard Theatre.

I get the feeling that people who write this sort of review have not done their homework and therefore are not aware of the possibilities on offer. No wonder that they are disappointed, but grow up, do your research and stop gripping about the Mossel Bay area, because it has so much to offer.

And the room- or bed situation in the classicalView is: Guests who stay only one night are usually hosted in one of our downstairs rooms with twin beds as this saves them the trouble of carrying heavy luggage to the first floor for such a short stay. However, should any guest indicate to us that they are dissatisfied with the bed arrangements in their room we will do all we can to offer them an alternative room more suited to their taste, which is available on the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
5.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 52 in Mossel Bay
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to classicalView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about classicalView

Property: classicalView
Address: 32 P. Mellifera Street | Mossel Bay, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — classicalView 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classicalView is the ideal location for your stay on the Garden Route, regardless whether you prefer peace and relaxation or want to see the sights the region has to offer. Enjoy our pool and sunbathing area and the magnificent view over the ocean. Start your day with an unhurried, wholesome and delicious breakfast on the patio or dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
ClassicalView Dana Bay, Mossel Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing