We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of classicalView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dana Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
classicalView
Ranked #1 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This B&B is located in Dana Bay. By car is takes you about 15 to reach Mossel Bay centre and its sights and restaurants. Don't be put off by this, as Classical View is the perfect place to stay. It has a wonderful ("classic") view over the ocean. The surroundings are very quiet and for the best restaurants in town, there is a free shuttle service available. Parking is off street right in front of the house.

We stayed in the Mozart Room on the ground floor. It's a very large room with all the amenities you need as minibar, coffee and tea making facilities, tv, nice bathroom (hairdryer in place) and a heater for cold evenings. For the especially freezing nights in winter they even have electrical underblankets in the bed. I loved it! Everything is perfectly decorated and very well cared for.
Breakfast is a treat. Juice, fruit salad, toast, eggs and Andrea's home made peach jam and cake makes it a true experience. It keeps you going for hours.

Andrea and Gottfried made us feel very welcome and gave us some options for dinner as well as making the reservations for both restaurant and shuttle service. They will help where they can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
286
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is more than a guest house, Andrea & Gottfried (and Barolo, their lovely dog) are very welcoming and warming people and their home made breakfast made us feeling at home. You can have your own privacy, but if you want a chat here they are. Fantastic view of the Ocean and the whales both from our private deck and from the patio.
Unfortunately we cannot use the swimming pool because it was freezing, but i am sure in warm days it makes your stay perfect.
It is located in Dana Bay, 10 minutes drive from central Mossel Bay. Dana Bay is a nice residential area, without all those electrical fancy you might find in other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _shelley_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

When Andrea opened the front doors to welcome us in we were taken aback by the amazing open ocean views from the living room and terrace. We were even more delighted to discover that we had the same views from our room and patio and, from what we understood, all the rooms at this lovely B&B have the same views so you can't really go wrong with any of them. We had the pleasure of staying in the Strauss room and it was very comfortable, clean, neat, and was equipped with most amenities you would need.

Breakfast the next morning was beyond our expectations. Not being a morning person, I would have been groggy that early in the morning but Andrea and Gottfried put together a bountiful meal of freshly squeezed fruit juice, fresh fruit salad, homemade muesli, cake, eggs, etc. It was a better breakfast than we've had in many small hotels.

Our only regret during our stay was not being there when it is warm to take advantage of that nice pool overlooking the ocean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at ClassicalView for two nights during our honeymoon.
Great location with breathtaking views over the beach and ocean.
Rooms are clean and modern.
Breakfast was very good!
The owners are very friendly and eager to assist wherever possible.
Can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1231231231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Amazing view, very peaceful. Beautiful property. Beethoven room is beautiful and spacious, Gottfried and Andrea offered an unique and very tasty breakfast each morning. The arranged shuttle service to dinner was nice and reservations was made for us at a restaurant.
Some dissapointments:
In our bathroom, the shower head was broken and the bath towels were small and smelled moldy. Felt a bit uncomfortable when hosts and other guests were talking in their language while we were sitting in on the conversation. Overall we did not feel very welcome with these hosts.

Room Tip: Beethoven room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barolobub, Owner at classicalView, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Tanya,
we thank you for your review and want to answer to your disappointments:
It would have been so easy to exchange the shower head, we always have some in stock - why didn't you tell us ?
In our bathrooms we provide 2 towels per guest. 2 beachtowels, size 125 cm x 65 cm in an extra basket, 1 handtowel, size 85 cm x 50 cm, 1 bathtowel, size 125 cm x 65 cm and in addition to that 1 bath mat, size 70 cm x 50 cm and 1 washcloth, which is required by the star grading council. Maybe you were using the handtowel or the shower mat ?
It might have been a bit impolite not to involve you in the conversation, but having Austrian guests staying with us after a very long time again, we felt to talk to them in our language, which is quite understandable for us.
We are happy, that you liked our place, the view, the property, the beautiful and spacious room and our breakfast with a lot of homemade dishes.
Wishing you all the best
Andrea and Gottfried
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at ClassicalView. We were warmly received and orientated. Our room was prepared immaculately and the views, from our room, of the ocean and beach front were simply amazing. Gottfried and Andrea were simply great as hosts and very helpful with regards to things to do around the area, breakfast was constantly of high quality and very gratifying. Will highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keitumetse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

What a great place to stay if you doing the Garden Route!
Classical View is a modern, clean, friendly place. The owners are friendly and they help you in planning your journey. The view is amazing. The breakfast was excellent!
They indicate us a great restaurant and helped us booking the Lion Walk.
Mossel Bay has not many things to see, so we were happy to stay at Classical View (near Mossel Bay) and not really direct in Mossel Bay.
It was a good decision from us.
If you go again to that area, we would stay without any hesitation at the Classical View.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
5.9 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to classicalView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about classicalView

Property: classicalView
Address: 32 P. Mellifera Street | Mossel Bay, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — classicalView 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classicalView is the ideal location for your stay on the Garden Route, regardless whether you prefer peace and relaxation or want to see the sights the region has to offer. Enjoy our pool and sunbathing area and the magnificent view over the ocean. Start your day with an unhurried, wholesome and delicious breakfast on the patio or dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
ClassicalView Dana Bay, Mossel Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing