We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money family picnic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karnala
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a celebration of some of the success my wife had recently and we wanted to throw a party to all our family members. We wanted to do something differnt thant just dining out. We checked out multiple options of resorts for a day picnic around Mumbai and soon zeroed in on Panoramic resorts Karnala.
Its around 60 km from Mumbai and a decent resort for a day picnic.with around 450 Rs per person inclusive of BF,lunch and high tea and the recreation it was the best deal we had in our hands. We were member of Pancard clubs and hence got the deal very cheap.
We reached there around 11 AM we had batata wada,upma, poha on offer for breakfast.
After breakfast we enjoyed the waterpark. Waterpark is very small and has limited rides. If waterpark is the only thing you want to enjoy then this resort is not the right place.
The adventure sports like burma bridge, river(swimming pool) crossing, free fall etc. were a bonus and enjoyable.Lunch spread was good and tasty. Especially chicken was yummy. They had 2 deserts on the buffet spread and both were amazing.
To our surprise they served pav bhaji with high tea, we could not eat it due to being full but it smelled very good.
Go there if you want to enjoy one day trip with family. Not worth for couples and overnite stays are a complete waste.

Room Tip: dont go for a night stay. Not worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

For all the promises the website offers, and the tributes that other (liberal?) guests have provided, very few are delivered (and that too in spots).
Saying you enjoyed this place on a weekend with your family is like saying you enjoyed a fall from a tree because you broke only 2 bones when others broke 6.
I travelled here with 7 other families (4 with kids) and found it just bearable only because we had no other option in the immediate vicinity / time.

SERVICE:
One word to describe - Understaffed.
The resort is spread out over a very large area. The support staff have to walk to individual cottages and can take a long time. They then go back to the central location to get their next orders/calls.
Service in this resort is like a see-saw. At times you are happy with the attention to you. To be disappointed soon after.
There is a rigid security check at the gate to filter out the one-dayers from the over-nighters. About 4 security guards at the main gate. Reception tries to be helpful - but the crowd overwhelms them. Check ins and check outs are time consuming as multiple groups are served by 3/4 reception staff.
Housekeeping and room service staff is also limited. They take a long time to come and deliver any orders.
Electrical maintenance department also the same story. You can complain - takes atleast 30 mins for them to appear.
The DJ moves from the rain dance area to the food area in the night. Most of the bachelor groups are sloshed by this time and utilize this opportunity to dangerously gyrate to the wild music. The only plus point here is the presence of bouncers. Sadly only 2 of them to man the whole show. Imagine 50-60 guys - all dancing under the influence - and 2 bouncers to manage them. They did end up crowding the DJ for a last song. and then another one. and then another one.

We had to wait for a couple of rooms to be cleaned up for us to check in at 1 PM.

Add to this man power shortage an attitude of "Sir. Thats that department's responsibility. I'll tell them. Or you call them".

All in all - Poor levels of service.

ROOMS:
There are multiple deluxe rooms made out of refurbished cargo containers. (The temporary offices you see on the roadside during construction work). These are airconditioned and have a double bed and an attached bathroom.
Some of these containers are placed one over the other with a metal gangway connecting them.
The super deluxe rooms are in a concrete structure with 4 rooms front to back. These are larger than the containers. A decent sized bathroom with a double bed and a sofa set with TV available.
Most of the rooms had a problem with the AC - controls didnt work. And in some cases the ACs didnt work.
Since this is in a large wooded area, insects are a plenty. The view from most rooms is great. It looks out to the Karnala fort and sunrises and sunsets are a great sight.
Super Deluxe rooms are large enough. Ours accommodated 20 people for a game of Housie / Dumb Charades.

LOCATION & AMENITIES:
This is bang on the highway so travelling from Mumbai/Thane/Panvel is not an issue. Look out for Vithal Kamats and KStars on your left when travelling from these places.

There are two water bodies in the resort. One with slides and fountains. The other a swimming pool with 6 ft. deep end.
Slides are basic - One with a mat and the other with tubes. Child slides also present. This pool is shallow - 2 ft. of water.
The other swimming pool is larger and has water from 1ft. deep to 6 ft. deep. Lifeguards present in both places.

A pit with a water fountain doubles up as the Rain Dance area. Loud music blares from a DJ hut nearby all throughout the day.

This resort has a tie up with some adventure sports team. Basic sports like rappelling (height max 2 floors), Burma bridge, and a river crossing (over the bigger swimming pool) conducted.

There are a couple of shaded places where bigger teams can get together for a meeting.
A basic video game parlour present (Air hockey, a couple of motorbike simulators and a couple of car simulators)

BEST LIKED:
The view in the mornings of the Karnala fort / mountain.

LEAST LIKED:
1. The service (or lack of it thereof)
2. Overall crowded atmosphere at any time of the day/night.

Summary:
All the infra is shared between the day picnickers and the overnight stayers. So everything and everyone is stretched to the limit. The slides are packed throughout the day. The restaurant though demarcated for different groups has a challenge coping with the large amounts of people.
The management is building more rooms and expanding. I dont blame them for this vision - but they are exchanging quality per room for quantity of rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the Super deluxe rooms. Ensure the AC is functional before you get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FatherOFthePride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good place for one day picnic, i had gone there with my family in all 30 people. The resort is surrounded by greenery as far as pool and all water rides concern its good and maintained properly with proper safety, In all good place for one day picnic and we had enjoyed a lot
The food is not good......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Devika2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The resort is surrounded by greenery and mountains which is good though the pools are not clean and the food is awful. Looking at the restaurant menu you may feel like the food would be excellent but it was the worst fries I have ever had. I ordered Cheese pakoda and french fries to start off but it was so oily and fries was tasteless. Security is rude, they dont know how to speak with their customers. As soon as we entered I didnt like the way the security questioned us. The only thing I like about the resort was the location. If you going then you can have food some where out and not in the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Shy191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

one good thing I noticed that Resort is surrounded by greenery...

Location : on Panvel Goa High way,easily approachable,nxt to Karnala Bird Century,
Resort Staff : some of them were friendly/helpful but still need some improvement,
Food: Its between good and average,they serve Jain food also,(buffet only)
Resort : as far as pool and all water rides concern its good and maintained properly with
proper safety,open play ground where you can play cricket also,you can enjoy indoor
and outdoor games too but required your own stuff,small zoo types area,
other adventures activity like river crossing,free fowling and etc,Garden area,
Stay: there are cottage types rooms and cabins also for night stay,
all in all good place for one day picnic and we had enjoyed a lot( avoid visiting Resort on weekends if you dnt like crowded place)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nish321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good place for one day picnic

The food is good.. the pools and water rides are not great. No dress code to enter the swimming pool.

The adventure sports are good.. specially the free fall.

There is ample space and gardens.. the quality of crowd was also not bad.

It was a good experience..

Good to spend some time with family,

Room Tip: Good place to spend some quality time with family Good food quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szqb1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the place with a few of our friends/colleagues. At a very reasonable price a team can have a one day fun-filled picnic here. The place is less than 100 kms (1 & 1/2 hr drive) away from Mumbai and a couple of kilometers ahead of the Karnala Bird Sanctuary. There were around 10 or so rides.. Ideal for a small group of friends to freak out or a day out for a family get-together. There were a few water slides, a shallow pool, a 20 ft free fall, etc; which we enjoyed and would recommend. Its family friendly since nothing is deeper then 4 feet. For a big group, I would suggest prior booking and you can avail the offer where breakfast, lunch and evening tea is provided as part of the package by the resort.

Since we were mostly out of the room rather than in it, i will refrain from commenting on the accommodation. We used the room mostly to keep our luggage and change. However, the rooms alloted to us were reasonably clean and unique considering they were remodeled shipping containers. Cottages were also available I believe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sridevid19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karnala
7.1 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#5 of 5 in Panvel
8 reviews
13.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
7.7 mi away
OYO 394 Hotel Panvel Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#16 of 17 in Alibaug
104 reviews
17 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
10 mi away
Hotel Grande 51
Hotel Grande 51
#14 of 39 in Navi Mumbai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala

Address: Mumbai - Goa Road, Near Karnala Bird Sanctuary | Taluka Panvel, Karnala 410221, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Karnala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karnala
Price Range: $55 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic Resort Karnala, Navi Mumbai, is nestled amidst lush green landscapes. Wake up to the sound of chirping birds and sunrise with this contemporary accommodation. The waterpark is very popular with holiday seekers and is a perfect destination for a day picnic and get together with near and dear ones. Enjoy thrilling water sports, 7D theatre and activities such as free fall and Commando bridge. The multi- cuisine restaurant and bar serves delicious treats and drinks from across the world for a filling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panoramic Hotel Karnala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing