We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good family restaurant”
Review of Casa Del Nono

Casa Del Nono
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Isla Plana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really good family restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have regularly been coming to NoNo's for about 4 years and can definitely say I haven't ever had a bad meal. The current 'especial' menu is fantastic value, four courses for €19. With about 8 each of the first and second plate choices, including smoked salmon with crab and avocado, turbot, sirloin and fois gras.

The al a carte menu is also very good with some imaginative dishes to choose from.

Service is always good and the staff cater the speed of your courses at your request.

This is not a cheap and cheerful retaurant but somewhere to enjoy eating and drinking. i cannot praise this place highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    33
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not good value 'menu del dia'”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were going to have a lunch at the 'La Chara 'restaurant where we have had a good meal before , but they now have a Lithuanian waitress who insisted on our sitting in the sun on a hot day and refused our request for a different table, so we left.
Further along the road was the Casa del Nono restaurant that we had heard about , a table outside, was overlooking the road , but had a hedge in between, the menu del dia , was 12 Euros which was 3 euros more than the La Chara, but we thought it should give us a better lunch........NO.

There were no appetisers, starters were OK , but main course of sardines were sent out ungutted, and when cut into were red and bloody inside, after sending them back we received a better cooked but fewer in number fish.

Was the extra money worth it a definite no , wont return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geebee2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not even third time lucky”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The first time we tried this restaurant we were not overly impressed with either the quality of the food or value for money. We gave it another try on our anniversary and wished we hadn't. We were asked by friends recently to go again for a menu del dia and gave in because we didn't like to refuse. Two of the dishes on the menu ordered by our party of 7 were unavailable. They skimped on the salads and the bread. The drinks which were included on the menu catered for 6 people only. The sea bass was tasteless and full of bones, the lamb shank had very little meat on it. We all ordered profiteroles and got two each. The service was efficient but perhaps too much so as they collected plates whilst one of us was still eating. The inside has a lovely setting but if you want to sit outside it is right by a busy road. There are many other better restaurants in the area. We won't go there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had two meals at this restaurant during our recent visit to Spain. The paella that we had the first time was so good, that we decided to return for a Sunday lunch. This was also an excellent meal. The food and service was outstanding, and the decor was very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHillsboro_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have eaten here several times for the menú del dia. Always enjoyed the food and ambiance. Truly Spanish feel to the style of the restaurant and the food. A Little more expensive than some of the menu´s available in the village but at 12 euros it is well worth it. Would certainly go again and take visitors for an authentic experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petal1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Del Nono also viewed

Isla Plana, Region of Murcia
 
La Azohia, Region of Murcia
Puerto de Mazarron, Mazarron
 
La Azohia, Region of Murcia
Puerto de Mazarron, Mazarron
 

Been to Casa Del Nono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing