We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”
Review of Cortijo Prado Toro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Prado Toro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is unbelievable! My wife and I went on a trip through Spain with another couple. We started in Barcelona and ended in Seville with a 3 day stop off at Cortijo Prado. While staying in the city was great, this was the part of the trip that my wife and I were most looking forward to and we were not disappointed. I can't say enough about this place. The road in is quite a trip, I was driving so it was actually pretty fun. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The prices are incredibly reasonable. The views were fantastic. There were a few other couples there as well, but there was plenty of space so, except for some time hanging out by the pool, you wouldn't have known there was anyone else around. Ludwig is one hell of a character, a man who is a truly a jack of all trades, very friendly and personable. He sent us off on a couple hour hike through the mountains on a beautifull trail that took us all around the area. There are plenty of cute little restaurants with great food in the area, or you could bring food in and cook your own. Everything you could want in a place to stay. As you can read from what everybody else has said, I would definitely recommend staying here. Nothing bad at all to say about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenRThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Cortijo Prado Toro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Tinado after an amazing but hectic week of city tripping, looking for some peace and quiet, and we were not disappointed at all. The house is really beautiful; there are flowers everywhere, the views are amazing and the swimming pool is simply delightful. There is no air conditioning, but since the mountains are a lot cooler than the cities, this is not necessary at all. We went hiking a couple of times, following our host's leads, and were simply astonished by the beauty of the Alpujarras. Especially the trip to the waterfalls in the north (Tajo Cortés) was rather demanding in temperatures above 30°C, but more than satisfying. The only problem was the pista forestal that leads towards the cortijo. This road should not be driven by the faint of heart, and can discourage you to leave the cortijo often, especially when you know you'll have to return in the dark. Nevertheless, I would really recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a quiet place to enjoy all the beauty that the Andalusian mountains have to offer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WouterLamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I'm going to have to repeat a lot of what other people have said. This is a really nice, purpose built set of apartments in a beautiful, peaceful location.
Built by the owner in the local architectural style, although relatively new, they look like they have always been there. Nicely equipped and fitted, spacious and cool. The apartment we were in remained beautifully cool despite high temperatures outside, even without ac.
The hiking in the area is excellent, one of the main European walking routes runs very close to the property and lots of other routes are easily accessible. Beautiful scenery, surprisingly green considering we were there in the height of summer (not the best time to walk here, too hot, but our own fault).
There are several pretty villages and towns a short drive away. The local people were friendly but remember that you are not at the tourist coast so few of the locals speak English and you will have to make the effort to learn at least a little Spanish (a good thing).
The owner was very friendly and helpful, full of recommendations for walks and local restaurants.
Granada and the Alhambra was a good day trip- well worth it.

Only one small negative point for us, the last kilometre or so of the drive through the national park up to the Cortijo. The best description I can give is that it reminded me of a forest stage of the RAC rally, very dusty, very rough, very steep with substantial drops at the side in several places. It isn't anybodies fault and It didn't spoil the holiday at all but it did make me think twice about the glass of beer or wine when eating out and it didn't do my little rental car any good at all.

All in all an excellent holiday spot. Much to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donbeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife, son age 4 and myself enjoyed a fabulous week staying in the Estudio at Prado Toro. What more can we say? Our host was wonderfully helpful, we had: fantastic local hiking right on our doorstep, amazing views, an area of Andalucia with plenty of history, while close enough to still enjoy two away day-trips to both Granada (and separately) to the beach. Each of our host's recommendations were spot on, we ate very good food at each restaurant he suggested, and were never disappointed by the variety, choice and affordability of it all. This is a great place to stay if you enjoy your own company, or are self-sufficient in terms of needs when everything else you could possibly ask for is simply there for the taking right at your door step - mountains, countryside, fresh air, peace and quiet, and a real opportunity to connect with one of the most beautiful parts of Spain you can imagine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund_835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

one of the most unique places we stayed over 3 weeks of Andalusian travel - built by the owner featuring an exterior of chiseled Andalusian stone. Comforts inside were well attended with modern baths and kitchen. Cozy underfloor heating plus fireplaces added to charm. Absolutely quiet from city noise (except for gun shot blasts across the valley lol ), brilliant starry night, a private patio to enjoy our own tapas, and vino. Lovely reflecting garden pond. Stunning views looking south over the valley below. A handy starting point for day hikes in many directions. Wish we could have stayed longer! highly recommended for those looking for a getaway off the beaten track. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We loved our accommodation at the Cortijo Prado Toro! The cortijo is located off the main road, bordering on a natural park, so the surroundings are simply beautiful. We stayed in the flat called El Estudio, which was very spacious and nicely decorated with beautiful wooden furniture in Al-Andalus style. It also had a small terrace with beautiful views of the mountains. Ludwig, the owner, was very friendly and hospitable. He lent us a guide book of walking tours in the area, and gave us excellent suggestions of what to visit and where to eat. We would highly recommend spending a few days at the Cortijo Prado Toro before visiting Granada!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Can't fault this place. The apartments are like mini cottages with log fires (the logs are extra). We were there in April and although we didn't need the fire as the apartment was heated, it was a lovely addition. Our apartment was the attic one and had an amazing terrace with wonderful views. Ludwig was helpful, giving us lots of walking info. There are lots of walks to the nearby villages or you can drive in 10 mins (the road is mostly unpaved but not a problem, just keep on the gas!) This place is perfect for people who like walking and nature. The kitchen gives you the freedom to cook or you can venture out and try the local restaurants. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComfortTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
1.9 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
246 reviews
8.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
4.1 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
302 reviews
16.7 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Prado Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Prado Toro

Address: Calle Real s/n | Alpujarras, 18412 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pitres
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Prado Toro is situated in the Natural Park of the Alpujarras , on the southern slopes of the National Park of the Sierra Nevada, Spains highest and most dramatic mountain range in the province of Granada. The historic white villages of "La Taha" are within easy reach. The main town of the Taha, Pitres, is less than 10 min away by car. The Cortijo (country house) faces south, towards the Mediterranean, at an altitude of 1.450M, opening up breathtaking views of unspoiled natural countryside. On clear days even extending to the Rif mountains of North Africa. Cortijo Prado Toro is a delightful quiet place set amidst stunning country side. Hidden courtyards and patios provide sanctuaries of shade and greenery, whilst secluded terraced corners offer privacy in the sun. Weeping branches of mature willow trees form bowers of tranquility, and the gentle murmer of a spring or fountain never seems far away. Only birdsong or the muted clanging of distant goat bells is likely to disturb the silence of this quiet mountain retreat. The architecture of the buildings, designed and restaured with the help of "Donald Gray", an authority in traditional Andalusian architecture, is in the traditional Alpujarran style with much care taken on the detail. The individually designed and decorated apartments, all separated from eachother to provide absolute privacy , are all furnished to a high standard and combine simplicity and luxury with elegance of another era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cortijo Prado Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing