We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hikers perfect getaway in the alpujarra!”
Review of Casa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ana
Ranked #1 of 4 Pitres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We found this gem by asking around the village, and this ended up being the absolute best b&b we stayed at during our trip to the alpujarra. Highly recommended and very hiking-friendly. Ana also holds writers vacations which she still sends us invitations to attend in. in short- you wont regret and wont forget it! just dont make our mistake and take a longer stay than one night. We are planning for years now to return for a full week. the place is well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent an idyllic few days at Casa Ana at the very start of the year. It's probably the most peaceful place we've been to in Spain. We spent our days walking the steep mountain paths of the old Moorish silk route in pin-sharp sunlight. The house is beautifully restored, set on many levels with numerous terraces, and Ana has created a perfectly judged, informal ambience within a very well-run venture. We slept soundly in a simple, tastefully furnished white room, with the ceaseless murmur of the Trevélez river far below. There's a mighty nip in the air in early January! but a good bed and fab underfloor heating made everything feel very cosy. We were well set up for the quite strenuous walking by an excellent and substantial breakfast (there are both Spanish and English options) with shivery, tangy fresh orange juice and some delicious local touches - powerful chestnut honey, homemade raspberry jam to die for, and a strong cheese which Maria served us with a bright, tiny garden flower as embellishment. "Un encanto" in the deep Alpujarra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klangtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A lovely retreat away from the world of nine to five. I would highly recommend Casa Ana for anyone who needs to spend time in comfort and peace. I was there during the winter but it was more like autumn with mild weather and plenty of long walks through beautiful countryside with clean air. The views of the mountains from my room were stunning. The room was very comfortable, tastefully furnished and clean and the food served is to a very high standard.
Anne was very welcoming and gave sound advice on the local area, where to walk, where to eat out, shopping etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent a week at Casa Ana while on holiday walking in the mountains. We couldn't have wanted for a more friendly welcome in a beautiful location. The accommodation and food were wonderful and we had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and i spent 8 days at Casa Ana in August 2012 and loved every minute of it. We did most of the local walks and dined off figs, blackberries and mulberries which were everywhere apparent. Despite the dryness of the summer the valleys were green with shady places and springs to slake our thirst.
Although it is never a good thing to try to import the architectural styles of a holiday venue to back home and in our case to a victorian semi....but I was tempted! Maybe I could get away with a few rough shewn exposed beams and some of the delightful curved plaster infill! The key elements of Casa Ana are probably universally applicable..no clutter, aged woodwork and not too many machined and regular surfaces. The garden was a gem, the breakfasts set you up for the day and the invitation to use the kitchen for drinks and light lunches very practical. The local bar restaurant and French vegetarian restaurant are both excellent. Unfortunately we missed Anne but I can speculate that she is a cross between Gertrude Jekyll, Freya Stark and Barbara Hepworth. I can't wait to return and test my theory!

Pete Smith

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter_smith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Ana for a couple of nights and now i cant wait to go back.
The Room was very nice, quiet, clean and with the most beautiful views over the mountains. Breakfast was delicious too and Anne (Ana) was very friendly and knowledgable regarding walks and places to go to.
We would definitely reccomend anyone in search of a quiet and peaceful location to stay at Casa Ana. Just make sure you are ready to just absorb the views as entertainment as there is not much going on in the town. There is a very friendly and local pub in the town next door (10min walk) The lady owner cooks local specialities in a rustic way and her husband serves behind the bar. Very nice food, very cold beer and very cheap! The perfect way to finish the day after a nice walk following the old silk path around the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tres-chic-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Without reservation we stayed in may two days at Casa Ana. We could have stayed two weeks what a beautiful and relaxing enviroment.
Great rooms with a very good breakfast. The place to charge your battery again.
Driving to really the end of the road we arrived at Ferreirola were a helpful man brought us to Anne (everyone knows her).
The accommodation was beautifull restored and we immediatly felt at home.
The place to start your trip in the Alpujarras for birdwatching hiking or just relaxing.
Thanks Anne and hope to see you again
Anita and Ben

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural San Roque
Hotel Rural San Roque
#1 of 1 in Pitres
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sierra y Mar
Sierra y Mar
#2 of 4 in Pitres
29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortijo Prado Toro
Cortijo Prado Toro
#1 of 4 in Pitres
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camping El Balcon de Pitres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ana

Address: Calle Artesa 7 | Ferreirola, La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pitres
Price Range: $80 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ana is a historic village house in the mountainous Alpujarra region of Andalucia. Once a family home, with a wine press, olive store, barns and a goat shed, the property was lovingly restored between 2005 and 2013. It provides comfortable, quiet accommodation with 8 en suite bedrooms, dining room, sitting room, a Moorish courtyard garden and several south-facing terraces. The style is simple and traditional - chestnut roof beams and terracotta floors - but with modern comforts, including underfloor central heating in winter and rain showers. At Casa Ana we provide delicious breakfasts using local produce - fresh oranges from village growers, local honey, eggs, bread, hams and olive oil. Picnic lunches are also available. The house is located in the mountain village of Ferreirola (population around 28), near Pitres. The village has fantastic views of the Trevelez river gorge, and is a wonderful base to go walking, explore the Sierra Nevada National Park, visit the traditional white villages of the Alpujarra or take a day trip to Granada or the Mediterranean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing