We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went to the Oveja Verde for a week. Not going to be a long review, because there is only so much you can say. The location is perfect, with a stunning view. The staff is very nice, and speaks English if you want. The room was big enough for two, and very clean. It contains everything for cooking and washing. But the reason you come here is for the environment, walking, hiking, and relaxing. Just the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hennes_Thissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay at this special place, located seperately from the crowded area which creates special and romantic feeling. Nice also for friends and family. Food was great and veriable also for vegetarians!! Stuff was friendly and helpfull.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Orit201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were traveling the Granada area, and while writing a few reviews I mixed up the names of the places we stayed. I ended up giving this place a terrible review.
It turned out to be a nightmare to edit a review on Booking.com a in the end I just gave up, To make a long story short La Oveja Verde is just great, the best pace on our trip.

the apartment was super spacious and super clean and had a great 180 degrees view from the terrace outside, and it even had a cosy fireplace inside (!) I might be picky, but it was very hard to find any downsides to this place. We stayed for 3 nights and did a kind of lazy hikes between the ancient white villages. If you want you can hike up to more than 3000 meters. On our walks we saw things we had never experienced before, like suddenly on a deserted path a well with crystal clear and pure fizzy water erupted from deep below, wow, my best sip of water ever.. And if you wanted something to eat there was allways a tree with ripe almonds and we also picked grapes along our lazy walks. A part of Spain I will deff. recommend, and the views are magnificent, even for a Norwegian couple. The hosts running this place had all the time in the world for us, interested and welcoming, you just felt from the first minute that this was just a lifestyle to them that they want to share. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickyjupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had intended to stay elsewhere, but had bailed out after 1st night because it was so awful (that's the subject of a different review!) so, to be honest, we'd have been happy in a cardboard box at such short notice!

But, nothing could be further from this, La Oveja Verde is just wonderful, in a great location overlooking stunning mountains with a well laid out and peaceful garden, natural swimming pool, fantastic food and - most of all - really warm, friendly and informative owners and staff.

Why didn't I do my homework better and book this place for a longer period, damn!

My wife and I had a really lovely time in the area, definitely enhanced by our stay at La Oveja.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Banjio_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for an October week in this superb small apartment complex in Pitres, the town that looks over the beautiful La Taha valley in the Alpujarras mountains. And we were kicking ourselves that we had ignored it on previous visits and settled for other accommodation in this hillwalkers’ mecca. (That last word is used advisedly because these hills and valleys were the Moors’ last foothold in Spain).
But to get back to the Green Sheep (that’s its name in English) – do not be misled by its unexceptional frontage on the main road at the edge of the town: when you get inside you discover that all the spacious apartments look out over the valley and the white villages nestling below. And not only that; there is a lovely big garden full of fruit trees and a vegetable patch – and featuring a unique bathing pool of pure natural water from the high mountains (be warned, its only heat is from the sun!).
Our ground-floor one-bedroom apartment was huge, with a generous-sized bed and a comprehensively equipped kitchen and living-room (with TV if you wanted it). There was also a wood-burning stove for the colder months. Outside was our tinao (covered verandah) with chairs and table for al fresco breakfasts and other meals overlooking the garden (but private thanks to strategic planting of shrubs and flowers).
The vegetable garden was full of tomatoes, chilli peppers, marrows and other edibles, and we were delighted when our host Jose called to our door and presented us with a small pile of them. Jose was what every host should be: concerned that we had everything we needed, and ready to give advice and suggestions when asked. Between our staggered Spanish and his basic English, we had quite a few fascinating conversations (no, I don’t know what we were talking about most of the time).
La Oveja Verde also has a bar with a balcony with more great views, where you can order breakfast or just coffee if you don’t feel like making your own. There is also a comfortable lounge/library. Wifi is free. For the price we paid, the Green Sheep is hard to beat – in fact it’s hard to beat at any price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EBDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice now. Each time has been excellent. The place is an aparthotel, so you get room, bathroom, and kitchen/dining room. All well laid out and fully equipped.
A new feature of the place is a cracking little swimming pool, naturally filtered. This is excellent after a long day spent exploring the amazing trails in and around Pitres.
Pitres itself is a gem of a village as are it's Taha neighbours.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom_Charkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We so loved this place last October that with a week or so of returning to the UK we booked again for May! Would it be as good? YES it was! The apartment was great, and the views were amazing. This time we managed a couple of meals in the restaurant in the evenings, which were very good. The local wine is excellent, and the complimentary limoncello to end the meal..... Pitres is an ideal place for a walking holiday and this time we went equipped with "Walk! the Alpujarras" by Charles Davis. Several walks go straight out from Pitres. Already planning the next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinHussingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
2.6 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#3 of 3 in Capileira
50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
93 reviews
3.8 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
306 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra

Address: Paseo Maritimo 14 | La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pitres
Price Range: $72 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Oveja Verde ("The Green Sheep") has 11 apartments and a Andalusian Tavern in the Alpujarra Alta of Granada, in Pitres, and the Town Hall of La Taha de Pitres, between Barranco del Poqueira (Pampaneira, Bubión and Capileira) and Trevélez, 1245 m above sea level. Situated in the heart of nature, and only 100 m from the village square, with 2,000 square metres of garden to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the countryside, and, at the same time, not having to do without the services in Pitres (doctor's surgery, chemist's, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, ...). We are located just 90 minutes from Granada and 75 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing