We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved this hotel ....the location is amazing, & free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this hotel ....the location is amazing, & free parking”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our stay here was a holiday within a holiday .. we just loved everything we did during our 4 day stay early Oct with the weather quite perfect too. Interesting drive from Orgiva, with the last few kms to Pitres easy. Our apartment was perfect; generous balcony, more than adequate kitchen, insect screens so slept with windows wide open each night. SO quiet; slept like logs.
B/fast on the balcony, prepared by Sara, watching the sun rise over the valley below. Jose is so passionate about the area, and advised us of walks to do.(Check them on google maps as some of the tracks are not on the guides he has and can cause confusion when you are way up in the hills!) Make sure you do the 5 village walk as he advises .. we mised the start of the track so did it in reverse .... took us 4.5hrs (with pub stops) rather than 2!! We also walked over to Capileira/Bubion (up to 1600m) and caught bus back; amazing day. Market day Thurs, with huge variety of food, clothing, plants.. wonderful atmosphere. Great little supermarket off town square. Check out the local artisans in the area. So talented. Sadly we had to leave on the day of celebrations for the annual wild boar shoot. Heard the brass band practicing as we had b/fast! THOROUGHLY recommend a stay at these AMAZING 2* plus apartments and Pitres. We will remember this haven for as long as we live.

Room Tip: We had upstairs apt at far end from reception, with generous balcony on the end of building (nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

La oveja verde was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were spacious and very tastefully
decorated. Kitchen was lovely with all new equipment ,very clean and easy to use. Even the
TV video was easy to use !! Beautiful large private balcony with majestic views down into the
valley below with a little villages twinkling lights at night. Very quiet and romantic. All the staff were so
hospitable and well mannered. The food, wine and music was lovely. All for such a reasonable price. Pitres is quaint with a very well stocked supermarket and beautiful walks all around.
A peaceful refuge from the bustle of Granada and not far in the bus which was easy and comfortable. Go there.

Room Tip: A room above ground floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our perfect mountain retreat getaway spot. The owners were wonderfully welcoming, and the apartment had amazing views over the valley. The sunrises were stunning. Pitres was just a great place (ignore the Rough Guide!!!), and we did lots of walks in the area. As we were well on into October the restaurant was mostly closed, but there were plenty of options in town, and the kitchen was well equipped. We definitely want to go again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHussingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I went to La Oveja Verde together with my wife, two year old daughter and two friends. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the food was great and it is located in a really beauiful spot high up in the mountains. Highly recommended for families or couples!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you are looking for comfortable, well-equipped, individual rooms with lovely views over entirely peaceful scenery, simple but tasty food, helpful hosts,and a pretty naturally filtered pool, this is the place for you. The hosts could not have been more helpful, both in terms of local information, little extras and assistance when one of our party had an accident out walking. The rooms had individual touches and were spotlessly clean. And the views are so peaceful.....

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor or above have excellent views, but you can always see the views from the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this place. Nice spacious apartment and balcony with great view to relax in the evenings! The hostess was very friendly and supplied us with information about the area and the nicest walking routes. We walked from Pitres through different small typical villages to Busquistar, a hike I recommend. The breakfast was simple, but nice and included in the price. Nice to have a kitchen, so we could enjoy our own food on the balcony in the evenings. There is also a washing machine in the apartment.
A lovely place to stay for a couple of days to walk in the surroundings!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli079_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Pitres is a fine base to explore the southern flank of the Sierra Nevada. The town is quite small and quiet, but it is close to several of the best hiking trails on the south side of the range. Our room was actually an apartment, with a small but quite adequate kitchen and a washing machine (the importance of this last item should not be underestimated). Although La Oveja Verde is on the main road through town, it is very quiet, because 1) there is not much traffic on this road, especially at night, and 2) the rooms are below the level of the road, and face away from it. My only reservation is that the breakfasts are inadequate if you are planning on hiking; you should plan on either supplementing or replacing the offered breakfast with food you buy at the store (there is a very good grocery store in town).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
2.5 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.8 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural San Roque
Hotel Rural San Roque
#1 of 1 in Pitres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra

Property: La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Address: Paseo Maritimo 14 | La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pitres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Oveja Verde ("The Green Sheep") has 11 apartments and a Andalusian Tavern in the Alpujarra Alta of Granada, in Pitres, and the Town Hall of La Taha de Pitres, between Barranco del Poqueira (Pampaneira, Bubión and Capileira) and Trevélez, 1245 m above sea level. Situated in the heart of nature, and only 100 m from the village square, with 2,000 square metres of garden to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the countryside, and, at the same time, not having to do without the services in Pitres (doctor's surgery, chemist's, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, ...). We are located just 90 minutes from Granada and 75 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing