We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel can Garay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Finca El Ventos(Sant Feliu de Pallerols)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Can Jepet Rooms(La Cellera De Ter)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cal Sastre Hotel(Santa Pau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel la Riba(Vilanova de Sau)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Can Blanc(Olot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
101
26
7
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
26
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily homecycling tripbeautiful gardenbike tracklocal winestained glassgreat hoststwo nightssophieluishousedinnermealsbedroomverdelesride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 142 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The highlight hotel of our holiday in the Garrotxa. Elegant period rooms with modern well-functioning bathrooms. Very attentive host Sophie and reasonably priced extras. Luis is a superb cook .
The state of decoration was very good indeed with brilliant use of colour in the art deco character and there are comfortable and well- appointed lounge and dining room for guests use.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The architecture of this hotel was interesting and perhaps somewhat unique in the location. Although the hotel functioned reasonably well it was looking somewhat tired and certainly in need of decoration if not renovation in part. Our room was perfectly adequate, the bathroom was fine but the temperature control for the hot water for shower and bath left a lot to be desired.
The food was desperately disappointing, a poor choice, little if any culinary skills and for what was produced rather expensive. A somewhat disappointing choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the most special places we have stayed in any country. Hotel is stylish, homely and full of character, hosts are friendly and food is very good. Set in lovely countryside and some pretty towns nearby to visit. We stayed as part of a cycling trip along via verde - disused railway lines - from Olot to Girona, organised through Inntravel. Would recommend the holiday to casual cyclists and the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was a real treat after cycling all day from Ripoll. Quiet, elegant rooms and friendly hosts who cooked us a beautiful meal in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tw0bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Can Garay for 5 nights in July. The hotel is a beautiful art nouveau house on large grounds in the small town of Les Planes d'Hostoles. Our room was huge and furnished with lovely antiques, the bathroom was modern, large and very functional. We had a car so it was an easy drive to many great places in the area. One of the days we went to Figueres to see the Dali Museum, another day Besalu a beautiful medieval town. We drove to a nearby train station and caught the train to Barcelona for the day and Olot is a short drive away with wonderful food markets which should not be missed.
The hotel hires out bicycles as there is a fantastic bike track which runs from Olot to Girona right behind the hotel. There are some very lovely quaint little towns to visit only kms away, as well as waterfalls and breathtaking scenery.
The beauty of staying at Can Garay is that you have the option of really relaxing, or filling your days with lots to do, all within an hour drive of the hotel. To stay in such a beautiful property in the heart of the countryside, really gives you the feeling that you get to see and experience the 'non touristy' side of life.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant most nights because the food prepared by Lluis was delicious fresh authentic Catalan cuisine, far superior to anything that we ate in restaurants in the larger towns we visited for lunch. Sophie is a wonderful host and we loved the beautiful dining room, cool music and warm atmosphere (and suggestions for local wine & spirits!).
I'm glad I get the chance to add another glowing review for Can Garay as it is so well deserved.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews