We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only saved by the building and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigsanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Only saved by the building and grounds”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was a family wedding of a much loved nephew and hence the issues were all the more annoying and upsetting. The building is very quaint and charming and the rooms too if you go for shabby chic. The breakfast was also good. Our room was quite large but the price was extortionate for the quality of the amenities.

The underwear from the previous resident in a cupboard in the room was not welcome and the lack of a genuine apology was poor. A passing and mumbling sorry was not adequate.

The total disregard for the food allergies of a couple of guests was appalling and the reaction and disregard of the only available manager type person was shocking. Don't you realise that food allergies can be serious?! Notification had been provided months in advance and when this was said my son was even told he was wrong. We have the evidence of this notification. One server assured my daughter in law to be that there was no cream whilst a second actually checked and then confirmed there was. I had to point out on 4 occasions that my meal needed to be gluten free and only one waitress actually took any note and went to check after I had been provided with a starter that was not gluten free - fortunately I hadn't eaten it.

This could be so much better.

Room Tip: I was told the cheaper rooms had only a shower cubicle in the corner which steamed up the room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your experience during your stay. Yes the mansion house and grounds are beautiful and the neoclassical design of the house is fitting to its age, character, and charm. We are always catering for food allergies, not only at weddings but within our restaurant as well, because we understand the importance of these allergies. Our apologies that there was a miscommunication in regard to your food allergy and you were not served the correct meal the first time. However, we have provided a safe meal for you and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    22
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
67
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had our wedding at Craigsanquhar on 30th May this year. When we first enquired about having our wedding here it was John we spoke with. On deciding on Craigsanquhar and paying our deposit, we were told we wouldn't need to do anything until 6 weeks before the date. I did find this a bit strange but having never organised a wedding before we didn't question it. So when I received a message from Lara (shortly after she started) saying she had our enquiry form and was wondering what stage we were at with our decisions, I did start to panic. On speaking to her she put my mind at rest and confirmed that we had our date but our file was severely lacking in detail. I told her we hadn't been asked for any other info. Shocked, she promptly asked us the relevant questions and sent the relevant paperwork. She was wonderful!!
Our menu tasting was organised and while the food was excellent, they forgot to have us taste the vegetarian option and the wine. Lara was off the day we were in and she did apologise for the mistake and offer us a second tasting but we declined.
Everything else ran smoothly on the run up to the day. We had the most perfect weather. The house is stunning, as are the grounds and the surrounding countryside. It couldn't have looked more glorious and we wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else. We had the ceremony on the lawn, apart from the exceptionally creased table cloth on the table, which I noticed on my way down the aisle, everything was perfect. The drinks and canapés were lovely.
The Coach House is lovely, a big space but really cosy too for our smaller reception. The food was excellent as expected, the only disappointment being that no wine top up was offered despite it being paid for. My husband and I had also been promised an extra glass each due to the mix up with the tasting. I approached Lara and she quickly got the 2 of us more drinks and offered to serve the top up but the guests were long past the empty wine glass stage and had taken themselves to the bar so it would have been pretty pointless.
Despite the hiccups, with the chance to do it all over again, we would still choose Craigsanquhar. The setting, the house, the honeymoon suite and the staff were everything you would want for your big day. Lara made it all happen though, I'm not too sure how things would have gone had she not joined the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Craigsanquhar House Hotel for your recent Wedding Day. It is always great to be part of such a special time in peoples lives. Thank you for the honesty in your review and it seems we rectified the issues to your satisfaction. We hope to see you return in the near future to remember your special day at Craigsanquhar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked one night B and B for last night. We based our choice on the strength of reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is set in beautifully manicured gardens, surrounded by woodland and rolling hills. It is somewhat off the beaten track, but that adds to its charm. There are a couple of luxury lodges and a large converted stable block used as a function suite. The public areas in the house are bright, clean and decorated and furnished in a manner that compliments the house well. The sweeping staircase takes you up to the large rooms/suites on the first floor, some of which look out over the gardens and countryside beyond. We had asked for an upgrade and were given the Garden Suite. The room was spacious and bright with a huge ornate bed. The en-suite bathroom was small, but perfectly adequate. However, when showering this morning, we felt the flow of water from the shower head was poor and on closer inspection, it looked as if it some of the jets were blocked. The decoration in the bedroom was quite ornate, but added to the grand feeling of the room. But there were areas where the wallpaper was scuffed or tearing slightly and the bedroom door showed signs of wear and tear, with chipped paintwork. We did find the room quite warm and opened the window a little...it wouldn't stay open, but we did manage to prop it up. In the evening, we went down to the bar/lounge area and enjoyed a drink while looking out onto the lovely gardens, We did ask if there were snacks for sale behind the bar, and were advised by the young lady, who was also the receptionist, that she would go and ask in the kitchen if there were any hand made crisps.. she came back to let us know that there weren't. As food was served until 9pm, we asked for a panini with salad and crisps (as stated on the menu) at around ten past eight. The panini duly arrived with a little dried out garnish (not a salad as we know it) and no crisps. There was a wedding taking place at the same time, so perhaps certain foods were in short supply, but we weren't offered any alternative side dishes. We arrived for breakfast and shown to our table. We were a little disappointed at the choice of "continental" breakfast foods..there was museli, 3 or 4 cereals, a couple of small pastries, some small tubs of yoghurts and a fruit platter that consisted only of strawberries or pineapple. We felt that the options for continental breakfast was somewhat limited for a hotel, and was perhaps more akin to what you might find in a top end B&B. The choices for cooked breakfast were fine and the food was hot. However, the coffee was luke warm. All the staff we met were friendly, professional and attentive, without being intrusive. All in all, a lovely house hotel, that with a little TLC in certain areas and perhaps attention to detail in others, would merit it a five star review in our eyes.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you choosing to stay at Craigsanquhar on your recent visit to the area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you return soon. Some TLC is always needed in such an old house and we are working our way through the house room by room to make sure the Mansion House always stays as grand as it was built to be. Thank you for the comments on your meal in the bar and breakfast. We take all criticisms as constructive so we can constantly improve our service. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed one night in the luxury villa 4. It all mod cons and decorated in quintessential Scottish hunting lodge fashion. Absolutely stunning! There was a coffee machine, smoothie maker, dishwasher, microwave, oven etc. The beds where enormous, the en suites utterly beautiful! It was so wonderful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was flawless. Absolutely delicious. We had a wedding the next day. It was flawless! As the maid of honour I had to make sure everything was perfect and Laren the wedding co ordinator did just that. She was wonderful. We stayed the night in the house. Very 'country house chic'. Very beautiful. We had a family suite, room 1. It was lovely. The breakfast was lovely except the waiters said they had run out of pastries and white sugar and I would have preferred a teapot, instead of it being poured as we asked, but minor niggles and easy to fix. We had a wonderful time, it was all lovely. Definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 for a good size family room\suite. Room 4 looks over the stunning landscape! If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Craigsanquhar House Hotel. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our villas, restaurant, and the wedding you attended the following day. Thank you for your comments about breakfast as well. We are always looking for honest feedback so we can improve our guest's experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Best day off our lives topped off with an amazing venue. As my family were over from ireland I booked one of the private lodges on the friday night, it was amazing, very clean,spacious and just beautiful. Lara the wedding co-ordinator was fantastic. She ensured everything was done and done to a very high standard. She ensured our day ran smoothly from start to finish even when we arrive 45 mins earlier than planned. The meal was delicious and all our friends and family were more than happy. Staff were very very friendly andcouldnt do enough. Louise on reception was lovely, she couldnt do enough for us, nothing was a problem.

Huge thankyou to lara, louise and the rest of the team :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciara20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Craigsanquhar House Hotel for your wedding day. We are honoured to have been a part of it and so glad we were able to make your wedding day so memorable. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, essentially a converted Scottish manor house, is in the middle of nowhere which is half it's charm. Very quiet, fantastic views, very relaxing. Rooms not bad & I had a good nights sleep. Staff very friendly, bar good and restaurant very good-fresh, different, reasonably priced. Definitely my place to stay again when next in the area on business

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CHG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay in June at Craigsanquhar House Hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are coming to the area next. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here last night 6.6.2014, recommended by a friend. Evening real for my husband and I. Welcomed in by staff, we were early asked if we wanted to have a drink at the bar first or straight to our table, we opted to go have a drink at the bar. It was a beautiful evening and the views were stunning. The house itself was old and new and was spotless. Our meal was faultless. We asked for a rates brochure which unfortunately they did not have however we were offered a tour of rooms. We were shown 3 styles and given the different prices for each room. Absolutely amazing, gorgeous and unique and staff were exceptional. We will definitely come back and have a stay over. Price value for our evening was exceptional.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MojoAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcraig1, General Manager at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant, Nathaniel's, and the the hotel. We value our guests comments and strive to deliver excellent quality and service and all times. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Craigsanquhar in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigsanquhar
10.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
25.1 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
4.6 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigsanquhar House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigsanquhar House Hotel

Property: Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Address: Craigsanquhar Mansion House By Logie | Cupar, Fife, Craigsanquhar, Cupar KY15 4PZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar > Craigsanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigsanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigsanquhar House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigsanquhar Hotel is a Scottish country house located 6 miles from St. Andrews in the rolling countryside of Fife. The Hotel is situated within 36 acres of gardens and woodland. Nathaniel's Restuarant & Bar has recently opened at Craigsanquhar with the goal of bringing "Scotland's Larder" to the table. Craigsanquhar also offers extensive catering facilities for weddings, receptions, and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craigsanquhar House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigsanquhar House Hotel Craigsanquhar
Craigsanquhar Hotel Cupar
Craigsanquhar House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing