We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been better”

Bei King Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Sitiawan
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
penang
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It could have been better”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went there for lunch at about one p.m. on a Sunday. There were a handful of tables with customers. As we walked into the restaurant, apparently everyone was busy. No one even bothered to ask us whether we wanted to dine in. I found that their floor was real sticky and oily and I saw flies on all the tables. These really made us uncomfortable. We thought of walking out though.

Since we were there, we found ourselves a table and ordered the Fu Zhou cuisine as recommended by the waitress or maybe the lady boss. We ordered fish maw sweet and sour soup, red wine misua (Chinese noodle) and stir-fried mixed vegetable Fu Zhou style. We ordered chrysanthemum tea in a pot for two.

The taste of the fish maw soup and red wine noodle soup were good. Both their soup were delicious. The red wine noodle had a lot of bony chicken pieces in it which I did not enjoy.
The stir-fried mixed vegetable was not suitable to our taste. It had a pungent smell because of the bamboo shoots in it. Overall, the food portion was too big for two people although we ordered small portion for all of them. Although we were big eaters, we could not finish all three dishes. We also found it to be more expensive than other Chinese restaurants in Sitiawan.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sitiawan, Perak, Malaysia
2 reviews
“The Hall is built nicely, and slightly looks like a banquet hall. Food display great. only the portion a bit too small.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The interior of the hall looks great, good sound system, food taste good. The car parking bay are not enough.. and the hall slightly too small, not spacious enough..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeiKingRestaurant, Bei King Restaurant at Bei King Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for all the reviews.

Yes, we had move to new place about 1km away from the old place.

This is our new location address:
Lot 35535, Jalan Kampung Selamat,
Taman Desa Selamat,
32000 Sitiawan,
Perak Darul Ridzuan, Malaysia.

Other than restaurant, we are also providing accommodations. Please stay tuned for our website which is coming up very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Foo Chow Food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This restaurant serves many types of Foo Chow cuisine and they are all very very tasty. Prices are slightly above average but definitely value for money. A must go if you're visiting Sitiawan / Pangkor. Just ask the service crew for their recommendation. You'll never go wrong.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pingying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must Try 'Foo Chow' Dishes!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The foods are great. Yummy 'Foo chow' dishes in Sitiawan, Perak Malaysia (Northern Region). There are traditional dishes such as fried oyster egg and chinese red wine chicken. Refer to photos attached, there were BBQ Pork ribs, fried work onion fish, and etc. Must Try! Wanna know more, visit my blog at http://www.wheretotravelinasia.com/

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AhKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bei King Restaurant also viewed

Sitiawan, Manjung District
Sitiawan, Manjung District
 
Sitiawan, Manjung District
Sitiawan, Manjung District
 

Been to Bei King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing