We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a small village.”
Review of Hotel Cala Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cala Grande
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Las Negras
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg,sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a small village.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a great stay at the Cala grande, got 2 large beautiful rooms. One of them with a nice jacuzzibath.
Hotel has a very modern style and is the atomsphere is calming. The beds were so soft and we all had a good nights sleep. Breakfast buffet was diffrent but so good. Lots of healthfood. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Very close to hiking paths.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    188
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
355
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Spa Cala Grande is a very nice hotel, both from the design perspective (the pool area is really wonderful) and the location one, it is on Las Negras village, a very small but cool spot and from there you can easily visit all the Cabo de Gata area (mainly the beautiful beaches). I'd definitely recommend it if you want to visit this part of Spain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanMend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmenar Viejo, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Cala Grande hotel is a very modern and nice hotel. Rooms are big and very clean. They have 2 pools, one of them for children. Both are very nice although they have thought about design and not about security. Pools are surrounded by marble floor that is extremely slippery and dangerous. The pool bar is very good. The barman is quite professional, something very rare in a beach place like this. Breakfast is the best I have ever had in a beach hotel. They offer different fresh fruits, breads, eggs, tomato salads, cheese, etc.

The hotel has a very decent and wide complimentary gym. Also very rare in a beach hotel like this. They also have a SPA, but it is not complimentary.

Hotel recepcionists are very kind but, to be honest, they do not know how to answer most of the questions.

Las Negras is a nice place but you should know that the beach is awful. No sand, just stones and a lot of boats. The "El Playazo" beach is at 10 minutes drive. It is very good, but not as good as other beaches in El Cabo. There is not medical care in Las Negras. Unfortunately we had a health problem and we had to wait 15 mins until an ambulance WITHOUT doctor came.

In short, the hotel is very very good, a jewel in Cabo de Gata, but is located in Las Negras and that is a problem for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokoluiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 7 days at the end of July. Interconnecting rooms were a bonus and immaculately clean. The super-king size beds were wonderfully comfortable so we slept very well. The balcony was ideal for catching the morning sun and a place of retreat when the temperature rose in the afternoon. Staff were incredibly helpful and the location meant we could walk into the village to the various bars and restaurants. Breakfast was an ample buffet served daily til 11am and the few times we dined in the restaurant we were not disappointed. Las Negras has a population of 300 outside of the summer months and really is untouched by mass tourism. We met no other English tourists; in fact very little English was spoken. A truly relaxing, blissful break!

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious but the corner suites had uninterrupted sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a great stay at cala grande for our anniversary. We stayed in the suite, which had a massive balcony with an outdoor hot tub with stunning views of the sea and surrounding hills. If you want to splash out a little then this a great place in a lovely national park. i didn't see the standard rooms, but if my room is anything to go by, they would be of a good standard.

the staff were really lovely, and we even got a complimentary bottle of cava.

the room was great, bed was really comfy and very big.

there was a contemporary feel to the hotel, unfortunately i feel that the restaurant needs a little work in terms of decor and layout. despite this being a romantic getaway, the restaurant felt anything but. It was very bright and quite clinical, and it didn't appear to be clearly thought out in terms of table planning, lighting etc and definitely not somewhere to go for a romantic meal for 2. the breakfast stuff were still in view so you didn't feel that this was a luxury restaurant despite the look of the rest of the hotel. having said that the staff were lovely, and the food was very tasty.

I speak a little spanish and some of the staff spoke a little english so you can get by.

the pool looked lovely, although it was a ittle cold to try it out.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the suite - sipping wine in your own hot tub under the stars was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnettUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is quite new and well maintained. Staff was very nice and welcoming. Rooms are really nice. Considering that we were apparently the only people in the hotel we would have expected a free upgrade. We would have been really happy. However, a few days before arriving we received a mail offering a discount in the original price of purchase for a winter offer which was not taken into consideration during the sale. Very much appreciated!
Breakfast is included, and very good. The food at the restaurant is very good quality, and at a reasonable price. We would have enjoyed going to the SPA. The first day was open from 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm and the other two days was closed. The price was a bit high, still considering that we were the only guests in the hotel.
Suggested!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiManMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A shiny new top class hotell. Exelent views, amazing rooms. A very nice SPA, but a pity the let small children use it.
A very nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceWoman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Negras
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Chica
Hotel Cala Chica
#2 of 2 in Las Negras
210 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
710 reviews
17.8 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
5.5 mi away
Hotel El Tio Kiko
Hotel El Tio Kiko
#2 of 3 in Agua Amarga
164 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cortijo El Paraiso
Cortijo El Paraiso
#1 of 1 in Los Escullos
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Grande

Property: Hotel Cala Grande
Address: C/ Navegante S/N, 04116 Las Negras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Las Negras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Las Negras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa hotel is located within the beautiful Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park. The Hotel Cala Grande offers lovely views of the sea, free Wi-Fi and a well-equipped wellness centre. The Cala Grande's wellness centre includes a sauna, a Turkish bath and a heated indoor pool with water jets, a waterfall and experience showers. There is also a Jacuzzi with views of Cerro Negro Mountain, an outdoor swimming pool and a relax area. Massages are available at an extra cost. All rooms at the hotel offer a private, furnished terrace with views of the sea. Some rooms have views over the mountains, and all have a flat-screen TV. Cala Grande is surrounded by gardens. The hotel restaurant serves typical regional meals, as well as fresh Mediterranean fish and pasta specials. Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cala Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing