We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people & wonderful wildlife”
Review of Pousada Aguape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Aguape
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great people & wonderful wildlife”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

In terms of picking a holiday for riding & wildlife viewing (espcially birds), Aguape and its related pousada of Pique couldn't be better. First off, it's a beautiful place where the cows and the animals & birds co-exist in relative harmony, secondly the people from the owners to the cowboys to the barman are charming and courteous. It's not often that you can go riding round a huge farm in the company of the owner! Also, the accomodation is excellent without being over the top and the common areas are very pleasant. It did not take me long to get used to sleeping for an hour or two at midday in a hammock between sorties! I was very pleasantly surprised by the horses which were of a good standard and enjoyable to ride and by the quantity and variety of birds. Of course, sighting mammals is a lot harder, but capibara & both kinds of anteaters were very much in evidence, as were little grey foxes & armadilloes.A truly wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for Garca
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmond76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
42
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed in three different locations in the north and south Pantanal and this was by far the best as it gave immediate access to the river, wetlands and woodland. The trips out in the safari van and the boat were real highlights with anteater and other exciting sightings.. Good guides. Excellent food and friendly service. Take your Brazilian Portuguese phrase book.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Including Mosquito Invasion
- insect reppellents do not work well
- expect every day a Tour in the Morning and in the afternoon (horseback riding, boatstour, Piranha fishing, Safari by Truck)
- all inclusive Price
- Great Great Food!!!!!
- bring extra Water (no supermarket or Restaurant or anything nearby)
- they have WLAN (10 R$) p stay
- they do organise Transfers to Campo Grande or Bonito
- definitely ask if you can ride with the Local Cowboys to their daily work
- Be prepared for a breakfast at 6 am and Lunch at noon

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skypezuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We have a 3 and 4 year old daughter and the hotel staff were great with them, adjusting some of the excursions to their needs. The quality of the guides was excellent and the hotel is relaxed and friendly. Good food, good rooms. Nothing flashy, just good quality.

No cell phone signal and no internet. This adds to the experience. You are isolated from the outside world and it is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlitoscastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The recommended Brazil Nature Tours (formerly known as Open Door) sent us to this lodge, just three hours out of Campo Grande, and sorted out a superb English-speaking guide and private transfers.

The nice-looking rustic lodge is cleverly located in open farmland just two minutes' walk from the river and a lagoon. Happily it does not (at least in our experience) suffer from mosquitoes. Wildlife, especially birdlife, is plentiful. Even if you walk no further than the trip from bedroom to dining table, you'll see toucans, hyacinth macaws and secretary birds, maybe a fox, and many more. On our guided tours (in a jeep, on horseback, on a boat) we saw giant anteater, lesser anteater, capivara, giant stork, howler monkeys and caiman.

The cowboys who do the driving and spotting on the tours have almost supernatural powers of observation - they saw deer at half a mile away on one occasion - which enhances your trips greatly.

The style of the place is shabby chic, with more of an emphasis on the shabby end. a gradual process of redecoration is underway. There are nonetheless some nice design features about the place. There is a lovely little pool, and plenty of little hanging out areas, plus a small playground which our kids enjoyed. Overall the atmosphere is very tranquil. The fact that the lodge is attached to a working cattle farm makes it more enjoyable - you can watch the cowboys herd the cows back in every evening.

Food is Brazilian home cooking and very tasty - but don't expect international cuisine.

It wasn't cheap but then I haven't identified a Pantanal fazenda that is. We were offered plentiful activities, even on the morning of our check-out, which I felt was generous.

Overall we were very happy indeed - but do make sure you get an English-speaking guide, as staff speak little or no English at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Pousada and we loved it!

First of all - living in Brazil as expats - we were impressed with the speed the Pousada came back to us. Within no time we got an offer for prices and availability. All our questions were answered by the lovely girl Kelly within no time.

Driving ourselfs to the Pousada - we passed the turn as we were not really familiar with the signs in the Pantanal … but in the end after ½ hour on a dirt road we arrived – just right for the lunch ;-)

staff
very friendly and knowledgable
rooms
comfortable and clean including fan and air conditioning
food
we liked it / varied, plenty and good food
drinks
o.k. prices for drinks (beers, caipirinhas) – we found it quite expensive for water! As it is very hot and you need to drink lots, water is too expensive, sold in small bottles. Luckily we did bring our own 10 liter water container with us!
trips
guides are very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. As soon they know you a bit better they almost give you an individual tour. I liked this part very much! We speak Portuguese but make sure if you don’t, that Sr. João’s daughter in law is there as she is the only one who speaks English – as far we know!!!! Our guides had a book with them on every single trip to show us the animals in English. But certainly it makes the tour much more enjoyable when you understand what they saying.
amazing
pro and contra … feed animals that you can see them? If, they feed the right thing and if they provide the right environment – why not? We enjoyed the “festival dos tucanos” … amazing! And they don’t disappear after the feeding time – they stick around the pousada/fazenda! As the huge blue parrots do – they don’t come for the feeding time as they have “their” tree on the other side of the farm.

We enjoyed our time at the Pousada Aguape very much for above reasons and we have seen lots of animals and we got the feeling for living remote like that. It’s nice to feel being a part of a family run place –sitting together and having meals on the same table like the owner and his family.

The only thing what my partner disliked (male!!!!!) was the constant dragging up of snot from the back of the nose while we were eating. Not very pleasant during a meal.
Would I go back: YES, defintiely

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macaco2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brasil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised with the experience. Smallish family run place, tours were totally personalised with a discussion each day of what we wanted to do, even had older relatives going in jeep to birdwatch and meet with youger relations after horse riding. Managed to see 4 of the 5 Kingfisher species, crocodiles excited the first day and become commonplace very knowledgeable guide who had a book to translate species to English with the pictures. Evenings spent, pool with the kids, caipirinhas (one of the best/cutest mixers) bottle of red wine at very fair price, all the guests ended up singing around guitar and accordian at the end of the evening after dinner. Utterly repeatable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aquidauana
24.9 mi away
Pantanal Ranch Meia Lua
Pantanal Ranch Meia Lua
#4 of 24 in Miranda
85 reviews
29.0 mi away
Hotel Beira Rio
Hotel Beira Rio
#12 of 20 in Aquidauana
23 reviews
28.2 mi away
Portal Pantaneiro Hotel
Portal Pantaneiro Hotel
#7 of 20 in Aquidauana
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Aguape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Aguape

Property: Pousada Aguape
Address: Rod Br 262 S/N Km 57, Aquidauana, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79200-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Aquidauana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Aquidauana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Aguape 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Aguapé is located 195 km from Campo Grande airport in a cattle farm inside of Pantanal. The lodge offers tours like trekking, photo safari in a 4x4 vehicle, nocturnal animal spotlight, horseback rides, bird watching, cattle handling, tour by motor boat in Aquidauana River, horse carriage and piranha fishing. Rooms with air-condition, ceiling fan and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Aguape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aguape Hotel Aquidauana
Pousada Aguape Brazil/Aquidauana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing