We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing Pantanal experience”
Review of Barra Mansa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aquidauana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barra Mansa Lodge
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've spend 4 nights at the Barra Manse lodge in November. After a long journey by car, which is a tour on itself we arrived at the stunningly located fazenda. We've enjoyed every minute at the fazenda; especially the relaxed atmosphere and offcourse the wild life! we saw otters, tapirs, lots of birds, caimans, capibaras, a turtle, etc. Incredibly thrilling to go canoeing and see a caiman dive underneath your canoe, not knowing where it went! Or the experience of having at least 10 piranhas nibbling on your rod... We even got used to getting up at 5 AM, especially when you know the treat will we horse riding at dawn. We loved reading a book in the hammock underneath the tree in the afternoon. We were very impressed by the hospitality of Polly and Daniel, they made us feel at home and gave us the ultimate Pantanal experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Barra Mansa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I have been living in Brazil for almost two years now and haven't been very impressed with most of our trips throughout Brazil. They just never seem to be worth the money. Barra Mansa totally changed this perception. We were worried it would be just like any other overpriced place we have visited in Brazil but we were totally wrong. From the plane ride to get to the lodge to the impeccable service offered by Daniel and Poliana, this place is a gem! The lodging is very simple but the service more than makes up for it. Our guide for the 4 days was excellent and very good at spotting wildlife which was just about everywhere you looked. The tours were all fantastic and since we were there during the dry season we experienced very few bugs. The food was fantastic. I don't think I have ever been more relaxed on a vacation than this one. I was worried about the early morning wake ups since I am not a morning person but definitely because of the heat you want to start your day early. Not to mention it is the best time to see the wildlife. Since we usually fell into bed immediately after dinner I had no problem getting up for breakfast at 5 or 5:30am. The only difficulty we had was in trying to pay the amount up front since we didn't have a Brazilian bank account. We tried to do a wire transfer from our US account but it didn't go through and we ended up being charged anyways. So that was a bit frustrating but other than that we really enjoyed our experience! Highly recommend it for those that want to experience nature and wildlife all around them. Definitely do the plane ride to the lodge, worth every penny!

Room Tip: We were placed in the chalet even though there was two of us. It was great having basically a house...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in the dry season and what a place !Location is stunning even more so when you arrive by plane ( leaving is very tough).
Ok the rooms are simple but they are spotless and every evening we just collapsed at 9pm to sleep soundly till 5 am for breakfast.
This ,though ,is not about accomodation it is about the wildlife the experiences - riding ,canoeing ,fishing,walking and taking in the fabulous nature,creatures and animals.
Our guide Alex was just great ,excellent English and so proud to tell us all about the Pantanal.
Yes I suppose a pool would be useful , but I went swimming in the river with the lovely Polly - just keep swimming and the pirhana and cayman will keep away !
Polly and her team are a delight .The food just superb,home grown vegetables,beef raised on the farm etc.They looked after my gluten free request with great care including special cakes etc
A memorable experience .
Please dont turn up in your colourful beach gear ( as some visitors did ) get out your cargo pants ,your safari shirts and blend in with the environment ,soak it up. D and L

Room Tip: We liked the end room with double aspect .Saw family of anteaters at 5am 200 yards away
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We (my husband, 7 y.o son and a couple of friends) felt absolutely at home in the Barra Mansa Lodge - the Poliana and Daniel couple couldn't be nicer. The natural wild life is breathtaking! it was really an unforgettable holiday!
Things to improve so it's perfect: fan at the porch - far too hot to lay at the net. Activities: i guess a better planning, perhaps a printed sheet at the check-in, otherwise it's not too much to do after 3 days...Breakfast: minas cheese every day should be a must! better bread selection. And a swimming pool, pleeeeeeease, especially when travelling with kids!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuSeabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a week in Barra Mansa and enjoyed every minute of it. It is a working fazenda, surrounded by the vast expanses of the Pantanal. It abounds with wildlife, easy to watch at the end of the dry season. The owners and the staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable about their environment and the Pantanal's ecosystem. A rare asset in Brazil: the guides are native Pantaneiros AND they speak English. Although they learned on their own while working with tourists, their command of the language is actually impressive. Each morning and afternoon, you are given a choice of activities (boat trip, horse ride, hiking, jeep, fishing) and you do not have to choose a pre-prepared program with others: it is all tailor-made, and you do it with your family and friends only. A dream place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne-marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A wonderful week full of discoveries: nature, animals, sunset, thunderstorms. A very friendly and professionnal environment at Barra Mansa. A week of quietness and back to the true values of life.
A delicious "cuisine". An unforgettable "souvenir". Thank you very much

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Despite our lack of organisation and needing to make the booking just a few days before we arrived, Daniel and Pollianna did exactly what was needed to offer the advice and make the travel arrangements that lead to a wonderful 4 days at Barra Mansa. The accommodation was great; very clean and we particularly liked the indoor/outdoor seating areas which benefited from the cooling breeze whilst successfully keeping unwanted mosquitoes outside.

The main attraction is of course the wildlife and we were shown it in abundance by Alex our guide, be it on horseback, by canoe, motor-boat, walking or 4x4. One of our group was really quite nervous about the horse-riding, but Pollianna's calm reassurance made this one of the highlights of the trip.

Delicious food, quiet evenings with unbelievable sunsets and stars and a sense that we'd been truly welcomed into the family make Barra Mansa a must for the Pantanal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ste_123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aquidauana
2.4 mi away
Pousada Aguape
Pousada Aguape
#1 of 20 in Aquidauana
152 reviews
27.1 mi away
Portal Pantaneiro Hotel
Portal Pantaneiro Hotel
#6 of 20 in Aquidauana
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fazenda Santa Ines
Fazenda Santa Ines
#9 of 24 in Miranda
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Hotel Beira Rio
Hotel Beira Rio
#12 of 20 in Aquidauana
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pantanal Park Hotel
Pantanal Park Hotel
#3 of 19 in Corumba
5 reviews
26.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rosa do Campo
#1 of 1 in Aquidauana
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Mansa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Mansa Lodge

Address: Rodovia MS170 - Pantanal, Aquidauana, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79022-900, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Aquidauana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Aquidauana
Price Range: $210 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Mansa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small capacity, friendly atmosphere, superb food, customized attendance and great guiding services. These are some significant items which complement the terrific nature and wildlife found at Barra Mansa Lodge. The lodge supports different types of specific activities and interests and provides unparalleled trip experiences to their guests. Ranked as the best place in Pantanal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Mansa Lodge Brazil/Aquidauana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing