We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fazenda Baia Grande
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Aguas Do Pantanal(Miranda)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pousada Nativos(Miranda)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Chacara Bela Vista(Piraputanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
77
19
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
19
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiranha fishinghorseback ridinglunch and dinnerpantanal regiongreat funadrianoalexfazendaenglishnatureanimalsbrazilguidetourists
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 100 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We enjoyed a great stay here for three nights. The atmosphere created by Alex was relaxed and friendly. The cottages are surrounded by trees full of toucans and other birds. There is a small pool to cool off in. Twice daily activities explore the surrounding Pantanal with photo safaris, walks, riding, and piranha fishing. Blue Hyacynth Macaws and Jabaru storks nested nearby and many animals were seen. The bufffet meals included in the price were most enjoyable and they go the extra mile to please guests e.g. serving the chocolate cake for supper on request for those who don't eat cake for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I am traveling with a group of friends (6 in total) and we arrived at the guest ranch to be greeted with smiles and an English speaking host. The facilities were comfortable and could be described as an oasis with the arched verandahs, swimming pool, green spaces and flowering shrubs. The open air common areas included sitting pods, hammocks and breezeways to provide fresh air. The guest ranch can only accept up to 15 guests. The rooms included private baths and air conditioning. The dining room was spacious and the meals excellent. With the price including all meals and all recreation activities, this was truly an experience. The only purchases we made were for drinks.

The guided activities included: night ride to see night wildlife and the caiman, day hikes and wagon rides to explore the countryside and wildlife (birds were very numerous and varied), horseback riding, and piranha fishing. These are the activities that we enjoyed but I am sure there are many more.

The pace for the activities are set for a morning and later afternoon time slot with a siesta time after the wonderful lunch.

We all felt very relaxed and put this time at the guest ranch as VERY positive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows on each wall for better ventilation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The best place of our holiday through Brazil. Nice rooms with hammocks. Very very good food all day (breakfast lunch and dinner is included) The excursions with the owner Alex and with Adriano are very good and it's easy to see a lot of animals. We only stayed 2 days and that should have been al least 4. Besides the 3 eating times there are 3 excursions a day with the current guests (which aren't that many). If you are planning a trip to the Pantanal you really should stay here! P.S. the owner speaks good english (which is rare in Brazil)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I spent 5 amazing days at Baia Grande. As a birdwatcher and a nature lover I can say that the place is almost perfect. The huge numbers of wildlife around the lodge and in the variety of habitats that exist there made my visit a spectacular trip!
This, combined with Alexandre´s and the crew´s hospitality, the absolutely superb food and the very confortable settings made me want to stay there a lot longer!
I am hugely grateful to Alexandre for setting up Baia Grande as tourist lodge.
I am hoping to visit back soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

October 2010 we spend a few days at the Fazenda of Alex.
After a warm welcome, we were soon feeling at home in this remote location.

We enjoyed this beautiful area and discover the great diversity of flora and fauna, such as capybaras, giant anteaters, caiman and various birds, including hyachint macaws . Also we fished for piranhas, walked and drove around in a variety of fun vehicles they have there.

The accommodation is spacious, neat and tidy. Everything looked beautiful decorated with flowers and trees.

Alex and Julia were very friendly. He reimbursed our tickets to boca da once, because we could not use our tickets for this tour and Juliet has ensured that I got special dinner, because I was very ill of the journey towards the fazenda. We are very pleased with the service, hospitality, accommodation and excursions.
The Baia Grande is certainly a must for anyone who wants to visit pantal.

With love, Shobha and Tom

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandShobha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews