We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brazil at it's best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio da Ilha Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Refugio da Ilha is a paradise created by a Brasilian family. I stayed for 7 nights and felt at home from the moment I arrived. The family and their staff are doing a great job to make you feel comfortable. And the place is just paradise (but realize that this is nature, not a park at home). And the food: delicious home made dishes three times a day. You will see more animals than you can count!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 148 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

A great place to stay to experience Heaven on Earth! The bird life is fantastic and the area is unspoilt by man. We had three nights here and wished we had been able to stay longer. The rooms were basic but comfortable and the food fantastic. The owners were friendly and made us very welcome. Our guide, Sergio, was extrememly knowledgable. All I can say is GO GO GO!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We traveled with our adult children to the Pantanal for a family vacation and we were so pleased we picked Refugio da ILHA. This is a family run and owned lodge that has a lot of character and beauty. We were at the end of the rainy season so we saw interesting and exotic birds. You really had the feeling of being part of nature...especially the dining room overlooks trees and the pond with wildlife.

Our guide, Leonardo, could not have been nicer to us. He went out of his way to make our trip a special event. For example, it was our daughter's birthday while we were there and the mother baked a delicious chocolate cake for her.

We enjoyed our daily excursions...especially the trips down the river with Leonardo and Due, the local guide. We never quite made it to the spot we hoped for on our river trip (Black Bay), but we had a lot of fun trying! And the horse back ride to see the sun set was very special. (Note: The area is not that well set up for hiking so stick with the rides on the river, jeep tour and the horse back rides. Plus be sure to bring mosquito repellant with Deet.)

The food was absolutely wonderful...every meal was special...including the lunch which was served at the outdoor kitchen. It is clear that the owners take a lot of pride and care for this place...so if you go to the Pantanal, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

In one word fabulous! You will feel immediatelly at home in this place. A warm welcome, nice and beautiful rooms, an excellent kitchen and marvellous trips through the Pantanal. We are sure we want to come back. If you're Dutch, ask for Sergio (a Dutch speaking Brazilian) to be your guide and your stay will be unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_te_Selle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

There's only really one word to sum it up. Wow!
We stayed at the Refugio Ecolodge for 5 nights in November this year (2011), and were treated to very comfortable accommodation, the most delicious home-cooked food we had in Brazil (possibly anywhere to be honest) and amazing tours of the surrounding Pantanal areas by our fantastic guide Mauricio.
Over our 5 days we did various activities including horse-riding, kayaking, boat rides and exclusive day trips to untouched areas of wetland. We saw pretty much every type of wildlife that can be seen in Pantanal, and our guide Mauricio even made custom tours for us to see specific animals we were interested in.
We can't rate this place highly enough. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is hard to describe because you have to find out by yourself! We decided to book Refugio da Ilha after weeks of checking different Fazendas in North and South Pantanal. We are glad that we did so! The place is amazing, the family and people there will provide you a warm welcome, meals and accomodation are perfect! Spotting Caimans and Piranhas are of course included! Tours with boat, truck or horses are fascinating! Transfer from Campo Grande will take about 3 hours! We already miss the noises and smell of nature there! Summarized: this place is highly to recommend! And not to forget our guide Leo, was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva_austria75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refugio da Ilha P, Guest Relations Manager at Refugio da Ilha Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Hello and thanks for your review! We are all happy that enjoyed our lodge! I just notice that some items weren't as good as others and so would really apreciate if you could write us to tell the reasons if you think it's important. We wish to make our best to keep improving our services and infrastructure. Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place is very special. I fell in love with it the moment I arrived. Right on the river in the Pantanal, it offers wonderful experiences with the nature, birds and animals. All the staff are great, the local guide gave us not only his eyes but something of his feel for the place. The meals were truly wonderful, the best that Brazil has to offer. In my opinion, if you wish to experience the Pantanal, this Refugio is THE place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refugio da Ilha P, Manager at Refugio da Ilha Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thanks a lot ! It's very important to us your feedback! We would like also to encourage you to email us and give us more suggestions about what you think we need to improoving. We noticed that some items weren't filled up and so we believe that those are advices that we should take! Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miranda hotels
City Center
Hotel Querencia
Hotel Querencia
#1 of 1 in Miranda
12 reviews
Fazenda Baia Grande
#6 of 24 in Miranda
97 reviews
Pantanal Ranch Meia Lua
#4 of 24 in Miranda
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fazenda Santa Ines
#10 of 24 in Miranda
5 reviews
Pousada Nativos
#1 of 3 in Miranda
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio da Ilha Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio da Ilha Ecolodge

Address: Miranda, State of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Miranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Miranda
Price Range: $300 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REFUGIO DA ILHA-ECOLODGE is the most accessible true Pantanal wilderness, only 2,5 hours from International Airport of Campo Grande, 2 hours from Corumbá and 1,5 hours from Bonito.REFUGIO DA ILHA is an ecological sustainable resort in a middle of a river delta ecosystem that attract and sustains an incredible biodiversity that can be seen during the activities the lodge offers to the guests such as BOAT, JEEP AND CANOEING TOURS, also HIKING and HORSE RIDING to enjoy stunning landscapes and fauna.From DECEMBER TO MAY it tends to be very green, flooded with water all over and its a great time to enjoy the clear water river for snorkeling and aquatic activities to explore different landscapes that are impossible during the dry season.JUNE TO NOVEMBER the landscape is very dry, but this is the moment to spot the rare ones!With only 8 apartment for your privacy and convenience we offer limited number of people per tour (6). All activities, bilingual guide and full accommodation are included in our packages that begin from 3 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio Da Ilha Ecolodge Miranda, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing