We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sea is great. The resort is ok.”
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The sea is great. The resort is ok.”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Eagle Point Resort is not hard to locate since all the resorts are lined up along the two-lane highway in Mabini, Batangas. Front desk service was quick and easy although the staff didn't seem to have any sense of urgency at all. While she answered all our questions, she took her time moving about. The main restaurant staff were all very accommodating and courteous, but the food items were pricey and not exactly exceptional.

Rooms were ok. I hated the lingering smokey smell that our room had though. Although the sheets and mattresses were thin and the pillows not plush, they were manageable. The bathroom were clean and spacious and I think that was the best part of the rooms.

The amenities faired averagely. The resort is old and needs updating. We did not use any of the resorts' amenities other than the swimming pools and house reef pool which are not the best in the area either. I say, it's a typical average Filipino resort that caters for the middle B/C classes. The house reef pool is cleaned everyday and contains a school of big, fat groupers, which are pretty intimidating at first.

What made the whole trip worth it was the marine life right in front of the resort. Although the waves were not the calmest, snorkeling was pretty easy and the view underwater was just spectacular! Maybe the fact that it was my first time to snorkel made the experience all the more special.

The thing I liked least was the rather hefty price of the board and lodging which doesn't really live up to what the resort offers in terms of food and accommodation. I'm sure the other resorts in the area are pretty much alike anyway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    97
    65
    31
    31
See reviews for
97
67
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I went to Eagle Point for a 3D/2N stay with my younger sister who was on a short vacation from Singapore and with our parents. It was just the tricky downhill and uphill ride from the parking area to the resort which kind of taken us aback. We were just wondering why management did not try to make the trek a little more pleasant by clearing the path a little more. My father commented that if it was night time, one could easily get lost. However, upon reaching the resort, the view and the quiet serenity of the place together with the pleasant decorum of the front desk made the trip there worth it. We did not have to wait long to check in although we were initally told that check in was at 2 pm and we got there right about 11 am. Just a few minutes after, we were told that we can already proceed to our room and we were given a ground floor, seaview room at the Terrace hotel. I would say the room was spacious and the view breathtaking. We had our lunch at the resort restaurant and what struck us was the price of the food. It was more on the pricey end but what compensated for it was that the staff at the restaurant were very accommodating and cheerful. They even allowed us to keep our leftover food for later consumption. The view from the restaurant was heavenly and calming. It was all ocean and I would say, we really spent a lot of extra time taking our lunch and taking in the view. Afterwards we strolled thru the entire length of the resort down to its south end. The flora was abundant and we took a lot of beautiful pictures of the flowers and the ocean. We also visited their aviary and though the birds were not too many, we were entertained by how comfortable they were around people. In fact the hornbills approached us and allowed us to take some pictures of them up close.
The resort was a very good escape from the usualy hustle and bustle of a busy city-life. If you are after quiet and peace and ready to take in a lot of sea view and enjoy being surrounded by greenery and constant singing of birds, then this is the place to be. If you came here to ponder or just finish reading a good book, the resort's quiet and isolated location is very ideal. However, I would say it is not for people who look for festive evenings or weekends because the resort could be a very quiet place esp. during non-peak days. Another area that caught our attention too was the reef pool. If you go there early morning just when the fish in the reef pool are waiting for their morning feed, you would see really large lapu-lapus up close and we were even able to take some pics of them. The animals in the resort are very comfy with human company and during high tide in the mornings, you would see colorful fish close by the shore. Although the beach right at the resort is not really one you would swim in because it is rocky and if you are not careful you might step on sea urchins. And then there is the issue of some trash that would wash ashore. Although we know the resort is not the culprit since the trash seem to come from other neighboring towns and neighborhood, still I think the resort should encourage its people to pick up and clean out any trash thats washes along their shore. If you want to swim in the sea or dive is another matter. You would need to shell out extra bucks to go to the neighboring island and dive sites but it is rather a little expensive. So my Sis and I decided to enjoy what the resort had to offer and it was more of the quiet serenity and the beauty of nature in all its splendor. By the way, we were so grateful that the restaurant staff always agreed to set our leftovers aside and they were very kind enough to re-heat it and serve it whenever we wanted it. Although, we would really be happy if the resort tried to expand its menu to include freshly caught fish and probably try to make their choices a little more flexible and affordable. Also maybe a piano or simple entertainment at the restaurant would be nice. A piano that is open for guests to play for probably a fun jamming session would liven up the resort's atmosphere esp. during the evening and maybe some fishing lessons on the side. The fish are really bountiful just right at their shore and it would be a fun experience for the guests esp. the young ones. Also, more visibility of the night duty personnel. My Sis and I opted to swim at the south end pool early one night and apart from the couple who came there shortly after we did, we saw no one else and when my Sis and I decided to leave the pool, the couple followed suit probably feeling intimidated by the utter quiet of the surrounding. Probably if they saw the evening guard somewhere visible, they would have been more comfy staying there longer.
Overall, it was just the respite I wanted after spending countless stressful days at work and well, it's a compliment to the resort because my otherwise finicky parents already expressed their desire to go back there. However, the quiet atmosphere during the evening may be too much for cityfolks who are sometimes longing for some sort of activity and fun during the evening. I suggest that the resort try to come up with creative ideas on how they can help guests enjoy and have fun while there aside from diving and island hopping.
Thanks to July, Christian, Aries at the restaurant and the front desk ladies. We could never forget their warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kling1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The issues first:
1. We booked a package via our local dive shop that included (of course) the transfer from Manila Airport to the resort - clearly mentioned in our voucher. However after the driver finally arrived (we waited and searched for 40 minutes, after our plane had a half hour delay), he told us that we have to pay him US$ 220.- for the transfer. We refused and showed him the travel voucher. Not sure whether it was a scam or ignorance, when we mentioned the issue to the front desk at check in they just shrugged their shoulders.
2. The room (cottage room) was clean but in utter and dire need of maintenance and renovation. Hot water was only occasionally available and only after complaints to the front desk. Woodworms were feasting on the wooden beams leaving plenty of residue on the the small table - rendering it useless. 2 out of 3 lamp shades were broker. The only storage area in the bath room is the edge of the small sink. It is probably best to book a room in the main hotel building.
3. The day before our departure we tried to find out the exact time of our transfer to Manila. It took 3 attempts to actually get the front desk to call the driver. 8am, 9am and 3pm - they only did it when we told them that we will wait at the front desk until we know what time we will be picked up.
4. Getting change for 1000 or 500 peso bills at the cashier was flatly refused...
5. Night dives - even though they are advertised - were impossible, we were told they have no torches...

The good points:
1. The food was very good, at times even excellent
2. Restaurant service was good, friendly and with a big smile
3. Diving was excellent and the dive master we had (Lito) was the best dive guide one could wish for.
4. Fresh water facsilities and sinks at the dive shop are plenty, no problems even for larger groups of divers to rinse their gear.
5. The boat boys were very helpful and absolutely fantastic.
6. Massages can be arranged in the room, the therapist was excellent

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The best thing about Eagle Point isn't even there at the resort. Go to Sepoc Beach if you'll ever find yourself in the vicinity. EP people will take care of essential arrangements like lunch, beach towels, and the boat ride itself to Sepoc. If you like snorkeling, you'll enjoy Sepoc Beach. It's not really for swimming because of the deep waters, but the underwater sights are amazing. Look for Kuya Utay, one of the divers there who could guide you to the best snorkeling spots. As for the resort itself... the guest rooms are so-so. Nothing exceptional. The meeting room where we had our meeting was poorly lighted and not so clean. The food was disappointing. I wasn't up for stale seafood in a seaside restaurant of all places. They served fish that wasn't really fresh. And as for the other food items...after a while, they all tasted the same, especially the vegetable dishes. The EP staff assigned to our group, Kuya Paul, was courteous, friendly, and attentive enough. Too bad, he couldn't really do anything about the food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switcrasher_pussycat
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Room=

well they do have a nice room facing the sea. Rooms are all designed that way. they dont have refrigerator inside. there are towels but dont take the towels outside when u are leaving from the room.. Theyre gonna charge u for lost towels. Beds are just fine...


Service = VERY OUTSTANDING, I would really appreciate Mr. Larry. Hes one of the waiters there, he did an extramile to help us, guide us and make our stay valuable and memorable. HEs a nice man. He deserves to have a raise. And also all staffs were all friendly. They were all smiling and ready to help u and assist u .



amenities=

they have kayak, boat for one day sailing. They will take u to the sepok beach, 44 hectares of whitesand beach are owned by eagle point.

dive shop= they have dive masters and they do have salt water pool. its 10 ft. good for diving lesson and snorkeling. but dont have much fish on that salt water pool.

Snorkeling = i would say that the best corals and schoo of fish that i have seen is in PUERTO GALERA. well not so many fish here but its ok... better bring a bread to feed the fish .


swimming pool... also nice 5 ft. with slide. cool...


DISLIKE= THIS IS LIKE 15- 20 MINS AWAY FROM TOWN PROPER. u will have to book or rent a van going there.

LIKE - ROOM FACING THE SEA

  • Liked — OUTSTANDING SERVICE
  • Disliked — LOCATION
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Switcrasher_pussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mabini hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

2 years ago we went diving in Puerto Galera and Dumagette (Dauin and Apo Island) in the Philippines and wanted to return to other places. We saw a great deal from Philippine Airlines which included R/T Air from LAX or SFO and 3 nights and 2 days of diving at Eagle Point Resort and all meals. But after reading other reviews for the resort, we had concerns. However, we know that if we have good diving, we can overlook many other problems.

We added 11 additional nights. The cost for these were reasonable and included 3 meals and 1 dive. From the beginning, there was confusion about the diving included. We thought it meant "1 Dive Day" which would be a 2 tank boat dive with a divemaster and unlimited shore diving as was included in the fist 2 days of diving. We finally worked out a compromise with the on site management but they had to get approval from the higher ups in Manila. They wouldn't agree. Eventually we did work it out but we like the process or the fact that we got much less diving.

It turns out that the package with Philippine Airlines was negotiated over a year ago by someone who is no longer there and we were the first people to book this package. This was understandable because of the difficulty booking it with PAL. But this is another story.

Our flight arrived about 2 hours early because PAL changed aircraft from a B-747 to an Airbus which didn't have to stop in Guam to refuel. Our driver got the message about the earlier arrival and was there to meet us and we were at the resort by 7:30 AM. Except for the above mentioned diving arrangements, everything was correct and they even gave us our room immediately. This was not a problem because we were one of only 2 or 3 rooms booked that week. We had the resort pretty much for ourselves for all but a couple of days where there were large groups or weekenders from Manila.

The resort was generally clean but one day there was dog crap in front of the bathrooms by the pool. It was there for over 2 days before someone cleaned it up even though they were sweeping up the fallen leaves around it every day. Another problem was every time it rained (about every other day) water and mud would accumulate on the bottom of the pathway to our 2nd floor room. As a result we were constantly walking through it and tracking mud into our room. And the balcony in our room didn't have proper drainage so the rain and A/C condensation would puddle on the balcony and we would track dirt int the room every time we put our wetsuits on the balcony to dry.

Another problem was the Dive Shop is undergoing total renovation. The rinse bucket was being used by the construction workers to wash their hands and cement residue was accumulating in the bottom of the bucket. There was mud all around the gear up area. It was so bad that after the second day, we stopped leaving our dive gear anywhere in the area. We put some stuff in the locker they gave us and the rest we took up to our room everyday.

Our room was comfortable. The A/C worked except for 1 night and after we told the front desk about it the following morning, someone was immediately dispatched and fixed it. (We were surprised they didn't have to wait to get approval from Manila.) The hot water was another problem. Each room had it's own hot water heater. Ours had a problem. Every time we reported it, it was fixed and worked for about 1 more shower. The next day we would get into the shower and find it was not working and reported it again. This went on for about 10 days before we told the guy who fixed the A/C and it worked until we left.

There were some other little things that would not be tolerated at a 5 star Resort but this isn't and we didn't expect a 5 star resort. These included a big mildew stain on the ceiling right above the bed, a slightly broken light fixture, the above mentioned water drainage on the balcony, only 1 chair in the room, and a broken chair on the balcony, and torn sheets. This would be easily overlooked if we were staying for only 1 or 2 nights and would have been tolerated for a week but we stayed for 14 nights and after a week started asking ourselves how difficult would it be for someone to come in and fix some of these little things? The answer is the local resort management is not empowered to do anything. The true management of the resort is in Manila and they have to approve everything. They need to stay at the resort for a period of time and see the operation first hand and maybe even inspect every room.

On the positive side, the food was excellent. There was enough selection for breakfast and fruit was always included. Lunch was a second dinner. Both always included a soup (occasionally a salad) 2 entrees, typically fish, shrimp or squid and chicken, pork or beef with rice and vegetables. We ate whatever the chef chose to put on our plate and were always happy with the selections. Presentations were excellent, especially the whole fried fish stuffed with and served over seafood fried rice. We also had an excellent waiter. Knowing we were Americans, he set the table in the American style for us. We diplomatically told him that we came to experience Filipino culture and would be equally happy eating like them and eating Filipino food. And when we mentioned Filipino foods we had before such as halo halo and sticky rice, he told the chef and we often saw it the next day. We never saw a lunch or dinner menu. But based on the prices on the breakfast menu, we think the prices were very high and would recommend guests to book a package that includes meals since there is no other place to eat.

The other thing we really like about the Philippines is the people. They are all friendly and all speak at least some English. As the resort was virtually empty, we spent a lot of time talking to the staff. And on the weekends when guests came down from Manila, we got to meet and talk to them.

A person or Resort has only one chance each to make a first and last impression. Our first impression was very positive but it was followed by the confusion about our diving package. Our last impression also concerned our diving package. Again "Manila" contradicted what local management agreed to the day before.

Overall, it was a good 2 weeks because of the good diving. But we were probably lucky because bad weather could have made shore diving unsafe and boats unable to pick up divers. And if there wasn't diving, there is not much else to do at the resort. There is no beach. The shoreline is rocky with great snorkeling. There is a private island with some beach and for a fee, you can get a boat to take you there. If we were to advise others, we would tell them it is probably one of the best resorts in the area but if they don't dive, 2 nights is probably enough. For International visitors who are there to dive, 7 nights is probably enough. Even though there are over 40 listed dive sites, after 12 boat dives, we were already repeating some sites. And we left still thinking we should have gotten 10 more boat dives.

  • Liked — Great diving
  • Disliked — Management from Manila
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

It’s a interesting property specially with the new hotel block. The rooms are great and the furniture are good enough with the mattress being ok too. I read about bad bed and mattress on the previous reviews probably those have been taken care off and so is the issue of hot-water, you get running hot water in the taps and the bathroom are large with acceptable quality, but not to compare with 4 or 5 star hotels.

The trip to nearby beach, about 30min boat ride was fun and gave new dimension to the stay, we loved it though the beach was bit rocky under the feet, the clean water and feel of untouched nature (sort of). If you are into diving, this resort will be even better appreciated, it was actually started as a dive resort and all other things are like after thoughts.

Actually the whole place gives you that feeling, no one really planned it out just happened I guess, as the money came in and some though stuck someone. In fact that’s the whole problem. This place being blessed with some many things and seemingly lots of money have been spend is totally messed up when it comes to management. That’s why the heading of ‘Headless Chicken’. Even though by itself parts of the place is nice and managed (if not well managed) like the housekeeping or restaurant, though the price feels atrocious; but when it comes to front office and over all management of the place, I got a feel as if the place severely lack a hotel manager.

The staff are under trained specially the front office, though friendly (that’s a Filipino by nature) they are inefficient to the limit. Somehow the owner of the place tried to fix the inefficiency and lack of training by sheer number of heads and sometime that is the problem I guess, just too many people without coordination. I was surprised to see that they don’t even have a walky-talky for there coordination. Its like so many things have gotten so much money and other critical areas did not get any, its like someone is trying to learn the hotel and resort business the hard way, and that’s sad, as once you get disappointed you don’t want to come back anymore.

I was quite happy with most of the things in the first day and was considering going back again, even though my request of choked basin repair fell to deaf ears from first hour. Things started going downhill over the remaining of the stay, when it came to coordination between different groups and front office.

I just hope the owner of the hotel realize the problem and put a real professional management and things can get so much better, specially now with the new Star Expressway reaching this place is very convenient, lot of more visitors can start poring in and returning if they can care to make the visit well managed and pleasant.

  • Liked — spacious rooms, new and decent furniture
  • Disliked — management, front desk and food price.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IT-biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
23.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
23.4 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
33.9 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
27.2 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
22.4 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Property: Eagle Point Resort
Address: Barrio Bagalangit, Anilao, Mabini | Batangas, Philippines, Mabini, Luzon 4202, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Point Batangas Beach Resort and Hotel, a nature's wonderland situated in Anilao Batangas Philippines, offers a luxurious and yet affordable getaway for couples, family, and groups; a favorite destination of scuba divers from around the world. The resort owns part of Maricaban Island, popularly known as Sepoc Beach Center with longest sandy shore in the area of Anilao Batangas. This place is also famous for company outing and team building venues which is 15 to 20 minutes boat ride from the main resort. This Batangas beach resort is also famous being a dive resort in Anilao Batangas which is in the middle of a network of 30 Anilao dive spots, bursting with underwater life and blessed with clear visibility. Scuba Diving in the Philippines is possible throughout the year particluarly in Anilao Batangas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Mabini
Eagle Point Resort Batangas/Mabini, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing