We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was "ok" if you are looking for a dream get away weekend this is not the place”
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was "ok" if you are looking for a dream get away weekend this is not the place”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We left Makati just after noon hoping for a 2.5 drive to Eagle Point but it burned into 4.5 hrs due to rain and traffic, also you end up going down this crazy driveway to get to the resort which feels like you are driving into the middle of nowhere. The resort in its self seems to be in the process of getting renovated but let me stress its in the process of getting renovated. Back in the day I'm guessing it was a great spot but now its a little tired. The meals were nice, the staff were really nice, we asked for a kettle for our room as we have 10 month old babies and we were not able to have one which was a bit of an pain as we had to keep going to the bar to get boiling water. If you do end up at Eagle Point i'd suggest getting over to sepoc island it costs P2200 but its a nice outing. On a final not the baby cots we got were pretty poor and a bit dirty :-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    97
    65
    31
    31
See reviews for
97
67
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is just 1.5 to 2hours away from manila. Easily accessible thru the South luzon expressway then Star Tollway. This resort was recommended by a friend who is into diving. I am not into diving... yet :) But want to go to a place where I could relax, near Manila, and could snorkel. The rooms are nice, place is clean, staffs are hospitable, and with a very sunset view :). They also have a small saltwater pool with live sharks (2-3.5ft long - baby sharks), big groupers (lapu-lapu), sea turtles, etc. You could swim with them and not be afraid. Regarding the food we recommend ordering ala carte than eating buffet. The BBQ squid is good. The price is just right. You could also go to a private white beach - sepoc island that is ran by Eagle point Resort too. But need to pay P2000 for a round trip back to resort (good for around 6 to 10 people - I think) So you can divide the charge between you guys. Overall - I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at Eagle Point Resort was simply a spectacular experience. This resort, which is located at the foot of the mountain covered with lush vegetation, is facing the picturesque seascape. The whole scenery as its major attraction gives every guest the isolation they want from the hustle and bustle of urban life.

The wooden cottage house we got was just perfect enough to capture the day-to-day scenery: captivating sunrise and gorgeous,romantic sunset over the water; the view of colorful sailing boats and the impeccable horizon that cuts the marvelous sky and crystal blue water.

We love the interior of the room and the triangular wooden beams that support the ceiling.This adds more space and air to the clean room. The bathroom is big and cozy. The veranda is an awesome part of the room to relax and chill with some wine.

The resort has all the amenities to keep all the guests in activity.The manicured garden surrounding the cottages and pathways is very relaxing for eyes and mind.

Since the location is far from other establishments, the restaurant and bar in this resort are the only places to dine and chill out. The included breakfast buffet is far more than the average and the list in the menu for other meals is just fine for local and foreign guests alike.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Cottage area has a quieter ambiance than in the main building (most especially during peak/high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

it's a very charming place. way better than expected. i suggest tweaking their website to make it more appealing. i was never interested when i saw it on the web apart from the thought of 'swimming with the shark' but when we got there, i thought it was a worthwhile visit. our room (and restroom) is pretty decent and clean, staff are friendly and accommodating, rental for watersports equipment is fairly priced. as for food, better to opt for ala carte than buffet. their selection of grilled meat is a good choice, we particularly like the grilled squid served at the sepoc island. ala carte would cost about 550 per meal with good serving size. if looking for fine white sand, visit the sepoc island. boat to get there would cost about 2500 two way regardless of the number of passengers. sepoc island (another eagle point resort nearby) is more serene but corals at the main resort is just as nice, if not better. overall, it was a great travel destination. i wouldnt hesitate to visit the place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itccchy_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I Stayed at Eagle resort for a couple of nights as it’s very near to here I’m working (around 20km from the end of the Star tollway) I guess the review of any hotel / resort is based on the reviewers previous experiences and what expectations they have. This is certainly the case with a number of reviews for this resort.

The room I stayed in was supposed to be superior (TERRACE HOTEL SEA VIEW) which was one up from the standard room, I have to say although the room was clean it was very dated (Stained ceiling / pealing walls / cracked and broken tiles). The bathroom had a large shower which was somewhat wasted as the shower head only had on hole that let water out. The first night was very noisy as the next room was partying until 3am.

The best part of the resort was the pool bar which played some awesome music, Mary who served me drinks and always wore a smile and the restaurant, the buffet was excellent with plenty of choice.

I booked through Asia Rooms who gave this resort a two star rating which after consideration I think is fair.

If you’re travelling here from any distance bear in mind that it could take up to 2-hours to travel the 20km from the end of the star toll-way to the resort, all depending on the time of day and traffic through san Pascual and Bauan.

Room Tip: Go to a resort in Laiya rather than Mabini, takes slightly longer but far better resorts and beaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I, only stayed 1 night at the resort but we had an amazing time. Nice room with 2 double beds. Amazing view off the balcony. Beautiful property. The resort arranged a banca to take us to an island to snorkel - it was great. There is also snorkeling available right in front of the hotel. Fun swimming pool with water slide and a game room for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I feel it is as important to know who is giving the review as the review itself. My wife (French), my 2 children (6 and 10) and I (American) work and live in Makati. We have lived here for 2 years and have traveled around the Philippines. We traveled to Eagle Point on July 28th to the 30th. Our reviews are from an ex-pats perspective.
This resort has a lot of potential, but is so run down it is just sad. It may have been beautiful at one time, but now it is in serious disrepair. The pool, with the slide (the main reason we went), was out of order and not working. Total disappointment for our kids.
The drive in was SCARY. I scrapped the bottom of my car trying to get over the lip to the drive way. The drive way was extremely steep, and only 1 lane. I had to back out to let traffic coming out of the resort pass. Once in, you are not leaving the resort until you check out.
For our standard Cottage Sea View Room we paid $211 for 2 nights Breakfast for 2. They charged us an extra 1000 peso ($25) per night for bedding, for the extra bed that was stored under the double bed, and an extra breakfast. Our 6 year old ate at half price. The room was big, but there were ants in the room (floor, bathroom), it was far from sound proof (We could hear the people next to us showering and talking). The towels were frayed and old.
The food was not very good either. We first sat at one table that was covered with ants and had to move. We paid on average 1800-2000 pesos a meal for food that wasn't worth the price.
The shark pool was cool to see. They had 5 medium sized Black-tip sharks, Puffer fish, a Grouper and other sea life. You can go in and swim with them. We all got in, but the water was so disgusting I was afraid to put my face in the water. They cleaned it the day we left, but it was a complete disappointment.
The resort also has eagles in cages around the resort. It's cool to see eagles, but sad to know they can't fly anywhere.
The best part of the time there was the trip to Sepoc island (2400 pesos). It took about 20 minutes to get there, and the beach was quiet and nice. We all snorkeled for a bit and saw a good amount of fish, once you got away from the beach. The water was clear, but the coral was pretty badly damaged.
Overall it was a diappointment. We wanted to get away from the city to relax, but instead felt more uneasy. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless serious changes were made.

Room Tip: We had an sea view room, but never saw the sea- too many trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEAM_Benford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mabini hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
23.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
191 reviews
23.4 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
22.4 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
796 reviews
27.2 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
554 reviews
37.3 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Property: Eagle Point Resort
Address: Barrio Bagalangit, Anilao, Mabini | Batangas, Philippines, Mabini, Luzon 4202, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Point Batangas Beach Resort and Hotel, a nature's wonderland situated in Anilao Batangas Philippines, offers a luxurious and yet affordable getaway for couples, family, and groups; a favorite destination of scuba divers from around the world. The resort owns part of Maricaban Island, popularly known as Sepoc Beach Center with longest sandy shore in the area of Anilao Batangas. This place is also famous for company outing and team building venues which is 15 to 20 minutes boat ride from the main resort. This Batangas beach resort is also famous being a dive resort in Anilao Batangas which is in the middle of a network of 30 Anilao dive spots, bursting with underwater life and blessed with clear visibility. Scuba Diving in the Philippines is possible throughout the year particluarly in Anilao Batangas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Mabini
Eagle Point Resort Batangas/Mabini, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing