We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay for a non-beach front resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a nice place to stay for a non-beach front resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spectacular view! This was the first and the last thing that was imprinted in my mind regarding this place. The large native inspired windows, the cool sea air, the gardens – lots of flowering shrubs and trees, the nice swimming pool – that is really pretty at night. We got stranded in this place after doing several ocular inspections of resorts for our company outing. Due to their accommodating means of booking strangers in the night with no prior reservations (of course we were with the company president), we decided to get this resort for our company outing; and we were not wrong about it. Good food, good rooms, good bathrooms, a nice place to stay overnight. I wish I had the courage back then to try the Eco pool - the one that contained baby sharks and a training ground for divers.

Sepok beach is a must visit place! Help out those turtles and eagles! Keep up the good work on the environment Eagle point!

I hate the ants and bugs that crawl on our table during dinner; the table wasn’t cleaned ASAP due to the large amount of Korean and Japanese visitors with their Filipina friends. There were ants as well on the headboard of our bed. It seems that housekeeping wasn’t cleaning thoroughly when there were a lot of visitors at the resort. I felt the resort that time was under manned that time.

Delayed posting this review due to lots of work at the office, travel date was April of 2007. The place still looks good after a few years.

Room Tip: the suites have a romantic view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
96
64
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Extremely expensive, not friendly, old building and crap furniture in the room, old bathroom.
The worst is that they make you pay for anything double or triple that the normal price without reason, they are far to be a 5 star.
Even our (external) divemaster, no food for him (as in the other resort in Anilao), we even had to pay for his diving tank!!!
Been so many time in many places in Anilao and could not imagine that!
Complain to management in Manila who basically does not care at all...
A place to avoid...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ride_and_dive_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mabini hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

great ...specially off season...bit to expensive and be prep to pay for everything... from water to boat when u want to go to nice beach in sepok island... stuff is great and helpfull, food is exellent is expensive cos min meal for 2 u have to spend 900php plus pudding drinks... 1300php thats normal...
rooms... i was in standard cottage with a sea view and i was loving it clean fresh and everything what u need ... only lack of small fridge for a drinks ..:(

Room Tip: C-11 was a great only wi-fi ur sometimes missing:P
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We went with our two boys (age 5 and 3). They loved the pool, waterslide and to see the sharks etc in the reef pool. If you go, I suggest booking the deluxe terrace room as it was quite nice. The snorkeling was also very good and right beside the resort.

The staff seemed friendly and responsive. When the Tv didn't work they came quickly to fix it. When we asked for more towels they came promptly.

The one negative is the food. Don't order international dishes as they aren't done properly. Stick to the filipino dishes and you will be ok. The bulalo was good, chicken inasal was good.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms (deluxe) are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Only 2 hours drive from the metro Manila, Anilao provides a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is considered as one of the finest SCUBA diving spots of the world because of its rich marine life.

I visited Eagle point resort with a group of friends and their families for a weekend. Although, seems a bit expensive as compared to the other resorts nearby, I was highly satisfied for the location, environment, crowd and the hospitality of the staffs.

Most of the rooms are sea facing with all basic amenities required for a person during the vacation. One of the major attraction is that it has four swimming pools for its guest.

Two swimming pools (approx 30 m in length) is layered along the slope of the hill connected by a slide and artificial waterfall. The kids love the areas because of the slide and the ambiance.

One of the swimming pool is the salt water pool having small reef sharks and other fishes. The resort provides snorkel and mask to swim with the sharks in the pool and its fun.

The last pool is located at the southern stretch of the resort and provides a nice exotic ambiance specially recommended for romantic couples. Food and drinks are available at the pool side.

The resort also has its personal trainer who provides introductory dive for beginners. For experience divers all amenities are available, off course for a price.

The hotel is neat and clean and the dinning room has a very nice view of the sea. Overall, I enjoyed my weekend with my friends and I strongly recommended this resort for the people who wants to relax and enjoy a laid back vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debojyoti_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were hesitant to book this resort because of some negative reviews but since our preferred resort was fully booked, we settled for EPR. We didn't expect anything much from it but we figured if we survived Golden Sunset resort in Calatagan then we'd probably survive this one.

We were surprised that it's a very nice resort. Our room was very clean (stayed in room 204), the rate included buffet breakfast for 2, the swimming pools were clean, the food was great, the staff were all polite and helpful. No brownouts, No water problems and No cable TV problems.

Reservation was easy, fast check in and check out.

For a lot of Filipinos, their food is indeed expensive so if you are on a tight budget, this resort is NOT for you. A lot of good (and even bad) Batangas resorts are expensive, this is not limited to EPR. But despite their food prices, we weren't disappointed, we loved their food. For 2 days our total food bill (4 persons) amounted to 7,000 pesos that already included buffet dinners for 4 persons for 2 nights, buffet breakfast for 2 for 2 days (because the other 2 had free breakfast), lunch and snacks. I inquired with a nearby resort (without swimming pool and where you have to walk down several steps from the parking lot) and they estimated our food at 5,500 per day so that's 11,000 for 2 days. EPR also fulfilled my son's special food requests such as well done fried eggs, plain sausage sandwich with salad and dressing on the side, leftover breakfast set aside to be eaten for snacks. You can eat at the restaurant or at the poolside.

My kids loved their pools. My 7 year old son was in the water for more than 6 hours on the 2nd day. We also loved snorkeling at their reef pool with the fishes and baby sharks. My son enjoyed the fish feeding at 8AM. Snorkel mask and vest rental is @175. If you think that's expensive, you are allowed to bring your own.

On our first night it was raining and I requested for an umbrella to go to the restaurant and they immediately addressed my request. All our requests to housekeeping were promptly fulfilled.

We loved hearing the sound of the waves. We mostly opened our balcony doors so we could hear the waves, it's very soothing.

Half of the guests were Filipinos and half foreigners.

They have good security, lots of roving security personnel.

What they can improve is to put a shower curtain or shower door in the opening to the shower. It's just a minor issue, though.. And to fix the safety deposit box. It would be great also if they have a spa and massage service. And add yoghurt, cheese and cereals to their breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Best place to stay if you would like to dive, snorkel and also enjoy beach. Some of us wanted to dive and others were not interested. Hence, worked out well for all of us. Bit pricey for food and room. Not much to do other than diving (which is awesome), snorkeling and swimming in the eagle point resort pool which is well maintained. Enjoyed the boat ride to Sepoc island. You have to stay in eagle point resort for visiting the private beach (not like Boracay but was ok). Definitely recommend wearing aqua shoes on the beach. You can request lunch to be brought to the beach or come back and have lunch. The boat ride for snorkeling and beach was only for 3 hrs. We left by 8AM and came back by Noon for lunch at the resort. You have to pay for snorkel gears.We did not experience any power outages (or generators were on during our stay), internet connection worked (bit slow) and food was great. You can also request for message in your room, which was great. Would recommend to others to stay here

Room Tip: Great place to stay for diving and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
23.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
23.4 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
33.9 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
27.2 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
22.4 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Property: Eagle Point Resort
Address: Barrio Bagalangit, Anilao, Mabini | Batangas, Philippines, Mabini, Luzon 4202, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Point Batangas Beach Resort and Hotel, a nature's wonderland situated in Anilao Batangas Philippines, offers a luxurious and yet affordable getaway for couples, family, and groups; a favorite destination of scuba divers from around the world. The resort owns part of Maricaban Island, popularly known as Sepoc Beach Center with longest sandy shore in the area of Anilao Batangas. This place is also famous for company outing and team building venues which is 15 to 20 minutes boat ride from the main resort. This Batangas beach resort is also famous being a dive resort in Anilao Batangas which is in the middle of a network of 30 Anilao dive spots, bursting with underwater life and blessed with clear visibility. Scuba Diving in the Philippines is possible throughout the year particluarly in Anilao Batangas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Mabini
Eagle Point Resort Batangas/Mabini, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing