We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Overall Resort in Anilao... By Far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acacia Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #8 of 16 Mabini B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Acacia manages to combine a well laid out, well run and cosy resort with a great dive operation and probably the best food in Anilao. The staff are fantastic from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.

The house reef is average, but most of the main Anilao dive site are a short boat trip away while boat fees are fixed and do not fluctuate as they do in many other resorts.

The rates at Acacia are slightly higher a lot of other resorts but the quality of food served and quality of the accommodation is far superior to other resorts in a similar price range. We've been diving Anilao most weekends for several years now and Acacia is our first choice by far.

The only down side, it can be fully booked quite often so booking in advance is normally needed!

Room Tip: The lower (deluxe) rooms give easier access to the restaurant and dive area but can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Clean well run hotel, beautiful location, food was tasty and plentiful if not exactly a la carte and staff were really welcoming, diving was well organised and overall a great experience and great value, would happily go again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A group of us stayed here in April, mainly for scuba diving. We stayed in 3 of their Ocean View Deluxe rooms and we fell in love with the rooms. The room was spacious, had two huge Queen beds with connecting balconies, table and chairs in the room as well as on the balcony and it also had a very good-sized bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the view was awesome. We had all our meals there and they gave us more food than we could finish and the desserts were delicious. We had no complains about the food quality at all.

Diving facilities were top notch as well. Service from their staff was above average. We were given towels on the dive boats and fresh towels when we came back to the dive center and after that we were given hot towels as well. They had large tanks for us to soak our underwater cameras and also shelves for us to store our belongings. Charging stations were also available for cameras and what not in the dive center. They took care of all our equipment and carried and prepared all the equipment for us on the boat. All we had to do was check our gear, put it on and jump into the sea. That's what I call a real vacation.

After our first two dives, they immediately came over and checked whether we were happy with our Dive Master. As it turned out, we weren't, as he was quite a junior DM and not really suitable for our group of seasoned divers and photographers and they immediately assigned us a more experienced DM for the next few days. They also assured us that they were no hard feelings (cos we were feeling bad about asking for a change) and that all that mattered was that we were happy. We loved our new DM and will definitely request for him again on our next trip!

In terms of the booking process, I dealt with Cat and she was very professional and answered all my queries efficiently and promptly. It was honestly a real pleasure to deal with her. From the time we landed at the airport and till the time they dropped us off, everything was well organized and handled extremely well. Service from the dive staff, reception, kitchen staff impressed me a lot!

I would totally recommend Acacia Resort and Dive Center to anyone wanting to go scuba diving in Anilao. Great resort, comfy rooms, value for money, excellent service - I am definitely going back there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonDCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was terrible. The Acacia Beach Resort would be a better choice or others... I would not go there for diving again unless I were an older lady looking for snails Nudi etc even then there's better choices than Aniloa.
Food was not only terrible.. I did not trust it. My son and I joked about the Acacia Diet.
The rooms are the size of the jail cells you see on TV. They are extremely basic, tiny no
modern features at all just bed and wash room.
The diving was very weak, cloudy water with the most trash I've ever seen in 25 years.
There was really nothing there except giant clams and a couple of pigmy seahorses.

Pass on this place, there are much better choices for your few vacation weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PGwartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at Acacia after checking out several other resorts in the area. The rooms are very very comfortable and clean, the Dive is arranged efficiently and competently.

We did not eat a meal, other than breakfast, which was pretty good, and laid out in a charming dining /coffee / hangout area under...the giant Acacia tree.

Tea and coffee are available (self service) all day...a boon for this tea addict. My husband and I did not do the dive, but our grown up children did. Since this is essentially a dive resort, diving, pretty much is all there is to do there, unless, like us you like to sip endless cups of tea and gaze into the ocean.

Guests at Acacia (as at any dive resort in the area) must be prepared to climb many steps as the land slopes sharply up from the sea, and all the resorts are at multiple levels.

I would go back to Acacia any day.

Room Tip: Our rooms were last minute bookings, and looked on to the parking area. There are some with a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First and foremost, this is a non-diver’s review. Here goes. We stayed here in May 25 and 26, 2013 for a quick weekend getaway to celebrate a friend’s birthday. We were a group of 10 (7 adults, 1 tween, 1 baby and 1 pet). Resorts tend to have a difficult time managing a huge group. However, Acacia’s staff was more than able to accommodate our huge groups’ whims (more so during meals).

Good amenities – clean and modern rooms, nice dining area, wifi, beautiful pool and lounge chairs, ample parking space and back-up generators. Surprisingly good food for a “diver’s resort”. Stella Artois and Tsing Tao beers available ☺ Attentive staff and hands-on owners. By the way, resort is pet friendly ☺ For non-divers, the resort offers trips to nearby islands and coves.

Just a nice place to chill-out for the weekend (even for non-divers)!

Room Tip: If you want it a little more quiet, get Room 104 and the other rooms away from the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMViloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stay at Acacia Dive Resort in Anilao from April 23 to April 29, 2013. During that time we dove 21 times, 2 shore dives at the house reef and 19 boat dives. The resort was very attentive to your need. The owner, Oliver Ang also had his hands on on everything. Good impression started at Manila Airport when the driver had already waiting as early as 5.30 in the morning. We drove about 2,5 hour to the Resort where the staffs offering breakfast and preparing my dive gear for afternoon dives. Barry and Marlo the Dive Masters for the whole dives also cheerful and knowledgeable about the dive sites. On boat trips we were allowed to bring foods including fruits to be consumed between dives on the house. Room were very clean with pleasantly cold air conditioning. Plenty of electric plug-ins to charge cameras, bateries, Ipads, Ipods and Iphones. I will visit this Resort again on May 16, 2013 for the Photography work shop by William Tan. I really recommend this Resort.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the level and facing the restaurant or pool. Near to the dive shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suria_Nataadmadja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
0.7 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Solana
Solana
#2 of 7 in Mabini
53 reviews
23.8 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Escondida Anilao Resort & Dive Center
0.2 mi away
Aiyanar Beach and Dive Resort
1.6 mi away
Vivere Azure
Vivere Azure
#3 of 16 in Mabini
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Resort and Dive Center

Address: Brgy Ligaya, 4202, Mabini, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mabini
Price Range: $114 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anilao, Philippines---known to be part of the center of the center of marine biodiversity in the world, offers amazing adventures and experiences for divers of all types and skill level!Acacia Resort and Dive Center sits on a gentle hill slope that goes straight to the sea with a great view of Balayan Bay. All of our 10 Ocean-view and 6 Standard were designed with your comfort in mind, from the oversized bathrooms to the hand-picked linen. All rooms have a private toilet and offer hot and cold showers. Sumptuous international buffets are available daily from our al fresco restaurant and bar. Afternoons by our pool and view deck offer a spectacular view of the sunset. At Acacia, your diving is our business! Spacious gear rinsing/storage areas are available for all guests, with separate washtubs and stations for all camera equipment. Our tanks and compressors are meticulously maintained to ensure only the best quality air and nitrox. Our divemasters have been hand-picked and undergo constant training to ensure the best possible experience for you. For the photographers, we also employ world-class spotters to make sure you find what you’re looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Acacia Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Resort And Dive Center Batangas/Mabini, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing