We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Death by frying”
Review of The Wayfarer

The Wayfarer
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Parbold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Death by frying”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited in late December with the in-laws and had mixed feelings about the place. To begin we had four menus to choose from- a set menu/ Sunday menu, an a la carte menu, a lunch menu, and an Italian menu. I found this pretty overwhelming. Our waiter though was lovely and happy to help us with our queries.
We were sat in the 'restaurant' area- which was a bad choice. Think tiled floor, carpeted walls (random) and rickety uncomfortable chairs. The food area of the pub looks much more cosy and atmospheric.
The food was a mixed bag. Two members of our party had a great meal, but two did not. Of which I was one. I opted for a mixed fish option, which sounded delicious and was described as various fish of the day lightly fried. The fish was indeed delicious, but everything else on my plate was also fried! Fried chips and even fried vegetables. I love 'courgette chips' but simply felt like I was tucking in to a heart attack on a plate. If the Wayfarer read this...please...swap something fried for something green. Apparently the butternut curry and the gammon were great, but the puddings were pretty average. Mine was a ridiculously large slab of sticky toffee pudding, luke warm and with a revolting flavoured ice cream, which can only have been home made and absolutely did not go with the rest of the dessert.
We then came to the end of our meal. Staff were leaving, and called out their farewells to the other staff from across the restaurant. It really was quite bizarre. Despite it being only c.10.15 I genuinely got the impression that staff were waiting for us to leave.
Tips- go earlier in the day, be seated in the pub, avoid the fried frenzy fish dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l1ttlem1ssf1nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The "Fritto de misto" is a traditional italian dish meaning fried. Please try us again, perhaps the traditional restaurant. I am confident you will enjoy this room and menu. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    106
    55
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here. Many of the family have special dietary requirements so it was important that there was a wide choice. We also had our two year old grandson with us so we were pleased that the place was very child friendly. The food was well presented and my own meal of grilled sea bass especially well done. There was extensive use of local produce.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you , God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pure brilliance!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Perfection!!!! Amazing food, amazing service, amazing value, amazing atmosphere!! Love this place, wish we lived closer... We have eaten in the pub section several times, can't wait to try the restaurant section. We have been as a couple and as a family, never been disappointed. The staff really are great, alot of restaurant owners would benefit from paying this place a visit to see how its really done...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Super Thank You, God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelmersdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“meal”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to wayfarer for meal on Saturday 14th December with my hubby and it was beautiful ,service by staff was excellent cannot fault the meal at all culinary delight x

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Many Thanks! God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal and fantastic evening”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The food was excellent and even though very busy, the staff could clearly handle the custom. The staff were friendly, helpful and experienced and couldn't do enough to make the night enjoyable.
What a shame about the other reviews. Don't let it put you off, judge for yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank physical80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank You. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wayfarer also viewed

Parbold, Lancashire
Parbold, Lancashire
 
Parbold, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Wayfarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing