We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B,Beautiful area, caring owners”
Review of Bridgefoot House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridgefoot House
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B,Beautiful area, caring owners”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have just spent a few days at the Bridgefoot on an emergency trip with my Aunt.
Due to the nature of the trip and booking the day before travel, I couldn't research accommodation as I usually do, but I could not of made a better choice.
In a great location in the picturesque village, right alongside the main stream and next door to much photographed 'thatched cottage', and a charming building in it's own right.
Ron and Lindsey gave such a warm welcome after a long drive, and kept up an exceptionally caring hosting style throughout. The rooms were clean, well maintained and well appointed, with everything you need. There was an excellent visitors pack in the room, which gave a history of the area and lots of tourist information, as well as a historical look at the property itself, which we found really interesting.
The breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection, with quite a range available, the dining area was of a good size and I would imagine could take all the guests at ease,although there was only one other party eating whilst we were there.
Parking is on a driveway at the front of the property and is quite safe, although at first glance looks a little tight, the village centre with pubs and restaurants is only 150m walk.
Negative points to be picky; my shower wasn't particularly powerful, although the place is being upgraded over time, my Aunt had a much newer bathroom. Being tall, some of the door ways were low as expected in a period property and there was room for a lot of light from the hallway to come under my door! Picky things, but I have to balance such a glowing review!
To sum it up; my Aunt has already tried to book up again, and I would to, how a B&B should be!

Room Tip: State if you are tall for a room with higher door way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive and complementary review. We are pleased you and your Aunt enjoyed your stay with us and we were disappointed that we were fully booked when you wanted to come back again in May. Hope we see you again later in the summer. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    21
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection. The rooms were lovely and clean. Ideal picturesque location within easy reach for coast and York. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us at Bridgefoot and found our location ideal for your short break. We hope when you come again you will be able to stay longer. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After doing a bit of research on the best place to stay in or around pickering we decided on bridgefoot. From the moment we arrived it was clear to see that the owners Ron and Lindsey take a lot of pride in the premises. Everything about this place was perfect the room was gorgeous and the bed was so comfy that you didn't want to get out in the morning. Everything was spotless and the breakfast was the best I've ever tasted. Couldn't fault anything whatsoever and despite the weather on the chilly side the warm welcome we received more than made up for it. Thanks for a great stay
Dave,Leanne and baby Jacob

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The family room you stayed in is certainly quiet and is perfect for a good nights sleep – even for little Jacob!! Lindsey is over the moon with your comments about her breakfast. We do source from local suppliers so the ingredients are fresh and from Yorkshire. The weather has not been kind to us this spring but we are lucky we have not had any snow. Come back and see us soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our third visit to Bridgefoot House. We love this area of Yorkshire it is an ideal place to explore the surrounding countryside and close enough to shopping centres of Whitby and Scarbrough. There are a number of places to eat and drink all within walking distances from Bridgefoot. I must admit after our previous visits to Bridgefoot House we were a bit concerned that the new owners might not be as nice or just different from the last time we visited. It would have been difficult to improve the previous visits. But the warm welcome from both Ron and Lyndsey on our arrival and throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome far exceeded our previous experiences. There is a welcoming atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble from asking for extra Tea and Milk (we do like our Cups of Tea) even a knock on the door to see if we were OK after we had overslept (Over indulged) The breakfast that is cooked by Lyndsey is one that we will not forget it was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. To sum up our experience on this visit Bridgefoot House is a charming building in a lovely village the owners Ron & Lyndsey are obviosly passionate about what they offer which in our opinion is the the best we have ever experienced. Warm and friendly owners and a fantastic breakfast. A BIG thank you from us both hope to be back soon.........

Room Tip: This visit we stayed in one of the ground floor rooms with a shower room a nice size room. We have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for spending the time to post your review. It is very complementary and must be one of the longest we have had!! We are very pleased you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. We knocked on your door when you overslept as we couldn’t let you miss one of Lindsey’s breakfasts!! Hope you can come and see us again soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just spent two days at this lovely B&B and will be staying again next time we are visiting relatives there. Booked a twin bedded room and got a three bedded which was massive and had everything you could want. The hosts were perfect and the breakfasts were fantastic. Clean plates all round! It was clean and warm (and outside it was -1 and snowing!) It is suited to all types of visitors and we would have loved to have seen the gardens but it was too cold! See you next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malagaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Good to hear you had a comfortable stay. We do like to upgrade guests to family rooms if available. Hopefully next time you come you will be able to sit in our garden and listen to the trout stream – very relaxing! Thank you. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Bridgefoot House. Our family room was a wonderful size with plenty of room for our 3 year old son to play, the window box seat held a welcome surprise and very nice touch with toys and books - thank you.
The room was quaint and homely with everything you need when away from home. We can't speak highly enough of the comfort of the beds with our son and us enjoying a very welcome and unusual lie in!!!
Breakfast was a delight, the full English was perfect and we'd like to know what your secret with the tomatoes was please?!
We would definitely recommend a stay, welcoming, comfortable and wonderful location. See you again x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankbullitt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments which we really appreciate. It usually isn’t long before the children find the toys in the family rooms. We aim for our guests to have a good night’s sleep followed by a hearty breakfast, so we are pleased you found the beds comfortable and enjoyed your rare lie in!!! Unfortunately Lindsey’s breakfast secrets have to stay secret! We hope to see you again soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

just returned from staying at bridgefoot and what a charming place . lindsey and ron make you feel so .welcome . our room was big but cosy with a massive comfy bed . breakfast set you up for the day it was delicious .so keep up the good hard work linsey and ron , hope to see you both soon for a longer stay next time .thanks to you both

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay at Bridgefoot. Thank you for mentioning your breakfast, we have just received a VisitEngland Breakfast Award… which Lindsey is pretty chuffed about!! We hope you are able to come again for a longer stay. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.3 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
11.4 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefoot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefoot House

Property: Bridgefoot House
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgefoot House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefoot House is a welcoming and charming Visit England Silver and Breakfast Award winning Guest House, situated next to the famous thatched cottage in the pretty North York Moors National Park village of Thornton-le-Dale. This family run B&B offers comfortable non smoking en-suite accommodation for visitors to this outstanding area of natural beauty. Free Wi-Fi and off road parking is provided.The house dates back to the 17th century when it was built for the school master at the grammar school set up by Lady Lumley. The wonderful balcony window was put in place in 1901 and is a familiar land mark in the village.Bridgefoot House now provides spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation for guests, retaining the features and charm of its long history whilst at the same time all of the requirements of the discerning modern traveller have been included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bridgefoot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefoot House Hotel Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing