We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful location”
Review of High Dalby House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Dalby House
Reviewed September 20, 2013

In a beautiful setting, High Dalby cannot fail to impress if you like peace and tranquility.
The house itself is pretty impressive and the owners are welcoming and meticulous. We were lucky to arrive with the sun shining so were invited to a welcome drink on the patio. A nice touch, with the host providing just the right level of information without intruding on our time.
Everything was exceptionally clean, fresh and tidy throughout, so no complaints whatsoever.
The breakfast was a real treat, with a vast array of choice. A little too much if anything, but we didn't need to eat again until tea!
Whilst the bedroom and bathroom were spotless and of a high standard, the decor in my opinion was a little incongruous with the house and setting in general. I think understated elegance would have been more fitting for the decor of the bedrooms.
The main beauty of the place has to be the outlook and garden. A real treat to wander around the grounds and soak up this little haven of countryside.
A very quiet and peaceful place to stay, although you must note no evening meals are available, so check out places to eat in advance.

Room Tip: We had the room with a four poster, which looking at the photographs was the most tastefully decorat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for your review. The appreciation of decor is, of course, very subjective. Sorry you didn't like it - everyone else seems to love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a fantastic time at High Dalby House, first class. Beautiful gardens and lovely hosts. Set in Dalby forest, the views are amazing. We stayed in the fountain room which is beautifully decorated and has lovely views of the garden. The breakfast was excellent you couldn't fault it. We would definitely go back. Rosemary and Clive

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks very much for your amazing review and kind comments. We really do appreciate it when we receive such a glowing report.
We hope it will not be long before we see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfect, perfect, perfect! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Sandra and David are very welcoming hosts, they are lovely people with a beautiful home set in surroundings like paradise, we were so happy to be part of this for our recent two night stay. Everything was just so lovely, our room was so very tastefully decorated with so many lovely little touches and the bed, amazing, absolutely immaculate. Our own private Bathroom was to the same standard, beautiful, tasteful, expensive, yet modern. The breakfast was delicious, with so much to choose from - The cold table, The Grille, warm Croissants, Danish pastries, tea, coffee, juices, toast and preserves, literally everything to start the day. This wonderful place is a true haven for a relax, unwind and chill-out, what more could you ask for! We would return tomorrow. A lovely 'get away' in the heart of the forest.

Room Tip: sure all the rooms would be of equal high standard with views all round the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

What a fantastic review - thank you very much for your comments. It is so gratifying to us to get such a wonderful response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and have been kind enough to express your feelings about what is offered to guests at High Dalby House.
I think you have summed everything up very succinctly - the grounds and views are truly a little piece of paradise. All we do is provide the fabric and service to ensure all of our guests have an unforgettable stay and go home refreshed in mind, body and spirit.
Thanks again, and we hope it will not be too long before you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved this B&B. The house itself was decorated to the highest standard, but it was the gardens that were truly stunning.
Our hosts were welcoming and very friendly. The welcome glass of bubbly and cake was a nice touch.
The breakfasts were gorgeous. Only place we've been where you get pastries fresh from the oven after a full english!!
Our only complaint being that the 'honesty bar' was just a cabinet in the hall with miniatures in it. If you wanted a a mixer or a cold drink of any sort, you had to ring a bell and they would come take your order, which made us feel a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed that you only marked us 3 out of 5 for value and gave us only 4 out of 5 for service so felt we needed to make a response regarding our Honesty Bar.
Your review indicates that you really enjoyed your experience with us so we were a little surprised at the low scores.
It seems your only real grumble was regarding our Honesty Bar. We clearly state on our website that we operate this system and it has worked very well. There is no need to feel awkward about ordering cold drinks as it is clearly all part of the personal service we provide. Our guests are not regarded as being a nuisance. We just keep things as simple as we can by asking our guests to take whatever they like from the Drinks Cabinet. White wines and beers are only served by ourselves whilst awaiting delivery of a new beer/wine fridge. We just ask our guests to let us know what they have taken from the Cabinet when settling their account on their departure. Our drinks prices do represent excellent value for money as we charge less than any other local licensed premise. I do hope you decide to stay with us again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Luxury guest house with fabulous gardens situated on the dalby forest drive, a few miles out of thornton le dale. We stayed midweek and found it the most peaceful and relaxing stay we have ever experienced. The owners Sandra and David were perfect hosts and the breakfast was delicious and so fulfilling with so much choice. The themed bedroom with its thick pile carpet was really sumptuous and the bed so comfortable ( apparently the mattresses specially made for high dalby house) we slept so well. Highly recommended....we cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahams321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks for your great review - we are delighted you found peace and relaxation because that is what we are all about.
Next time your batteries need recharging....you know where we are.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want a truly relaxing break look no further than the adults only High Dalby House. The accommodation is superb and better than most 4* large hotels we have stayed in. Sandra and David do everything to make your stay as enjoyable, and comfortable as possible, and the little touch of a cold glass of cava and cake on arrival went down a treat on a hot day after travelling.The breakfasts are excellent quality and huge with a good choice. The gardens with a large lake and stream are beautifully kept (well done David!) Everything is spotless the bedrooms and bathrooms are decorated with excellent taste, we had a fab couple of days, and have already booked a return visit, cant wait!

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful (was shown them all by Sandra on our visit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks very much for your fantastic review. I know we will be seeing you again soon but I just wish to record our gratitude for putting your feelings into words in this public arena.
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a gem of a find this was. Immaculately clean, superbly decorated and a location of exceptional beauty. Our hosts, Sandra and David, were very friendly and kind and made our stay most comfortable. The breakfast was incredible with choices for every taste. There is so much to do in the local area, we will have to return to experience more of it. This was a 'special' birthday treat for my wife from her parents so there was 4 of us in 2 rooms. My wife definitely felt like she had had a superb treat and so did the rest of us. Would not hesitate to highly recommend a stay with David & Sandra and their wonderful abode. Thank you so much. Andrew & Liz, Dorothy & Matt

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you very much. It is so gratifying to get responses such as this and we hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thornton-Le-Dale hotels
3.7 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bridgefoot Guest House
Bridgefoot Guest House
#1 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Warrington Guest House
Warrington Guest House
#5 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Dalby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Dalby House

Address: Dalby Forest Drive, Dalby Forest | near Pickering, North York Moors National Park, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range: $100 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — High Dalby House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Dalby House is a Country House with 17th century origins located in Dalby Forest in the North York Moors National Park. Our luxury accommodation, good food, breathtaking scenery, woodland walks, fishing lake, stables and a tennis court all combine to create a wonderful ambience in which to relax and unwind. Mountain bike trails, walking trails and "Go Ape" all on our doorstep. Perfect for business meetings and touring the area. We cater exclusively for adults. This is a Dark Skies Discovery Site (Milky Way Class) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your High Dalby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing