We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buck Hotel

The Buck Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buck Hotel
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

On a short break to the Moors we ate in three different pubs. The meal at the Buck was both the best in quality and the cheapest - an unusual combination. Very friendly and efficient young team of waiters. Very tasty main courses and then two home-made desserts which were as good as we've had anywhere (Sticky Toffee Pudding and Lemon Meringue Pie). The (relatively) new owners are doing a great job and with this value for money are sure to get repeat business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but used the restaurant which really was good. Chicken, leek and bacon pie was superb. There were huge chunks of chicken and bacon, a truely hearty meal. The service was cosy and friendly from all that we met.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huwrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had an afternoon out in Thornton le Dale and had no idea where to eat. It was just gone 2pm and then first pub we tried had stopped serving. We looked at the menu of a local tea room but that was limited and expensive and then the board outside The Buck caught our eye. They were still serving and had a beer garden. Good menu, including a separate children's menu and a few decent veggie choices including a curry, burger and veg crumble. Food was lovely, staff were friendly, service was good and even the loos were clean. There's some shade available in the beer garden and an open grass area for the kids. There is a large car park a 5 minute walk from the pub but the pub does have its own car park as well. My only regret is not having the cherry pancakes ... next time though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annwilson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

After a day out in Scarbrough we decided to call in at Thomton le Dale on the way home for our evening meal. Early evening and the village was quiet and we were lucky enough to get the last table in The Buck Hotel. Refurbished in February the decor in the dining room is beautiful. Everything is clean, the food is good and portions a good size, well priced and served by friendly and experienced staff. I can highly recommend and will be returning on more than one occasion in the near future I think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just had a few days here, booked through private message on facebook when they had posted photos of the refurbishment back in Feb. We originally where going to stay at the New Inn aross the road they were fully booked at the time of booking. We are so glad they were, because the room we had was much brighter and airier . We had tea plus other beverages were all available and t.v. We had a massive comfortable bed, chest of drawers & wardrobe space, the roll top bath in the en suite was to die for, hair drier aslo to use.
The breakfast included in price was ample. A varied chose and well cooked my mine host Alison, who even cooked me a slimming world breakfast :-) Meals ate in the restaurant in the evening were also delicious and plentiful, cooked my host Andy & staff. My husband, who normally drinks lager, now hooked on one of the local real ales served at the bar. Staff were very polite, helpful & freindly, all dressed smartly. Great place, we will definitely be visiting again. Thank You for lovely 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have visited the Buck over the past few years while we have been camping as a family in Thornton-Le-Dale, always been ok. However after visiting last night for a family meal I can firmly say the best "pub" meal and service I have had in a long while....(also visited the New Inn the night before which is just across the road, not impressed)
The dinning room is lovely, all the waiting staff were lovely and couldnt of been more professional or polite, ordered a shared starter along with 2 main meals and a childrens meal which arrived with our starter as requested, the childrens meal fantastic value for money the fluffiest jacket potatoe with lovely "proper" chicken nuggets. The other 2 main meals where a Steak & Ale pie & Burger....well it did what it said on the menu, the pie was the best I have ever had, perfect pastry topping filled with plenty of melt in the mouth steak and sublime gravy yum yum The burger was most certainly home made!!!!! Fantastic value for money and tasted perfect....only tiny gripe is instead of frozen chips "homemade chips" in my opinion would of taken it to the next level and tbh would of paid more than the very reasonable £8.95 - will def be back at the end of the month when we're camping again!!!
Only reason I marked down the childrens activity is that you have a fab beer garden and nothing for children to do....not a problem with us as our daughter is easily pleased with running around

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stop in accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We phoned ahead to book a table as we wanted to check if dogs were allowed..which they were in certain areas. There was a great choice of food, including a wide choice on the specials board. There were plenty of people in-some just for a drink and some eating like us. If vegetarian, there was an imaginative choice, and I'm told the game pie was very good! If passing again, we will certainly go back! The staff were friendly and service good

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
8.9 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgefoot House
Bridgefoot House
#1 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Hotel

Property: The Buck Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buck Hotel is a traditional English country pub in the picturesque village of Thornton le Dale. Situated in the centre of the village, we have a traditional bar, a comfortable lounge bar and a spacious dining room, as well as three en suite bedrooms. We serve freshly cooked, traditional pub food, a changing range of specials and a tea room menu during the day time. We have a large, sunny walled beer garden to the rear - an ideal place to sit and relax with a glass of wine or one of our range of cask conditioned real ales.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all from owners Andy and Alison, as well as our small and friendly team of staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing