We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised”
Review of The Buck Hotel

The Buck Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buck Hotel
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have visited the Buck over the past few years while we have been camping as a family in Thornton-Le-Dale, always been ok. However after visiting last night for a family meal I can firmly say the best "pub" meal and service I have had in a long while....(also visited the New Inn the night before which is just across the road, not impressed)
The dinning room is lovely, all the waiting staff were lovely and couldnt of been more professional or polite, ordered a shared starter along with 2 main meals and a childrens meal which arrived with our starter as requested, the childrens meal fantastic value for money the fluffiest jacket potatoe with lovely "proper" chicken nuggets. The other 2 main meals where a Steak & Ale pie & Burger....well it did what it said on the menu, the pie was the best I have ever had, perfect pastry topping filled with plenty of melt in the mouth steak and sublime gravy yum yum The burger was most certainly home made!!!!! Fantastic value for money and tasted perfect....only tiny gripe is instead of frozen chips "homemade chips" in my opinion would of taken it to the next level and tbh would of paid more than the very reasonable £8.95 - will def be back at the end of the month when we're camping again!!!
Only reason I marked down the childrens activity is that you have a fab beer garden and nothing for children to do....not a problem with us as our daughter is easily pleased with running around

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stop in accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank griffbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We phoned ahead to book a table as we wanted to check if dogs were allowed..which they were in certain areas. There was a great choice of food, including a wide choice on the specials board. There were plenty of people in-some just for a drink and some eating like us. If vegetarian, there was an imaginative choice, and I'm told the game pie was very good! If passing again, we will certainly go back! The staff were friendly and service good

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were staying at The Grange guest house over the Bank Holiday weekend and walked to The Buck on Friday evening for dinner. We don't eat meat and were impressed with the choice of fish and veggie options. We both went for a smoky bean chilli which was lovely. It arrived piping hot which I love. Nothing worse than luke warm food. Good portions and very tasty. The Belgian chocolate dessert was indulgent but hey - " we're on holiday". The service was good, the staff polite and food arrived quickly. My only complaint is that they don't serve food on a Sunday evening so we had to eat elsewhere but that's another story!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting the area, and decide that The Buck looked like a nice place to eat. The food was lovely, and was served quickly! The waiting on staff were young, but very good at their job.
Overall very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Flynn273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

live in the village and its the first time I have tried the Sunday Roast. I had the mushroom starter in a garlic cream sauce and the Roast Beef , REAL roast potatoes and perfectly cooked veg which included my favourite dark cabbage . What have I been missing !! Excellent food and 2 courses for £8.95 , how can you go wrong !! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank steveslade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic 3 nights at The Buck with the family. Great hosts and a friendly, helpful and cheerful team made our stay relaxing, comfortable and highly enjoyable. The rooms were great. Me and my wife had a recently refurbished double with its own en suite bathroom complete with roll top bath (big enough for two). Parents had the twin aspect room on the corner of the building which was also excellent and my brother had the other double.
The pub has recently been renovated and the lounge is cosy and comfortable without becoming a cliche olde worlde kind of place. There were four cask ales on and the cask marque which the pub holds is well deserved as the beer was great. We ate at the pub all three nights. Great range of food, also catering for any special dietary requirements. My brother has severe gluten intolerance and to have a real choice as well as a full gluten free English breakfast was something special. Local game is often on the menu... It's often brought in by very local suppliers and If you like pies, there's a great choice, all sorts of game, rabbit, pigeon, as well as the usual steak and ale etc. great veggie choice and fantastic starters and deserts. If you're in this neck of the woods, come into The Buck. It's everything a great pub and restaurant should be.... Stay a night for best results.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nige10868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying in Thornton le Dale, and decided to try the pub for a drink, the customers were friendly as was the staff, but the seating are we chose didn't have that great feel about it, nothing wrong with the drink but I didn't get the atmospheric vibe.
Sunday lunch time we decided to give it another whirl and have our lunch there. We sat by the window in front of the fire, totally cosy atmosphere, complete polar opposite of our first impression. The food, wow, we decided upon the sunday lunch menu, all I can say is it was very generous, tender and really well presented. The prices were very reasonable. Would I return? Well yes, I'd be back tomorrow if I lived closer.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dipsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.3 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
177 reviews
0 mi away
Bridgefoot Guest House
Bridgefoot Guest House
#1 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Warrington Guest House
Warrington Guest House
#5 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
60 reviews
3.6 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#4 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range: $67 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buck Hotel is a traditional English country pub in the picturesque village of Thornton le Dale. Situated in the centre of the village, we have a traditional bar, a comfortable lounge bar and a spacious dining room, as well as three en suite bedrooms. We serve freshly cooked, traditional pub food, a changing range of specials and a tea room menu during the day time. We have a large, sunny walled beer garden to the rear - an ideal place to sit and relax with a glass of wine or one of our range of cask conditioned real ales.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all from owners Andy and Alison, as well as our small and friendly team of staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing