We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect family accomodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easthill Farm House
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“perfect family accomodation”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

had a great time staying here in late summer.....

The accomodation was spotlessly clean, was suprisingly well equiped (everything from tupaware boxes to ketchup and cooking oil!) and the little touches (milk and cakes in the fridge on arrival) were well received.

However, what really sets this place apart is the safe and imaginative play areas for the kids.... dens and slides / tunnels in the woods, tennis court, bikes and scooter, sand pit, animals to see (rabbits, hens, piglets, birds, dogs and ferrits when we were there).

As has been mentioned by other reviewers, there are also indoor play areas for the older kids and adults and a spa that we didnt have time to use....

Location wise, we walked to Thornton-Le-Dale a number of times (although a bit of a hill coming back!) and in this village there are 3 pubs, cafes, bistro, butchers, bakers, ice cream parlour and a small convinience shop (Nesa).

There are also a few farm shops within an easy drive and 3 miles away is Pickering (with the NYM Railway, castle, a few supermakets and a good butchers, grocers, bakers and sweetshop. The main Yorkshire coastal resorts are also very accesible from here.....

Room Tip: If staying in the Lodges, be aware they are close to the woods so have a lot of flies around - we bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DozyAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a fantastic time at East Hill! We stayed in treetops which was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. On arrival, the milk, tea and coffee and delicious cream cakes in the fridge were very welcome and a wonderful touch. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with everything we needed, including cloths, tea towels, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, cling film, foil and every kitchen utensil you can think of! The views and gardens are simply stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed using the hot tub, tennis courts and games room. The rooms have everything you need, though we found the beds a little hard, our only criticism but we do prefer very soft beds! East Hill is in walking distance from the pretty little village of Thornton le Dale and is in the perfect location for visiting some super places including Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, The North Yorkshire Moors and The Dalby Forest to name but a few! Diane and James (the owners) are very very friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough to help, offering suggestions and directions and always have time for a chat. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janej211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at Easthill in march 2013. We had the place virtually to ourselves so used the hot tub every night which was a lovely treat after a long days walk. We were situated looking out over the wolds which was divine. We received a warm welcome from Diane and the buns were a nice touch. It is situated in a place where you can visit Malton, Pickering, Whitby and Dobly Forest to name but few. The grounds are well looked after and must look stunning in the summer. A nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Hot tub is great but you need to book with Diane
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break at Easthill. We stayed in Beeches which was absolutely lovely, by far the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed in with every comfort provided. The weather was cold for May but this didn't deter us from doing everything we intended, biking part of the cinder path from Whitby to Robin Hoods Bay and also from Easthill into the Dalby forest via Ellerburn - truly delightful. We ate in the little cafe at thornton chippie and the cod was the best I've had in a very long time. We probably spent more time in the apartment than we would have if it had been warmer but this just added to the total relaxation of the holiday in such a cosy home from home. This is a huge credit to Diane and her family and staff - not forgetting the delicious eggs from the farm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A colleague and myself were put up here last week and were expecting single rooms, not a chance the offering were given was an attic room with two single beds and a fold away bed in a room with no locks on the door and no shower curtain around the bath with a shower pipe come tap attachment that had no water pressure when standing and no hook on the wall to attach the shower head to. I had to sit in the bath in order to get the water to flow out of the shower. Neither of us took shower gel or shampoo as we were expecting a fully kitted bathroom , just as well we have little or no hair as there wasn't a hair dryer that women would expect. The only toiletries in the bathroom were antibacterial hand wash and a body lotion, both of them as much use as a one legged man in an butt kicking contest. The first room we looked at had two single beds cosied up next to each other, due to lack of room space and as much as I like working with my colleague I have no desire to sleep next to him. The roof beams were a big issue to both us being tall and we kept hitting our heads on them and the dormer style window was awash with running condensation. The only tea or coffee making facilities were in a communal kitchen with nothing in the room. Towels were supplied but that was all.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grousebeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dstenton, Owner at Easthill Farm House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are sorry that we did not meet this customer's expectations but at no time did he voice his concerns to us. We would however like to clarify the situation. We offer 4 star awarded SELF- CATERING accommodation. This is where the misunderstanding must have occurred. This man was part of a team of paramedics who were in the area at the time and this large apartment was booked by the Director of PTS and Transport for the paramedics to sleep in when off duty. He was obviously under the impression he would be staying in serviced accommodation where you can expect a full range of toiletries and extras. I had no control over which rooms were allocated to whom and my only role in this reservation was to provide room only,self catering accommodation, to clean the rooms and do the bed linen changes.

This country gentlemen's residence has many period features, which we feel add to the character of the property. The apartments' bedrooms are on the second floor and have lots of charming old features some of which are beams and Dorma windows. The bedroom his Director had allocated him was a twin room but he chose to stay in a family room where the elevation allows us only to use a ‘telephone shower' over the bath. The extra bed in the room is a proper full sized single bed and not a fold up bed as he stated. Keys are available for all bedroom doors but were not requested by the Director, these are not normally necessary as it is a self contained apartment, used mainly for family holidays.

Please remember this is a self catering HOLIDAY apartment and we provide tea and coffee in the kitchen as a good will gesture and thought this would be appreciated by the hard working paramedics who work for the good of us all.

Our sole aim is to provide accommodation which is of a very high standard and meets everybody's expectations. If you read all our other reviews you will see we achieve this and sadly this situation has occurred due to a lack of communication within their own systems, they were not informed this was self catering and not a hotel or B&B. Please do not judge our wonderful accommodation by this one review as we have many very happy customers who return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pines log cabin for 3 nights, February 13 to the 16th. Arriving in a snow blizzard captured the ambience of the surroundings. As we settled in, the cosiness and the warmth inside the lodge contrasted sharply with the snow blowing around outside. Diane was a very helpful and friendly host, and the cleanliness of the cabins was excellent, and really well equipped.
The village is very friendly, and the surrounding walks are breathtaking, surely some of the finest views in Yorkshire. We will certainly be returning soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Pines Lodge this Summer - our 6th visit! Wonderful spot and the owners, Diane and James, can't do enough to make your stay perfect.

The Lodges and grounds are immaculate and there's plenty to do - tennis court, woods to play in, bikes, gocarts , table-tennis in the Games Room etc.

An easy walk into Thornton-le Dale which is beautiful with lots to do in the surrounding area.

Would thoroughly recommend Easthill farm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
3.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
1.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easthill Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easthill Farm House

Property: Easthill Farm House
Address: Wilton Road, Thornton-Le-Dale, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton-Le-Dale
Hotel Class:4 star — Easthill Farm House 4*
Number of rooms: 123

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing