We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayaland Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Monthly plan a family vacation to Peten, I found this hotel very cozy and perfect for large groups (we were twelve adults and three children) You can feel the owners attempt to improve the hotel. In my room the water temperature was perfect, my parents were not so lucky, but it was not a big deal

My only and most sincere recommendation for the place is the quality of the coffee. Truly need better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girasolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Mayaland Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Mayaland Plaza hotel for three nights in July 2012. The hotel was good in every way, clean and good-sized room, friendly staff, nice central location, a nice pool-area and a better breakfast than most comparable hotels we stayed in in central america.

Room Tip: Check out how noicy the aircondition is before you plan to go to bed..
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeleid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were so pleased with the much needed air conditioning and friendly staff that we did not focus on the unappetizing restaurant fare (from which we possibly got a case of food poisoning), ugly room, cold shower and lumpy pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

It all depends on what you're looking for in a place to stay. We were going for a room that was clean, comfortable and safe - and we found that here at Mayaland Plaza. Of course there are differences to the USA: the water pressure, not all the hot water in the shower that we're used to, line-dried towels; but we expect that in an out-of-the-way place. The staff was friendly. The girl that brought us to our room turned on the TV and the air conditioning for us to make sure they worked. We only stayed one night and did not use the pool, but it looked great. And they fed us breakfast before their regular hours so we could catch an early flight. No, it is not a 5-star hotel - but it's also not priced as one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

we stayed in this hotel with fear because we had made ​​our reservation and then saw that they had good and bad reviews, that alarmed us a bit. our experience was good we were 4 days my wife and my son, we feel comfortable, cleaning and care is good, pool is really nice and they have wi-fi, you walk a little and you find the island of flores and a mall very nice lake shore. we rented a car and the hotel has parking, the security was very friendly. thanked the staff because the agency that sold us the tickets to tikal never show up and the manager helped us solve the problem. i would return and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogoblirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I just went downstairs to request a new pillow, because the ones in our room are so gross, only to find that the entire set of all keys are sitting on the front desk UNATTENDED only a few yards from the entrance to a very busy street.
Still not swayed?
The charge is $75 for 2 people with an update from INGUAT back in 2008! In the States, I would pay no more than $30 to stay here.
There were ants running around the sink, towels are crusty air dried, bedding is in serious need of updating & refurbishing.
Still not swayed?
Inspection of the pool resulted in a picture of a floating dead lizard, a film of scuzz lightly floating along the top of the hot-tub(?) area like a lazy oil spill filled with bacteria.
The shower was an unbarable drizzle of barely warm enough splatters.
This is, by far, the worst hotel we've stayed at in Guatemala.

The plusses, limited, are that they do have wi-fi, friendly staff, & air conditioning. The owner(s) is at fault for allowing what obviously once was a wonderful hotel go straight down the crapper!
AWFUL!

P.S. Santa Elena is NOT a great place for tourists. Stay in Flores or in Tikal.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynkFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I booked this hotel as I wanted to give a hotel without a tripadvisor review a chance. It is too easy to rely on hotels with 5* reviews when traveling. The hotel is situated on the main road just opposite the turn-off to Flores. It was an easy 10 minute walk to get to the island and has several restaurants located close-by. The hotel has two quiet courtyards with good free wifi in the first courtyard. The rooms are very clean, brightly painted with very comfortable beds and the airconditioning worked well (in our 2nd room). Our room did not have a good view but we were told that we were in a room towards the rear as these are quieter and prefered by foreign visitors. Sadly the pool was not open but we were told it would be filled within the next month. I now have to give the bad point of the hotel: there was a total lack of lightbulbs! This made it very dangerous in the evenings or mornings when trying to get up and down the stairs! There is also a restaurant but this is used mainly by local businessmen because we did not realise it was open. Now for the good news. We met the owner, Celia, and her daughter. They are geniunely nice people who had taken over the hotel just a month ago and were keen to listen for suggestions for improvements. We spent an evening talking through ideas and looking at the hotel from a customer viewpoint. I do hope many of the suggestions are taken on board to make this a perfect place to stay....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
12.1 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
356 reviews
9.2 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peten Esplendido
Hotel Peten Esplendido
#4 of 6 in Santa Elena
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
319 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayaland Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayaland Plaza Hotel

Address: Ave y 4a Calle Esquina 6a, Santa Elena 17029, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a great value hotel in Santa Elena , then look no further than the Mayaland Plaza Hotel , offering a superb location and a host of dreams just waiting to be realized. The... Show morehotel places visitors in the ideal spot for visiting the ancient, geographical and cultural wonders of the area, and the hospitality team will be delighted to help tailor-make your holiday. Take a tour to Guatemala City , Belize and Chetumal, admire the ancient ruins and temples of Tikal, or experience the lush vegetation, wildlife and parrots of the forests. You will certainly feel like part of the family at this charming hotel in Santa Elena , and staff invite you to make full use of the amenities. The full-service restaurant and coffee bar serves delicious cuisine in a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Relax around the swimming pool surrounded by the ecological area, and mingle with your fellow guests as you compare travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mayaland Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayaland Plaza Hotel Guatemala/Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing